We are Macmillan Library!
Are you a librarian? Awesome!
We are here to help.

Day’s YA – TWEET CUTE

TGIF, YA pals!

Prepare yourselves for the most adorable YA rom-com EVER!

TWEET CUTE by Emma Lord
9781250237323
Available January 21, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18
Available to download as an e-galley on Edelweiss

Pepper and Jack (yes, like the cheese) have been quiet rivals since Pepper moved to NYC to attend Jack’s fancy private school. Pepper is top of her class and Jack is the class clown. Pepper is the swim team captain and Jack is a dive team star. Pepper’s family owns Big League Burger, a massive chain, and Jack’s family owns Girl Cheesing, the local deli. Pepper secretly runs the Big League Burger Twitter account and Jack occasionally tweets back from the Girl Cheesing account.

When Girl Cheesing accuses Big League Burger of stealing their top-secret grilled cheese recipe, the two become embroiled (har har) in an all-out Twitter war. But while Pepper and Jack are fighting online, they’re also falling in love via an anonymous app that Jack created. When the Twitter feud goes viral, things get way too personal and the tweets turn mean, but that doesn’t stop the world from shipping the pair. (How can you resist when their ship name is PepperJack??) Will their budding IRL friendship & virtual romance survive the fallout?

readmoreremove

Forthcoming #FridayReads: OONA OUT OF ORDER

A young woman explores family, love, and life as she bounces through time in Margarita Montimore’s OONA OUT OF ORDER.

Our story starts on New Years Eve 1982, which also happens to be the day before Oona Lockhart’s 19th birthday. She has big decisions to make about her future, with a boyfriend who loves her, and her whole life ahead of her. On the stroke of midnight, Oona passes out and wakes up in 2015 in her 51 year old body. Thus begins Oona’s life of jumping forwards and backwards through time to a random different year in her life every New Years Eve, experiencing life out of order. The novel is moving and surprisingly funny as it explores the power of love, the bonds of family, and wonders of life, making it perfect for readers of Chloe Benjamin’s THE IMMORTALISTS, THE TIME TRAVELLER’S WIFE, and THE CLOCKMAKER’S DAUGHTER, and definitely great for book clubs.

Librarian excitement for OONA OUT OF ORDER

Download the e-galley from NetGalley, or email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “OONA OUT OF ORDER” to request a download widget.

Booklist’s 2019 Great Group Reads

Yara Zgheib’s THE GIRLS AT 17 SWANN STREET is among Booklist and the Women’s National Book Association’s favorite book club reads of the year!

THE GIRLS AT 17 SWANN STREET by Yara Zgheib

A February 2019 Indie Next pick + LibraryReads pick + Library Journal Best Debut!

A haunting portrait of a young woman’s struggle with anorexia on an intimate journey to reclaim her life.

“This is an impressive, deeply moving debut.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Thriller Thursday (10/10)

Witchcraft and murder at a boarding school + a WWII military thriller = this week’s Thriller Thursday.

THE FURIES by Katie Lowe

“Murder and witchcraft mix with a heady cocktail of drugs, booze, and revenge in this elegant, pitch-perfect coming-of-age story.”–Kirkus Reviews

THE NUGGET by P. T. Deutermann

“Deutermann, long a master of military thrillers, is at the top of his game here.”–Booklist

DOMINICANA Is the Inaugural GMA Book Club Pick

Angie Cruz’s DOMINICANA is the Good Morning America Cover to Cover Book Club’s inaugural pick!

The pick was announced this morning on GMA with a special appearance by the author and an audience giveaway. Next, tune in on October 29th, when Angie Cruz will be a guest on the show to discuss the novel with Robin Roberts and other GMA hosts. You can also follow along on the show’s new Instagram page or website.

More about DOMINICANA

In bright, musical prose that reflects the energy of New York City, Angie Cruz’s DOMINICANA is a vital portrait of the immigrant experience and the timeless coming-of-age story of a young woman finding her voice in the world.

A September Indie Next pick + a Kirkus Reviews Most Anticipated Book + a 2020 Carnegie Award longlister + 3 starred reviews!

“This stirring immigration story is Cruz’s breakout book.”–Library Journal, starred review

“Cruz’s winning novel will linger in the reader’s mind long after the close of the story.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Cruz’s ability to create mood and atmosphere with her distinctive writing style make her a strong voice in Dominican American literature.”–Booklist, starred review

Nonfiction Round-Up (10/09)

A memoir of growing up in and leaving the Westboro Baptist Church, inspiration from Habitat for Humanity’s CEO, a rescue dog that saves other beloved pets, the story of marriage equality from a civil rights activist, the history of rock structures around the world, and the unification of European countries and cities–all in today’s nonfiction round-up.

UNFOLLOW: A Memoir of Loving and Leaving the Westboro Baptist Church by Megan Phelps-Roper

A Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Book of Fall 2019

“For anyone interested in the power of rhetoric, belief, and family, Phelps-Roper’s powerful, empathetic memoir will be a must-read.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Library Comic Custom Tarot Deck Sweepstakes

Spooky season is upon us, and what better way to celebrate than with a custom tarot deck giveaway!

We’ve partnered with Library Comic to immortalize one lucky librarian and two of their coworkers in a custom tarot deck (aka get your face on a tarot card!)

Deadline to enter: October 20th, 2019

Click here for full sweepstakes details and find out how to enter.

2019 National Book Award Finalists

The finalists for the 2019 National Book Award have been announced, and FOUR Macmillan titles made the cut!

Translated Literature

DEATH IS HARD WORK by Khaled Khalifa, translated from the Arabic by Leri Price

Poetry

DEAF REPUBLIC: Poems by Ilya Kaminsky
BE RECORDER: Poems by Carmen Giménez Smith

Fiction

TRUST EXERCISE by Susan Choi

Winners will be announced on 11/20/19.

Happy #PubDay (10/08)

A YA powerhouse makes her adult debut, a book lover in Paris, horror + feminism in a collection of short stories, falling in love with Ireland, alternate universes + stolen identities, and a dilapidated mansion in nineteenth-century Hyde Park. Find it all in today’s #PubDay.

NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo

An October LibraryReads pick, Indie Next pick, PW Most Anticipated Book of Fall 2019, Kirkus Most Anticipated Fall Fiction + 4 starred reviews!

“Fantasy readers, particularly those who love ghosts, will hungrily devour this novel.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“The worldbuilding is rock solid, the plot is propulsive, and readers will be clamoring for a sequel as soon as they read the last page.”–Library Journal, starred review

“Adults are just as enamored of Bardugo’s YA novels as teens are, and many have been anxiously and curiously awaiting this one.”–Booklist, starred review

“With an aura of both enchantment and authenticity, Bardugo’s compulsively readable novel leaves a portal ajar for equally dazzling sequels.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: November 2019 Indie Next List

Macmillan nabs the #1 pick on the November 2019 Indie Next List!

#1 Pick: IN THE DREAM HOUSE: A Memoir by Carmen Maria Machado

A Fall 2019 Library Journal Editors’ Pick + PW Big Indie Book + a 2020 Carnegie Award Longlister + 3 starred reviews!

“A fiercely honest, imaginatively written, and necessary memoir from one our great young writers.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Highly recommended to fans of Machado’s fiction and to anyone interested in LGBTQ memoir, domestic abuse, or chilling and precise examinations of human relationships at their worst.”–Booklist, starred review

“Machado has written an affecting, chilling memoir about domestic abuse.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

css.php