We are Macmillan Library!
Are you a librarian? Awesome!
We are here to help.

#ThrillerThursday 1/17/19

Marriages to die for, a Karin Slaughter read-alike, and the grim reaper… Welcome to this week’s #thrillerthurday!

AS LONG AS WE BOTH SHALL LIVE by JoAnn Chaney
Two starred reviews!
You can’t be married to someone without sometimes wanting to kill them… “Chaney alternates past and present, creating an unbearably urgent narrative, and she has a shockingly firm grasp on the barbs and ennui of long-term marriage…. A perfectly paced, shock-studded chiller from an author to watch.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Chaney grabs readers with her opening line: ‘If you try to kill your wife without a plan, you will fail.’… Marriage laid bare, with a riveting account of evasion and pursuit—and a zinger of a coda.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

LJ’s ALA Midwinter 2019 Galley Giveaway Guide

We’re super excited to see all of you next week (!!!) at Midwinter, but we know YOU’RE super excited about all the swag!

Library Journal just released their official ALA Midwinter galley giveaway guide featuring many of the titles awaiting your grubby little paws in our booth (#810):

THE GUEST BOOK by Sarah Blake
THE BURNING CHAMBERS by Kate Mosse
THE NIGHT BEFORE by Wendy Walker
TRUST EXERCISE by Susan Choi

and many many many MANY more!

Check out our full schedule for more information on our events and in-booth signings, and make sure to swing by and say hello!

Three Stars for THE VERY BEST OF THE BEST

THE VERY BEST OF THE BEST: 35 Years of The Year’s Best Science Fiction by Gardner Dozois is the ultimate in science fiction anthologies from a world authority on the genre, and it’s just received its third starred review!

“This anthology is another illuminating look into some of the best current sf from the last decade and more, offering a glorious range of characters, plots, and themes as well as forgotten fiction from sf’s favorite authors.”–Library Journal, starred review

“The 38 stories in this culling of the last 15 annual anthologies edited by the late Dozois testify to the breathtaking scope of science fiction and the diversity and talent of its writers.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“This anthology is highly recommended for anyone interested in all of the rich and varied possibilities sf as a genre has to offer.”–Booklist, starred review

Nonfiction Round-Up (1/16/19)

Aging doesn’t have to be scary! Today’s Nonfiction Round-Up is here to help guide your patrons through the process:

DOWNHILL FROM HERE: Retirement Insecurity in the Age of Inequality by Katherine S. Newman
A sharp examination of the looming financial catastrophe of retirement in America. “Strongly recommended for policymakers, business and nonprofit leaders, and general readers concerned (and who isn’t?) about their retirement.”–Library Journal, starred review

WOMEN ROWING NORTH: Navigating Life’s Currents and Flourishing As We Age by Mary Pipher
Two starred reviews!
From the New York Times bestselling author of REVIVING OPHELIA, a guide to wisdom, authenticity, and bliss for women as they age. “While a must-read for its target audience of women moving into old age, Pipher’s engaging book is an ought-to-read for their daughters and sons as well, as it sets forth the universal message that ‘happiness is a choice and a set of skills.'”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Three Stars for WOMEN TALKING

Everyone’s talking about WOMEN TALKING! Miriam Toews’ incredible story of eight women in a remote Mennonite colony has received THREE starred reviews!

[A] sharp blade of a novel…. Toews’ eviscerating fictionalization of this incendiary reality focuses not on the violence but, rather, on the keen, subversive intelligence of the Mennonite women, their philosophical casts of mind, clashing personalities, and deep concerns about family and faith.”Booklist, starred review

“[A]n inspiring and unforgettable novel.”Publishers Weekly, starred review

“An exquisite critique of patriarchal culture…. Stunningly original and altogether arresting.”Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Winter 2019 Flatiron YA Sampler

Start your year with a sneak peek of two 2019 titles from Flatiron Books YA!

Available for download on Edelweiss, this sampler features excerpts from the following upcoming YA titles from Flatiron Books YA:

ENCHANTÉE by Gita Trelease (available February 5, 2019)
This lush and imaginative debut fantasy is about an impoverished girl who must use magic to impersonate an aristocrat in Versailles to provide for her sister as her own political awakening forces her to choose sides in the French Revolution.

TIN HEART by Shivaun Plozza (available March 12, 2019)
When Marlowe gets a heart transplant and a second chance at life, all she wants to do is to thank her donor’s family. Maybe then she can move on. Maybe then she’ll discover who she is if she’s no longer The Dying Girl. But her second chance is about to take an unexpected turn . . .

readmoreremove

Killing It! February 2019 LibraryReads List Edition

FANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has FIVE February 2019 LibraryReads picks, including the highly coveted #1 spot, and a Hall of Famer!

In the #1 spot:
THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides
A February 2019 Indie Next List Pick!
After shooting her husband in the face, Alicia Berenson takes a vow of silence. Theo Faber is a criminal psychotherapist who has waited a long time for the opportunity to work with Alicia. His determination to get her to talk and unravel the mystery of why she shot her husband takes him down a twisting path into his own motivations—a search for the truth that threatens to consume him…. “This edgy, intricately plotted psychological thriller establishes Michaelides as a major player in the field.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

PW Spring 2019 Announcements

Publishers Weekly has chosen the stand-out books from the coming months for their 2019 Spring Announcements, and there are 81 Macmillan titles you’ll need to save room for on your shelves!

Business & Economics

THE BILLIONAIRE BOONDOGGLE: How Our Politicians Let Corporations and Bigwigs Steal Our Money and Jobs by Pat Garofalo (a Top 10 pick)
INVEST FOR GOOD: Increasing Your Personal Well-Being While Changing the World by Mark Mobius, Carlos Von Hardenberg, and Greg Konieczny (a Top 10 pick)
BIG BUSINESS: A Love Letter to an American Anti-Hero by Tyler Cowen
HOW TO WIN IN A WINNER-TAKE-ALL WORLD: Career Management in the Twenty-First Century by Neil Irwin
WIN OR DIE: Leadership Secrets from ‘Game of Thrones’ by Bruce Craven

Comics & Graphic Novels

HOT COMB by Ebony Flowers (a Top 10 pick)
OFF SEASON by James Sturm (a Top 10 pick)
WHY DON’T YOU WRITE MY EULOGY NOW SO I CAN CORRECT IT?: A Mother’s Suggestions by Patricia Marx and Roz Chast
GRASS by Keum Suk Gendry-Kim, trans. by Janet Hong
CHRONIN VOLUME 1: The Knife at Your Back by Alison Wilgus

readmoreremove

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books:

A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill
A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration.

QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter by Veronica Chambers
“With such a dynamic ensemble of opinions and reflections, the collection will be sweet reading not just for Beyoncé’s superfans, but also for activists, feminists, and budding vocalists. An uplifting and resounding ovation.”Kirkus Reviews 

“Entertaining and illuminating, this essay collection will please readers no matter their Beyoncé fan status level.”Publishers Weekly

DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion
by Tanisha C. Ford
From sneakers to leather jackets, a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet.

GO HIGH: The Unstoppable Presence and Poise of Michelle Obama
by M. Sweeney
A photographic celebration of the former first lady’s elegance and strength.

readmoreremove

Short Story Feature + Stars for RAG and INSTRUCTIONS FOR A FUNERAL

Today we celebrate the bite-size wonder of short stories with a feature on four incredible collections.

MOTHERS: Stories by Chris Power
Peopled by men and women who find themselves at crossroads or dead ends, these stories evoke the magic and despair of the essential human longing for purpose. “Power’s wide-ranging debut is confident, complex, bizarre, poignant, and elegantly crafted—a very strong collection.”–Kirkus Reviews

BONUS! If you enjoy listening to music while reading, check out Chris Power’s custom MOTHERS playlist.

WE LOVE ANDERSON COOPER: Short Stories by R.L. Maizes
Available July 23, 2019
A charmingly funny but deeply human short story collection about outsiders from a Pushcart Prize-nominee.

BONUS! Head over to Edelweiss for the e-galley.

And we’re not the only ones loving on short stories. These forthcoming collections have received multiple starred reviews!

RAG: Stories by Maryse Meijer
Available February 12, 2019
“In Meijer’s outstanding and disturbing second collection (after HEARTBREAKER), her fragmented writing style produces an intense and distilled view of isolated moments—or, conversely, makes the outrageous or aberrant seem ordinary.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

css.php