YA Spotlight (9/27/21)

This YA Spotlight is on the start of a new series about love, curses, deathly kisses, and the lengths people will go for happily ever after. ONCE UPON A BROKEN HEART is a story about love, but not a love story, that follows Evangeline Fox as she learns that the love of her life is […]

Read More…

Genre Friday: Romance (9/24/21)

Love is in the air this Friday with the start to a Regency series about two feuding families, a charming and emotional love story about best friends, the final book in a sexy cowboy trilogy, and a YA rom com that takes a leap of faith into forgiveness and first love. A RECKLESS MATCH by […]

Read More…

World War II Spotlight (9/22/21)

Today we have two stories of love and survival in World War II with a little-known chapter of a family’s inspiring history + a novel of one woman’s return to Occupied Berlin to face the past and find an unexpected future. INTO THE FOREST: A Holocaust Story of Survival, Triumph, and Love by Rebecca Frankel […]

Read More…

Author Spotlight: Hank Phillippi Ryan (9/21/21)

Bestselling and Agatha Award-winning author Hank Phillippi Ryan asks readers how much would you risk to keep a perfect life in her most personal standalone thriller yet. HER PERFECT LIFE explores fame, fortune, perfection, and one life-changing secret with the story of a beloved television reporter who starts to believe someone is determined to destroy […]

Read More…

Author Spotlight: Alice Feeney (9/15/21)

Writer, journalist, New York Times bestseller, and queen of the twist Alice Feeney brings another page-turning psychological suspense that asks, do you really know the person you married? ROCK PAPER SCISSORS takes readers into ten years of marriage and ten years of secrets with Adam and Amelia Wright as they celebrate an anniversary that they […]

Read More…

Mystery Series Spotlight (9/14/21)

Today we’re diving into mystery series with the extraordinary second book in the Two Rivers series and the 53rd adventure of a beloved homicide detective. THE HERON’S CRY: A Detective Matthew Venn Novel by Ann Cleeves 2 starred reviews! “Fans of Cleeves’s Vera Stanhope and Shetland mysteries will be eager for her latest novel, where […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (9/8/21)

The start of the #MeToo movement + an essential book of thought and culture + essays on race and power = this nonfiction round-up. UNBOUND: My Story of Liberation and the Birth of the Me Too Movement by Tarana Burke 3 starred reviews! “An unforgettable page-turner of a life story rendered with endless grace and […]

Read More…

Author Spotlight: Sally Rooney (9/7/21)

CONVERSATIONS WITH FRIENDS and NORMAL PEOPLE author Sally Rooney excels at making everyday life enthralling, sharp, and full of intensity. BEAUTIFUL WORLD, WHERE ARE YOU follows four friends through ups and downs as they learn about friendship and look to the future. BEAUTIFUL WORLD, WHERE ARE YOU 4 starred reviews and an Indie Next pick! […]

Read More…

Author Spotlight: Alice McDermott (8/25/21)

Today we are spotlighting bestselling expert author Alice McDermott as she takes a deep dive into writing. WHAT ABOUT THE BABY? is a collection of essays and observations on the art of writing fiction. WHAT ABOUT THE BABY?: Some Thoughts on the Art of Fiction “With style and wit, novelist McDermott (THE NINTH HOUR) offers […]

Read More…

Kirkus’ Must-Read Fiction for Fall 2021

Kirkus Reviews has picked their 19 Must-Read Fiction Books for Fall 2021, and we have four titles on the list! BEAUTIFUL WORLD, WHERE ARE YOU by Sally RooneyCROSSROADS by Jonathan FranzenFIGHT NIGHT by Miriam ToewsTODAY A WOMAN WENT MAD IN THE SUPERMARKET: Stories by Hilma Wolitzer […]

Read More…

css.php