Thriller Thursday (9/16/21)

A serial killer hiding aboard a stranded cruise ship + a missing girl in NYC + a modern-day courtroom drama about wartime heroics = this thriller Thursday! THE STOWAWAY by James S. Murray and Darren Wearmouth “This is a really good thriller, claustrophobic and creepy and fast-paced. The authors are clearly having some fun with […]

Read More…

Mystery Series Spotlight (9/14/21)

Today we’re diving into mystery series with the extraordinary second book in the Two Rivers series and the 53rd adventure of a beloved homicide detective. THE HERON’S CRY: A Detective Matthew Venn Novel by Ann Cleeves 2 starred reviews! “Fans of Cleeves’s Vera Stanhope and Shetland mysteries will be eager for her latest novel, where […]

Read More…

Author Spotlight: Liane Moriarty (9/13/21)

Liane Moriarty, #1 New York Times bestselling author, always shocks readers with her mystery, twists, and domestic dysfunction. Moriarty’s latest, APPLES NEVER FALL, brings all that and more as she dives into marriage, sibling rivalry, tennis, and the lies we tell ourselves in this irresistible and gripping tale of the Delaney family. APPLES NEVER FALL […]

Read More…

Genre Friday: Horror (9/10/21)

Get your screams ready for this horror-filled Friday, we are spotlighting a twisty boarded-up house on a dead-end street, a pulse-pounding oasis of vampires and criminals, and a tale of dark magic and devilish mystery. THE LAST HOUSE ON NEEDLESS STREET by Catriona Ward 2 starred reviews, a LibraryReads pick, and an Indie Next pick! […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (9/8/21)

The start of the #MeToo movement + an essential book of thought and culture + essays on race and power = this nonfiction round-up. UNBOUND: My Story of Liberation and the Birth of the Me Too Movement by Tarana Burke 3 starred reviews! “An unforgettable page-turner of a life story rendered with endless grace and […]

Read More…

Author Spotlight: Sally Rooney (9/7/21)

CONVERSATIONS WITH FRIENDS and NORMAL PEOPLE author Sally Rooney excels at making everyday life enthralling, sharp, and full of intensity. BEAUTIFUL WORLD, WHERE ARE YOU follows four friends through ups and downs as they learn about friendship and look to the future. BEAUTIFUL WORLD, WHERE ARE YOU 4 starred reviews and an Indie Next pick! […]

Read More…

Author Spotlight: TJ Klune (9/2/21)

TJ Klune warmed hearts everywhere with his fantastical novel THE HOUSE IN THE CERULEAN SEA. UNDER THE WHISPERING DOOR puts a delightful and uplifting spin on death and ghosts with hot tea, fresh scones, a ghost who refuses to cross over, and love in the most unexpected of places. UNDER THE WHISPERING DOOR A #1 […]

Read More…

Author Spotlight: Alice McDermott (8/25/21)

Today we are spotlighting bestselling expert author Alice McDermott as she takes a deep dive into writing. WHAT ABOUT THE BABY? is a collection of essays and observations on the art of writing fiction. WHAT ABOUT THE BABY?: Some Thoughts on the Art of Fiction “With style and wit, novelist McDermott (THE NINTH HOUR) offers […]

Read More…

Author Spotlight: Louise Penny (8/24/21)

Chief Inspector Armand Gamache has taken readers along for the ride for 16 bestselling and award-winning adventures. In this 17th spellbinding novel, Gamache returns to Three Pines as the New Year approaches, but his family holiday is interrupted by what seems to be a simple request. THE MADNESS OF CROWDS 3 starred reviews! “Seamlessly integrating […]

Read More…

LJ’s Best Summer/Fall 2021 Debuts

Library Journal‘s Best Summer/Fall 2021 Debuts includes three Macmillan titles! HELLO, TRANSCRIBER by Hannah MorrisseyISBN 9781250795953 | on sale 11/30/21 “Former police transcriber Morrissey brings her expertise to this suspenseful debut. The story of an introverted, troubled woman, isolated in a bleak small town, will appeal to fans of Jess Lourey’s atmospheric books.”–Library Journal, starred […]

Read More…

css.php