We are Macmillan Library!
Are you a librarian? Awesome!
We are here to help.

New Titles for Teens 9/20/17

I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by Gaby Dunn & Allison Raskin

“This contemporary coming-of-age story of two friends on opposite shores explores difficult topics in a relatable tone… Give to fans of Robin Talley’s What We Left Behind or Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl. VERDICT A first purchase for all libraries serving older teens.”School Library Journal, starred review

GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by Melissa Bashardoust

“Drawing from both Snow White and the Snow Queen, this beautifully wrought novel offers plenty of fairy-tale wonder, but Bashardoust resists the most common tropes; instead, she tells a story where women save each other with their own ingenuity, bravery, and love, and power and compassion can exist hand in hand. Compellingly flawed characters, vivid world-building, and pitch-perfect pacing make this utterly superb.”Booklist, starred review

BLACK BIRD OF THE GALLOWS by Meg Kassel

A dark psychological romance perfect for fans of Holly Black or Maggie Stiefvater, whose yet to be published sequel won the Golden Heart ® for Best Young Adult Romance.

POPPIES OF IRAQ by Brigitte Findakly + Lewis Trondheim

“An Iraqi childhood is cherished, examined, and let go in this tender look at youth amid upheaval… an ode to a lost era, to be sure, but one with its feet planted securely in the present.”Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

I CAPTURE THE CASTLE by Dodie Smith

A Wednesday Books reissue of one of the century’s most beloved novels, with a foreword by New York Times bestselling author, Jenny Han.

Belated #bookbday

Happiest of belated book birthdays to our new pals below!

Autonomous by Annalee Newitz

An October Indie Next Selection

“The cofounder of the sf website io9.com takes some of today’s key social and technical issues (the nature of artificial intelligence, the notion of property and ownership) and wraps them in a compelling, original story line acted out by memorable characters. VERDICT Lovers of original, thought-provoking sf should not miss this one.”–Library Journal, starred review

The Exact Nature of Our Wrongs by Janet Peery

An October Indie Next Selection

“Powerful… This is a potent and memorable novel.”–Publishers Weekly

The Ninth Hour by Alice McDermott

An October Indie Next Selection + 3 starred reviews!

“National Book Award winner McDermott (Someone) delivers an immense, brilliant novel about the limits of faith, the power of sacrifice, and the cost of forgiveness…”–Publishers Weekly, starred + boxed review

Risking It All  by Nina Darnton

“Fans of Jodi Picoult and Janelle Brown will enjoy this poignant and thought-provoking novel.” —Booklist

“Thoughtfully written and thoroughly engaging?a tale of compromise, tough decisions…and love.”–Kirkus Reviews

Booklist’s Top 10 SF / Fantasy

And you better take their word for it… ‘Cause it’s Booklist y’all, and they know a thing or two about a thing or two…

Borne by Jeff VanderMeer

VanderMeer marries bildungsroman, domestic drama, love story, and survival thriller into one compelling story centered around complex, vulnerable characters struggling with what it means to be human.

Down Among the Sticks and Bones by Seanan McGuire

McGuire pairs form with function in this spare story of two sisters who yearn for love, recognition, and belonging in ways that readers will readily identify with—chafing against rules as they long to break free of the expectations of others.

A Taste of Honey by Kai Ashante Wilson

Aqib bmg Sadiqi is expected to marry well and take over his father’s position as Master of Beasts, but when he falls in love with a visiting soldier, all bets are off.

Walkaway by Cory Doctorow

In a future where no one needs to work but the rich keep getting richer, the disenfranchised decide to simply walk away from modern life and start their own utopia.

 

 

The National Book Awards Longlist: Nonfiction

The National Book Awards Longlist: Nonfiction 

 

 

THE STOLEN MARRIAGE = October 2017 LibraryReads pick!

HUZZAH! THE STOLEN MARRIAGE by Diane Chamberlain is an October 2017 LibraryReads pick!

“Well-crafted crime-tinged tale…”–Publishers Weekly
“Combines the issue-driven style of Jodi Picoult, the romantic tension of Nora Roberts, and the life- defining-mistake motif of Amy Hatvany’s It Happens All the Time (2017).”–Booklist

#thrillerthursday 9/14

On this #thrillerthursday we’re enjoying our reads on the beach!

Beach, Breeze, Bloodshed by John Keyse-Walker

“Entertaining…Keyse-Walker effortlessly conveys the balmy charm of island life.”–Publishers Weekly

“An intriguing look at island life with a likable hero whom readers will want to get to know better.”–Booklist

Death at the Seaside by Frances Brody

“Tightly woven… Brody provides plenty of period flavor and just enough clues to point armchair sleuths to the solution.”–Publishers Weekly

“Sympathetic characters, especially the intelligent, independent Kate; a rich story told from multiple points of view; and a possible romantic interest for Kate in Chief Inspector Marcus Charles add to the interest. Those who enjoy historical mysteries like Kerry Greenwood’s Phryne Fisher series will want to take a look.”–Booklist

NBA Poetry Longlist

Next up from the National Book Awards is the poetry longlist:

Frank Bidart, Half-light: Collected Poems 1965-2016 
Layli Long Soldier, Whereas 
Danez Smith, Don’t Call Us Dead: Poems
Mai Der Vang, Afterland 

New and Forthcoming Nonfiction 9/13/17

Bored and Brilliant: How Spacing Out Can Unlock Your Most Productive and Creative Self by Manoush Zomorodi

“A breezy and engaging book that is a little philosophy and a lot self-help. This could do for unplugging what Marie Kondo’s The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up (2014) did for decluttering.”–Booklist

Night: A Memoir by Elie Wiesel

A memorial edition of Elie Wiesel’s seminal memoir of surviving the Nazi death camps, with tributes by President Obama and Samantha Power

A Disappearance in Damascus: Friendship and Survival in the Shadow of War by Deborah Campbell

“Campbell’s captivating writing allows readers to see inside the life of a foreign correspondent and the bonds forged and broken through investigative reporting.”–Booklist, starred review

Ghosts of the Tsunami: Death and Life in Japan’s Disaster Zone by Richard Lloyd Parry

“The stories that Parry gives voice to are not only deeply personal but they are accompanied with essential historical and cultural context that enable the reader to understand the roles of death, grief, and responsibility in Japanese culture—and why some survivors may always remain haunted.”–Booklist, starred review

The Influential Mind: What the Brain Reveals About Our Power to Change Others by Tali Sharot

“A fascinating, accessible primer on what current research teaches us about the art of persuasion…An enjoyable read.”–Publishers Weekly

Paul Auster’s 4 3 2 1 Shortlisted for Man Booker Prize

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction announced its 2017 shortlist and and our very own 4 3 2 1 by Paul Auster was included! The judges will announce the winners on October 17.

 

Sneak Peek: October 2017 Indie Next List

The October 2017 Indie Next List includes SEVEN Macmillan titles!

#1 Pick: Her Body and Other Parties: Stories by Carmen Maria Machado

“Machado creates eerie, inventive worlds shimmering with supernatural swerves in this engrossing debut collection. Her stories make strikingly feminist moves by combining elements of horror and speculative fiction with women’s everyday crises… Machado’s slightly slanted world echoes our own in ways that will entertain, challenge, and move readers.”–Publishers Weekly, starred + boxed review

Going Into Town: A Love Letter to New York by Roz Chast

A Library Journal Editors’ 2017 Fall Pick

“Brooklyn-born Chast follows up her emotional National Book Award finalist memoir Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant with an expanded version of a guide to Manhattan she made for her college-bound daughter, which enlightens readers on the finer and sometimes obscure points of what makes New York City a vibrant and often loony landscape. Multiple aspects of the city are lovingly examined and lampooned, with a matter-of-fact intimacy that could only come from a native New Yorker, from the bad—why not to get on an empty subway car—to the grand—the expanses of Central Park. Observations and advice on making one’s way through the city’s diversions are mixed with the quirky character that oozes from the metropolis’s every concrete pore. It’s all delivered with obvious and knowing affection and captured with a keenly observant pen.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

The Vengeance of Mothers: The Journals of Margaret Kelly & Molly McGill by Jim Fergus

“Twenty years on, Fergus’ best-selling novel, One Thousand White Women (1998), remains vivid in readers’ memories and continues to be discovered by historical-fiction fans. He now continues the intriguing tale of the U.S. government’s controversial, little-publicized, assimilation-oriented Brides for Indians program… It’s a gripping tale, a history lesson infused with both sadness at the violence perpetuated against the Cheyenne and awe at the endurance of this remarkable group of women…Requests will be legion.”–Booklist, starred review

The Ninth Hour by Alice McDermott

“National Book Award winner McDermott (Someone) delivers an immense, brilliant novel about the limits of faith, the power of sacrifice, and the cost of forgiveness…”–Publishers Weekly, starred + boxed review

The Tiger’s Daughter by K. Arsenault Rivera

“Wonderfully intricate…Rivera’s immense imagination and finely detailed worldbuilding have produced a series introduction of mammoth scope.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

The Exact Nature of Our Wrongs by Janet Peery

“Powerful… This is a potent and memorable novel.”–Publishers Weekly

Autonomous by Annalee Newitz

“The cofounder of the sf website io9.com takes some of today’s key social and technical issues (the nature of artificial intelligence, the notion of property and ownership) and wraps them in a compelling, original story line acted out by memorable characters. VERDICT Lovers of original, thought-provoking sf should not miss this one.”–Library Journal, starred review

css.php