We are Macmillan Library!
Are you a librarian? Awesome!
We are here to help.

For Your Consideration: August 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the August 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due June 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

FEARED by Lisa Scottoline
Also available in audio
“In this next in the mega-best-selling Rosato & DiNunzio thriller series, Mary DiNunzio is clobbered by her archenemy, lawyer Nick Machiavelli (with that name, how sneaky must he be?), who accuses her father and a family friend of embezzling from the South Philadelphia social club of which they are members. That’s when Mary decides to fight fire with fire.” Library Journal, pre-pub alert

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Feared.”*

TOUCAN KEEP A SECRET by Donna Andrews
“Dashing over to Trinity Episcopal to check on the toucan the reverend is fostering, Meg Langslow finds an elderly parishioner murdered in the columbarium among the ashes of overturned urns. It soon materializes that someone broke in to steal the toucan and might be the murderer, too. A big 23rd in the award-winning series.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE MIDDLEMAN by Olen Steinhauer
Also available in audio
Two starred reviews! “Steinhauer has written an unnerving and timely thriller with incredible pivots. From a perspective on activist/terrorist civilian organizations to an examination of Big Brother conspiracy plots, there’s something here for everyone to grip—with white knuckles.” — Library Journal, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE OTHER WOMAN by Sandie Jones
Also available in audio
Emily chose Adam, but she didn’t choose his mother Pammie. There’s nothing a mother wouldn’t do for her son, and now Emily is about to find out just how far Pammie will go to get what she wants: Emily gone forever. “This one might break big.” — Vicki Nesting, Assistant Director, St. Charles Parish Library, LA

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

2017 Nebula Award Winners

Congratulations to our 2017 Nebula Award winners:

Best Novella
ALL SYSTEMS RED by Martha Wells

Best Novelette
A HUMAN STAIN by Kelly Robson

Library Journal Debut Spotlight – L. Penelope

L. Penelope, author of SONG OF BLOOD & STONE (available now from St. Martin’s Press), was interviewed in last month’s issue of Library Journal.

In the interview, Penelope discussed her writing process…

“I’m a plotter, but my road map is very loose and allows for plenty of detours along the way.”

…her favorite books from when she was a child…

“Growing up I read widely. My favorites ranged from Frances Hodgson Burnett’s THE SECRET GARDEN and A LITTLE PRINCESS to Virginia Hamilton’s ‘Justice Trilogy.'”

readmoreremove

Friday Reads: Fantasy

Our #FridayReads are three fantastic fantasies that will take you to exciting new worlds:

SONG OF BLOOD & STONE: Earthsinger Chronicles, Book One by L. Penelope
A Library Journal Spring 2018 Editors’ Pick with two starred reviews! The incredible first book in the Earthsinger series—a treacherous, thrilling, epic historical fantasy drawing on Native American and African mythologies about an outcast drawn into a war between two powerful rulers. “This debut…shines a bright light into epic fantasy. Battle-scarred lands and peoples, ancient powers at war, star-crossed loves and hints of racial and refugee themes give this a solid place on library shelves.” —Library Journal, starred review

DEATH DOESN’T BARGAIN by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Also available in audio
“It’s back to the ‘Deadmen’s Cross’ series as the perennial No. 1 New York Times best-selling Kenyon continues an epic new fantasy adventure. When demons punch their way out of supposedly eternal imprisonment, Hellchaser Cameron Jack must rescue Kalder Dupree from vengeful demon Vine, never mind that Kalder is not exactly Mr. Nice Guy.” Library Journal, pre-pub alert readmoreremove

Day’s YA – THE RAGING ONES

Hey there, YA librarians!

My latest Day’s YA pick is a thrilling YA sci-fi novel, full of twists and turns to keep you on the edge of your seat!

THE RAGING ONES by Krista & Becca Ritchie
9781250128713
Available August 14, 2018 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18

Franny, Court, and Mykal live in a world where everyone knows the day that they are going to die. This fateful date is printed on their identification cards alongside their birthdates. Based on these dates, people in their world are divided into three categories: Influentials, those who will live past thirty and have the most time to make a difference; Fast-Trackers, those who will die between the ages of thirteen and twenty-nine and live wild, reckless lives; and Babes, those whose years are the fewest and will only live to be twelve, at the oldest. No one ever dies before their deathday or lives beyond it—until our three main characters somehow find themselves alive after their assigned deathdays. readmoreremove

Publishers Weekly Spotlight on Somaiya Daud

Somaiya Daud, author of MIRAGE (available August 28, 2018 from Flatiron Books and Macmillan Audio), was featured in Publishers Weekly earlier this month.

In the feature, Daud discusses the role that her Moroccan heritage plays in the novel, specifically the inspiration she found in Moroccan poet Laabi Abdellatif.

“‘I’d known that poetry could be and often was a form of dissent,’ Daud says, ‘but it took on new meaning as I wrote this novel because I was drawing so heavily on my Moroccan roots to shape the world.’ With the assistance of her mother and her aunt, Daud sought out and translated poems from Arabic-speaking women to include in the novel, bringing these works to an audience who likely would not have read them otherwise. For [the main character,] Amani, as her days as a prisoner in the imperial palace become increasingly bleak, the poems [in the novel] serve as ‘a light in the darkness.'”

Click here to read the full article.

Check out all of our 2018 Books for Teens here.

Teen Talk Tuesday (5/16/2018 Edition)

Happy Wednesday, YA librarians, and welcome to this special *Wednesday edition* of Teen Talk Tuesday!

Check out our latest & greatest teen titles out this month, then join us today at 2:30pm EST for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya) and tell us what you’ve been reading and loving.

LEGENDARY by Stephanie Garber
9781250095312
Ages 13 to 18
Also available in audio
The sequel to the New York Times bestselling and #1 IndieNext Pick CARAVAL, following Scarlett’s younger sister, Tella. After being swept up in the magical world of Caraval, Donatella Dragna has finally escaped her father and saved her sister Scarlett from a disastrous arranged marriage. The girls should be celebrating, but Tella isn’t yet free. She made a desperate bargain with a mysterious criminal, and what Tella owes him no one has ever been able to deliver: Caraval Master Legend’s true name.

“The pacing is impeccable, with urgency increasing to an almost breathless point as Tella runs from clue to clue, while bittersweet truths and devastating betrayals unfold.” —The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, starred review

” . . . a tour de force of imagination.” —Kirkus readmoreremove

Adult Books for Teens

Whether young or young at heart, these adult books are great for readers of all ages!

BUTTERFLY: From Refugee to Olympian – My Story of Rescue, hope, and Triumph by Yusra Mardini
When young Syrian refugee Yusra Mardini realized her boat’s engine shut down as she was traveling from Syria to Greece with other refugees, there was no hesitation: she dove into the water, grabbed the boat’s rope with one hand, and began inching the boat towards the distant shore. This bold act of bravery saved the lives of a boatload of refugees heading to Turkey from Syria. After her arrival in Greece, Mardini, focused and undeterred, worked toward a lifelong goal: to compete in the Olympics. She succeeded, and competed in 2016 on the Refugee Olympic Team in Rio de Janeiro.

“This unforgettable memoir shines a spotlight on the refugee experience and the role sports can play in giving a voice to those affected by conflict throughout the world.” —Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (5/15/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to two new novels starring women who overcome adversity:

HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center
A May 2018 Indie Next pick with two starred reviews! Margaret Jacobson has a bright future ahead of her, with a fiancé and a promising career, until an accident on what should be one of the happiest days of her life takes it all away. “A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

SO LUCKY by Nicola Griffith
The “affecting autobiographical novel”* of a confident woman forced to confront an unnerving new reality when in the space of a single week her wife leaves her and she is diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. “Anyone who’s ever struggled with medical adversity will be inspired.” — *Publishers Weekly

THE SILENT PATIENT Now Available on Net Galley!

Get your hands on the THE SILENT PATIENT (Celadon Books, February 5,2019), the debut that, according to your librarian pals, is the “‘IT’ thriller of 2019,” “Masterful,” and “Set[s] the bar for psychological thrillers.”


Alicia Berenson’s life is seemingly perfect. A famous painter married to an in-demand fashion photographer, she lives in a grand house with big windows overlooking a park in one of London’s most desirable areas.

One evening her husband Gabriel returns home late from a fashion shoot, and Alicia shoots him five times in the face, and then never speaks another word.

Alicia’s refusal to talk, or give any kind of explanation, turns a domestic tragedy into something far grander, a mystery that captures the public imagination and casts Alicia into notoriety. The price of her art skyrockets, and she, the silent patient, is hidden away from the tabloids and spotlight at the Grove, a secure forensic unit in North London. 

 

Theo Faber is a criminal psychotherapist who has waited a long time for the opportunity to work with Alicia. His determination to get her to talk and unravel the mystery of why she shot her husband takes him down a twisting path into his own motivations—a search for the truth that threatens to consume him….

Advance Praise
“That rarest of beasts: the perfect thriller. This extraordinary novel set my blood fizzing—I quite literally couldn’t put it down. I told myself I’d just dip in; eleven hours later—it’s now 5:47 a.m.—I’ve finished it, absolutely dazzled.” —A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW

Request your copy from  Net Galley TODAY.
css.php