We are Macmillan Library!
Are you a librarian? Awesome!
We are here to help.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER

A young woman confronts ancient forces in the depths of the bayou in Andy Davidson’s gorgeous, moody, horrifying novel, THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER.

Miranda Crabtree has spent a quiet life ferrying contraband for a mad preacher and his declining band of followers to make ends meet and to protect an old witch and a secret child from harm. But dark forces are at work in the bayou, both human and supernatural, conspiring to disrupt the rhythms of Miranda’s peculiar and precarious life. And when the preacher makes an unthinkable demand, it sets Miranda on a desperate, dangerous path, forcing her to consider what she is willing to sacrifice to keep her loved ones safe.

A great combination of Gothic horror, fantastic world-building, and thrilling pacing, Davidson’s unique voice will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Joe Hill, Justin Cronin, and Jeff VanderMeer. The author’s debut was nominated for the Bram Stoker Award for First Novel, so we’re very excited for him to join our list!

Download an e-galley of THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER from Edelweiss here.

Thriller Thursday (10/17/19)

A new Sherlock Holmes adventure, a Christmas cozy, and a 1950s British beach town murder = this week’s Thriller Thursday.

THE ADVENTURE OF THE PECULIAR PROTOCOLS: Adapted from the Journals of John H. Watson, M.D. by Nicholas Meyer

Two starred reviews!

“Meyer cleverly plays with his audience’s expectations, noting at the outset that the case was one of Holmes’s rare failures. Sherlockians will hope for a shorter wait for his next pastiche.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Holmes enthusiasts will relish this well-crafted novel.”–Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove

Fall 2019 Children’s / YA Tri-State Book Buzz (10/17/19)

Earlier today, we presented our favorite new YAs from Flatiron and Wednesday Books during the Tri-State Children’s / YA Book Buzz. If you weren’t able to attend, here are the goods:

WHERE THE WORLD ENDS | Geraldine McCaughrean
December 3, 2019
9781250225498
YA Fiction / Historical / Europe
Ages 12 to 18

THE NIGHT COUNTRY | Melissa Albert
January 7, 2020
9781250246073
YA Fiction / Fantasy / Contemporary
Ages 12 to 18

JANE ANONYMOUS | Laurie Faria Stolarz
January 7, 2020
9781250303707
YA Fiction / Thrillers & Suspense
Ages 13 to 18

readmoreremove

Maximum Shelf: THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS (10/17/19)

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Jennifer Rosner’s breathtaking WWII mother/daughter story, THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS.

As Nazi soldiers round up the Jews in their town, Róza and her 5-year-old daughter, Shira, flee, seeking shelter in a neighbor’s barn. Hidden in the hayloft day and night, Shira struggles to stay still and quiet, as music pulses through her and the farmyard outside beckons. To soothe her daughter and pass the time, Róza tells her a story about a girl in an enchanted garden:

The girl is forbidden from making a sound, so the yellow bird sings. He sings whatever the girl composes in her head: high-pitched trills of piccolo; low-throated growls of contrabassoon. Music helps the flowers bloom.

readmoreremove

Sarah Knott Talks with the Library Company of Philadelphia

Sarah Knott, author of MOTHER IS A VERB: An Unconventional History, recently participated in the Library Company of Philadelphia’s Talking in the Library podcast series.

Click here to listen in as Sarah and series host Will Fenton discuss MOTHER IS A VERB and all things motherhood throughout history.

More on MOTHER IS A VERB

Mothering is as old as human existence. But how has this most essential experience changed over time and cultures? What is the history of maternity—the history of pregnancy, birth, the encounter with an infant? Can one capture the historical trail of mothers? How?

In MOTHER IS A VERB, historian Sarah Knott creates a genre all her own in order to craft a new kind of historical interpretation. Blending memoir and history and building from anecdote, her book brings the past and the present viscerally alive. It is at once intimate and expansive, lyrical and precise.

“Hers is a deliberate and altogether radical effort in making the unseen sensational, and the mundane anything but.”–Booklist

Nonfiction Round-Up (10/16)

The truth about Artificial Intelligence and the story of one of the world’s favorite musicians make up today’s nonfiction round-up.

ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE: A Guide for Thinking Humans by Melanie Mitchell

“Mitchell gives us a history of artificial intelligence and a summation of its current state while asking pressing questions like how smart the best AI programs really are, how they work, how they fail, and how humanlike we can expect them to be.”–Library Journal, Prepub Alert

ME: Elton John Official Autobiography by Elton John

“The legendary pop star looks back cheerfully on a melodramatic life in this rollicking autobiography… John’s fans will love this funny, down-to-earth, and openhearted self-portrait.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

FSG Author Peter Handke Wins the 2019 Nobel Prize

A hearty congratulations goes out to 2019 Nobel Prize in Literature winner Peter Handke, praised for “an influential work that with linguistic ingenuity has explored the periphery and the specificity of human experience.” (Nobel Prize Press Release)

FSG’s president Jonathan Galassi says, “Handke is one of the great German prose stylists, who has spent his career exploring both the natural world and the world of human consciousness with exquisite precision, humor, and courage.”

readmoreremove

Happy #PubDay (10/15)

Horror, crime, and spooky woods + an abduction by Boko Haram + the next part of Bailey the dog’s journey + a young historian with a changed life path = this week’s #pubday party.

SUICIDE WOODS: Stories by Benjamin Percy

A Kirkus Reviews Most Anticipated Book for Fall 2019 + in Publishers Weekly‘s Fall 2019 Announcements!

“This gripping, often unnerving collection showcases Percy’s talent as a skilled, versatile storyteller.”–Publishers Weekly

GIRL by Edna O’Brien

3 starred reviews!

“O’Brien’s bravely investigated novel of a young woman overcoming epic torture is profoundly empathic, unnervingly human, and darkly exquisite.”–Booklist, starred review

“Tough but rewarding reading.”–Library Journal, starred review

“A heartbreaking tale and a singular achievement.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

TWENTY-ONE TRUTHS ABOUT LOVE = a November LibraryReads Pick!

Librarians love TWENTY-ONE TRUTHS ABOUT LOVE! You voted, they counted, and now Matthew Dicks’ novel-in-lists is a November LibraryReads pick.

TWENTY-ONE TRUTHS ABOUT LOVE by Matthew Dicks

“Often moving, sometimes shocking, always entertaining, this superbly crafted work emphasizes the incalculable variety of the novel form.”–Booklist

Now, don’t forget to read and vote for your favorite December titles by November 1st! Need recommendations? We got ’em here.

PW’s 2019 Holiday Gift Guide

It’s never too early to get into the holiday spirit. Enter, Publishers Weekly‘s 2019 Holiday Gift Guide, with recommendations for every reader in your life.

Fiction

CITY OF WINDOWS by Robert Pobi
EMPIRE OF LIES by Raymond Khoury
GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
LIGHT FROM OTHER STARS by Erika Swyler
THE VERY BEST OF THE BEST: 35 Years of The Year’s Best Science Fiction by Gardner Dozois
RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston
CLYDE FANS by Seth
UNDER CURRENTS by Nora Roberts

Poetry

DEAF REPUBLIC: Poems by Ilya Kaminsky

Nonfiction

TEXAS FLOOD: The Inside Story of Stevie Ray Vaughan by Alan Paul and Andy Aledort
THE BRITISH ARE COMING: The War for America, Lexington to Princeton, 1775-1777 by Rick Atkinson

Illustrated Books

MOONBOUND: Apollo 11 and the Dream of Spaceflight by Jonathan Fetter-Vorm

YA

HIS HIDEOUS HEART: 13 of Edgar Allan Poe’s Most Unsettling Tales Reimagined, edited by Dahlia Adler
WAYWARD SON by Rainbow Rowell

css.php