We are Macmillan Library!
Are you a librarian? Awesome!
We are here to help.

ALA Annual 2019 Read n’ Rave

This summer at ALA Annual, librarians were gushing about upcoming titles to watch at the Read n’ Rave event, and these Macmillan titles are getting the love!

THE FURIES by Katie Lowe

“Murder and witchcraft mix with a heady cocktail of drugs, booze, and revenge in this elegant, pitch-perfect coming-of-age story.”–Kirkus Reviews

NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo

2 starred reviews!

“With an aura of both enchantment and authenticity, Bardugo’s compulsively readable novel leaves a portal ajar for equally dazzling sequels.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“This atmospheric contemporary novel steeped in the spirit of a mystical New Haven is part mystery, part story of a young woman finding purpose in a dark world, and is the first in a potential series. ”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

#ThrillerThursday (7/18/19)

Kate Burkholder returns and an FBI neuroscientist is on the trail of a serial killer in today’s #ThrillerThursday!

SHAMED: A Kate Burkholder Novel by Linda Castillo

A July 2019 LibraryReads Hall of Fame Inductee!

“If they haven’t already, readers looking for a fierce-female-fronted procedural should check out Catillo’s best-selling series, from the get-go.”–Booklist

BURIED by Ellison Cooper

“The combination of science and personal warmth makes Cooper’s protagonist a natural for devotees of Patricia Cornwell’s Kay Scarpetta.”–Booklist

Nonfiction Round-Up (7/17/19)

Women’s healthcare, tragic lives of the elite, cartoon calculus, and a travel memoir–welcome to today’s nonfiction round-up!

EVERYTHING BELOW THE WAIST: Why Health Care Needs a Feminist Revolution by Jennifer Block

2 starred reviews!

“Thought-provoking, empowering information that all women should have; essential for public and consumer health ­libraries.“–Library Journal, starred review

“A dense and serious work packed with important information, highly recommended for health professionals, classes in women’s studies, and any woman who seeks guidance in these issues.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

FOUR FRIENDS: Promising Lives Cut Short by William D. Cohan

“Readers who enjoy behind-the-scenes details about the lives of the elite, including their foibles, will appreciate these accounts.”–Booklist

readmoreremove

July Nonfiction E-Book Sale for Libraries

Expand your e-book collection with these nonfiction essentials!

From 7/17 through 7/31, twenty-nine e-Books will be discounted 25% off (with our regular lending terms), including these bestsellers and award-winners:

LOOK ALIVE OUT THERE: Essays by Sloane Crosley
THE POISONED CITY: Flint’s Water and the American Urban Tragedy by Anna Clark
THE SUN DOES SHINE: How I Found Life, Freedom, and Justice by Anthony Ray Hinton
THE END OF THE END OF THE EARTH: Essays by Jonathan Franzen
BLACK KLANSMAN: Race, Hate, and the Undercover Investigation of a Lifetime by Ron Stallworth

Click here to download the spreadsheet of all available titles with exact price changes.

Maximum Shelf: A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Therese Anne Fowler’s exploration of class, race, and heartrending star-crossed love, A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD.

For fans of Celeste Ng and Jodi Picoult comes a stunning page-turner about two very different families living side by side in an idyllic neighborhood–and the summer that changes their lives forever.

In Oak Knoll, a verdant, tight-knit North Carolina neighborhood, professor of forestry and ecology Valerie Alston-Holt is raising her bright and talented biracial son. Xavier is headed to college in the fall, and after years of single parenting, Valerie is facing the prospect of an empty nest. All is well until the Whitmans move in next door–an apparently traditional family with new money, ambition, and a secretly troubled teenaged daughter.

Thanks to his thriving local business, Brad Whitman is something of a celebrity around town, and he’s made a small fortune on his customer service and charm, while his wife, Julia, escaped her trailer park upbringing for the security of marriage and homemaking. Their new house is more than she ever imagined for herself, and who wouldn’t want to live in Oak Knoll?

readmoreremove

Happy #PubDay! (7/16/19)

Happy, happy #pubday to the continuation of Cixin Liu’s Three-Body Problem series and a lyrical, underwater debut!

THE REDEMPTION OF TIME: A Three-Body Problem Novel by Baoshu, translated by Ken Liu

A PW Best Book of Summer 2019!

“While some of the more fan-fiction aspects about existing characters from Liu’s trilogy may mystify unfamiliar readers, Baoshu’s narrative contains enough cosmic scope and adventure to keep readers engaged. Recommended for fans of Cixin Liu or readers interested in Chinese sf as a whole.”–Booklist

THE BORDER KEEPER by Kerstin Hall

“An intriguing debut from a writer with the skills to create weird and wonderful worlds, this one is almost great.”–Kirkus Reviews

July 2019 Debuts Spotlight

Dive in to July’s delightful debuts!

STAY AND FIGHT by Madeline ffitch

A July 2019 Indie Next Pick!

“As the stakes rise, for both the family and the preservation of the region, the novel skewers stereotypes and offers only a messy, real depiction of people who fully embody the imperative of the novel’s title. This is a stellar novel.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

WHISPER NETWORK by Chandler Baker

A July 2019 Indie Next Pick + a Reese Witherspoon/Hello Sunshine Book Club pick + 3 starred reviews!

“Smart, articulate, and witty, it will resonate with a huge audience. Highly recommended.“–Library Journal, starred review

“A compulsively readable mystery with a strong message. Don’t miss it.“–Booklist, starred review

“It’s a breezy page-turner of a book, which is the brilliance of it: Under the froth is an unmistakable layer of justified rage. Over-the-top in all the right ways.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE + THE WHISPER MAN = August LibraryReads Picks!

You voted, they counted, and THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE + THE WHISPER MAN are officially LibraryReads picks for August 2019!

THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center

2 starred reviews!

“Center gives readers a sharp and witty exploration of love and forgiveness that is at once insightful, entertaining, and thoroughly addictive.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“The follow-up to Center’s breakout hit, HOW TO WALK AWAY (2018), in which Cassie had a brief cameo, has all the hallmarks that made readers fall in love with the previous book: an appealing (if guarded, in this case) heroine, a compelling love story, a tear-jerking twist, and a thoroughly absorbing story. Another winner from Center.”–Booklist, starred review

THE WHISPER MAN by Alex North

A PW Best Book of Summer 2019 + 2 starred reviews!

“With redemption for some and none for others, this thriller will satisfy readers of Thomas Harris and Stephen King.”–Booklist, starred review

“Readers will have a tough time putting down this truly unnerving tale, with its seemingly unexplainable elements and glimpses of broken and dangerous minds.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Day’s YA – HIS HIDEOUS HEART

Got the mid-summer reading doldrums? EXCELLENT. Allow me to introduce you to thirteen dark and creepy tales guaranteed to pull you out of that funk…

HIS HIDEOUS HEART ed. by Dahlia Adler
9781250302779
Available September 10, 2019 from Flatiron Books
Ages 12 to 18

HIS HIDEOUS HEART is a collection of Edgar Allen Poe’s eeriest tales, reimagined by your favorite Young Adult authors, including Tiffany D. Jackson, Caleb Roehrig, Rin Chupeco, Kendare Blake, and Tessa Gratton, among others.

My favorite stories are…

Tiffany D. Jackson’s “It’s Carnival!” (“The Cask of Amontillado”), in which Cindy seeks revenge on Darrell (after enduring years of harassment) during Brooklyn’s West Indian Day Carnival.

Lamar Giles’ “The Oval Filter” (“The Oval Portrait”) is the unsettling story of Tariq’s dead ex-girlfriend who is haunting his phone while also leading him to her killer.

amanda lovelace’s “The Raven (Remix)” is an enchanting blackout poetry version of Poe’s THE RAVEN, in which large portions of the original text are blacked out to reveal lovelace’s poem underneath.

Stephanie Kuehn’s “Happy Days, Sweetheart” (“The Tell-Tale Heart”), my favorite, is the brutal story of a girl who would do anything to be the best . . . but will her guilt be her downfall?

readmoreremove

A Meteor Shower of Stars for Macmillan!

These forthcoming titles all received multiple starred reviews!

Fiction

NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo

“With an aura of both enchantment and authenticity, Bardugo’s compulsively readable novel leaves a portal ajar for equally dazzling sequels.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“This atmospheric contemporary novel steeped in the spirit of a mystical New Haven is part mystery, part story of a young woman finding purpose in a dark world, and is the first in a potential series. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Adults are just as enamored of Bardugo’s YA novels as teens are, and many have been anxiously and curiously awaiting this one.”–Booklist, starred review

MACHINE by Susan Steinberg

“Teenagers spend a hazy summer at the shore. One girl comes to terms with both her emerging independence and the mysterious death of a girl just like her… Heartbreaking, eerie, and acutely observant.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“What makes this tale so thrilling is Steinberg’s artistry with form; she fractures narrative into its fundamental parts. Steinberg writes prose with a poet’s sense of meter and line, and a velocity recalling the novels of Joan Didion. The result is a dizzying work that perfectly evokes the feeling of spinning out of control.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove
css.php