We are Macmillan Library!
Are you a librarian? Awesome!
We are here to help.

ALA Annual 2017 – Monday Events

It’s the final day of ALA Annual and we’ve saved the best for last! Visit the Macmillan Adult (Griffin Teen, Flatiron Books YA, Wednesday Books) booth #2714 for more giveaways and join us at these events:


Stonewall Award Ceremony with Meredith Russo

10:00am-12:00 noon
McCormick Place | Room S102
Add to your schedule

Come celebrate the best in GLBT literature alongside the winners and honor authors of the Stonewall Book Awards, including Meredith Russo (IF I WAS YOUR GIRL). A book signing will follow the program.

Booklist‘s “Read ‘n Rave”
10:30-11:30am
McCormick Place | Room W179A
Add to your schedule

Join Rebecca Vnuk, Booklist‘s Reference and Collection Management editor and collection development specialists as they rave about their favorite titles gathered from the exhibit floor. readmoreremove

ALA Annual 2017 – Sunday Events

Good morning, Chicago! We look forward to seeing your smiling faces at the events below and in the Macmillan Adult (Griffin Teen, Flatiron Books YA, Wednesday Books) booth #2714!

Literary Tastes Breakfast with Gregg Hurwitz
8:00-10:00am
Hyatt Regency McCormick | Prairie Room
Add to your schedule

Join Gregg Hurwitz (ORPHAN X) as he discusses his work and the craft of writing at this RUSA-sponsored panel. Light refreshments will be served, followed by a book signing.

YA Author Coffee Klatch
9:00-10:00am
McCormick Place | Room S105
Add to your schedule
Ticketed event, space is limited

Enjoy coffee and meet with YALSA’s award winning authors, including Meredith Russo (IF I WAS YOUR GIRL), Candace Ganger (THE INEVITABLE COLLISION OF BIRDIE & BASH), Melissa Albert (THE HAZEL WOOD), and Scott Stambach (THE INVISIBLE LIFE OF IVAN ISAENKO)! This informal coffee klatch provides an opportunity to meet authors who have appeared on one of YALSA’s six annual selected lists or have received one of YALSA’s five literary awards. Librarians will stay seated while authors rotate to different tables to talk about their books.

Onsite tickets are $30. Details and purchasing information available here. readmoreremove

ALA Annual 2017 “Three’s Company” Book Buzz Titles

Here are LOTS of reading recommendations courtesy of Talia’s “Three’s Company” Book Buzz at ALA Annual 2017:

YEAR ONE by Nora Roberts
THE NINTH HOUR by Alice McDermott
FRESH COMPLAINT by Jeffrey Eugenides
THE BREAKDOWN by B. A. Paris
THE SABOTEUR by Andrew Gross
THE RESURRECTION OF JOAN ASHBY by Cherise Wolas
EMMA IN THE NIGHT by Wendy Walker
GOOD ME BAD ME by Ali Land
GONE TO DUST by Matt Goldman
SLEEP LIKE A BABY by Charlaine Harris
GRIST MILL ROAD by Christopher J. Yates
THE VENGEANCE OF MOTHERS by Jim Fergus
SOURDOUGH by Robin Sloan
AUTONOMOUS by Annalee Newitz
BORED AND BRILLIANT by Manoush Zomorodi
THE EMOJI CODE by Vyvyan Evans
HAPPINESS by Heather Harpham
REAL AMERICAN by Julie Lythcott-Haims
I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by Gaby Dunn & Allison Raskin
GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by Melissa Bashardoust

Download the book buzz handout, complete with information about getting whitelisted for Macmillan e-galleys and participating in LibraryReads! We’ll post a video of the recorded buzz as soon as it’s available.

ALA Annual 2017 – Saturday Events

It’s another lovely day at ALA Annual in Chicago! Come to all of our excellent programs and stop by the Macmillan Adult (Griffin Teen, Flatiron Books YA, Wednesday Books) booth #2714 for these great giveaways and signings.

In-booth signing with Jenny D. Williams
9:30-10:30am
McCormick Place | Booth #2714

Jenny D. Williams will sign complimentary copies of THE ATLAS OF FORGOTTEN PLACES.

“Three’s Company: We’ll be Waiting For You”: The Best in Adult Books from Virginia Stanley, HarperCollins; Talia Sherer, Macmillan; and Chris Vaccari, Sterling
10:00-10:45am
McCormick Place | Book Buzz Theater
Add to your schedule

Join Talia Sherer as she presents her favorite adult titles from Macmillan alongside the hilarious Virginia Stanley and always-entertaining Chris Vaccari!

“Out and Proud: LGBTQ Literature” panel with Rakesh Satyal
10:30-11:30am
McCormick Place | Room W190A
Add to your schedule

Join Rakesh Satyal (NO ONE CAN PRONOUNCE MY NAME) as he discusses his latest novel during this United for Libraries and GLBTRT co-sponsored panel moderated by Library Journal‘s Barbara Hoffert.  A book signing will follow the program.

In-booth signing with Candace Ganger
2:30-3:30pm
McCormick Place | Booth #2714

Candace Ganger will sign complimentary advance readers copies of her YA novel, THE INEVITABLE COLLISION OF BIRDIE & BASH.

AAP Children’s & Teen Author Speed Dating with Elise Gravel
3:00-4:00pm
McCormick Place | Room S103
RSVP required, space is limited

Join Elise Gravel (IF FOUND… PLEASE RETURN TO ELISE GRAVEL) and 35 other authors in a lightning round speed-dating event, brought to you by the AAP Children’s Library Marketing Committee.

Contact Tina Jordan (tjordan@publishers.org) to be added to the wait-list or inquire about on-site availability. Table numbers will be issued at the event.
readmoreremove

ALA Annual 2017 – Friday Events

It’s opening day at ALA Annual in Chicago!

Come by the Macmillan Adult (Griffin Teen, Flatiron Books YA, Wednesday Books) booth #2714 for some great giveaways and meet librarian Annie Spence starting at 5:30pm as she signs free advance readers copies of her book, DEAR FAHRENHEIT 451: Love and Heartbreak in the Stacks, just for YOU!

One of the #ALALeftBehind? No worries! Follow the action on Twitter via #alaac17.

Teen Talk Tuesday (6/20/17 Edition)

ewgcya-june2017Happy #ewgcya day, YA librarians! Great news: CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber and WONDERFUL FEELS LIKE THIS by Sara Lövestam are nominated for YALSA’s 2018 Best Fiction for Young Adults list!

Check out our latest & greatest teen titles out this month, then join us today at 4pm EST for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya) and tell us what you’ve been reading and loving.

AFTERCARE INSTRUCTIONS by Bonnie Pipkin
Ages 12 to 18
In the tradition of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell comes a “sensitive and big-hearted”* debut novel of furious friendship, crazy love, and unexpected hope after a teen’s decision to end an unwanted pregnancy. “Genesis’s conflicted relationships with her mother, grandparents, and friends are as engrossing as her breakup with Peter, and her story packs a big emotional punch.” — *Publishers Weekly

I AM A SECRET SERVICE AGENT by Dan Emmett
Ages 8 to 18
Adapted from WITHIN ARM’S LENGTH for a young adult audience, a rare inside look at the Secret Service from an agent who protected Presidents George H. W. Bush, Bill Clinton, and George W. Bush. “Readers will admire Emmett’s discipline, commitment, physical strength, and endurance, as well as his understatement and dry humor.” — Publishers Weekly

KITARO AND THE GREAT TANUKI WAR by Shigeru Mizuki
Ages 8 & up
Kitaro faces off against a swamp monster, a paper screen come to life, and an army of mythical raccoon dogs in this graphic novel. readmoreremove

See you in Chicago!

Our bags are packed & we’re off to the Windy City for ALA Annual! We’ll see you in booth #2714 & at our many events.
Safe travels!

Talia

Friday Reads: Romance

We’re swooning over these romantic #FridayReads:

THE MAP THAT LEADS TO YOU by J.P. Monninger
College graduate Heather is traveling around Europe with her two best friends, enjoying her last summer of freedom, when she meets Jack, an enigmatic Vermonter who is following his grandfather’s journal to various cities around Europe. As forces are bringing Jack and Heather together, life and duty are pushing them apart. And Jack has a secret that is going to change absolutely everything. “Monninger’s debut novel will strike a chord with fans of Nicholas Sparks’ sweeping and sentimental tales.” — Booklist

THE IDEA OF YOU by Robinne Lee
When Solène Marchand takes her 12-year-old daughter to a concert by the hottest boy band on the planet, she doesn’t expect to fall in love with one of the singers. “Actress Lee, who appeared in Fifty Shades Darker, debuts with a beautifully written novel that explores sex, love, romance, and fantasy in moving, insightful ways while also examining a woman’s struggle with aging and sexism, with a nod at the tension between celebrity and privacy. A fascinating, thought-provoking, genre-bending romantic read.” — Kirkus Reviews readmoreremove

Tracy K. Smith Named New Poet Laureate

Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Tracy K. Smith has been appointed the new Poet Laureate of the United States, with her tenure beginning this September.

 

LIFE ON MARS
Winner of the 2012 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry
 9781555975845

 

DUENDE
Winner of the James Laughlin Award of the Academy of American Poets
9781555974756

 

THE BODY’S QUESTION
Winner of the 2002 Cave Canem Poetry Prize
9781555973919

 

COMING IN WINTER 2018
WADE IN THE WATER
First new book since NBA Finalist memoir, Ordinary Light
 9781555978136

Thriller Thursday (6/15/17 Edition)

Summer’s heating up with these new mysteries:

THE FORGOTTEN GIRL by Rio Youers
Two starred reviews! “Canadian author Youers makes his U.S. debut with a paranormal thriller distinguished by subtle characterizations and emotionally evocative prose. Harvey’s compelling, moving search for Sally and the truth offers everything that fans of intelligent suspense could wish for.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE LAST PLACE YOU LOOK by Kristen Lepionka
Two starred reviews! Kinsey Millhone meets Serial in this debut about an allegedly closed case and a tenacious, troubled private investigator who doesn’t know when to quit. “This is a remarkably accomplished debut mystery, with sensitive character development and a heart-stopping denouement. Let’s hope there are more Roxane Weary novels on the way.” — Booklist, starred review

KNIFE CREEK by Paul Doiron
In this new edge-of-your-seat thriller from Edgar finalist and LibraryReads author Paul Doiron, Mike Bowditch delves into a long buried investigation to uncover a dangerous secret. “This solid eighth entry in the Mike Bowditch series, following WIDOWMAKER, is full of strong characters, great dialogue, and Doiron’s signature command of the rugged and natural Maine setting.” — Booklist

THE MENTOR by Lee Matthew Goldberg
Cape Fear meets Wonder Boys in this story of a book editor and his mentor as past secrets and a depraved manuscript dangerously entangle their lives. “Goldberg’s novel is…gripping. Like the Bret Easton Ellis novel it resembles, it succeeds as sharp and bitter satire—in this case, of the publishing industry and the sensationalism and barbarity that consumers crave.” — Kirkus Reviews readmoreremove

css.php