Articles tagged "starred reviews"

Happy #PubDay and Women 2020 (1/21/20)

It’s #PubDay, and we have some strong women to spotlight: the raw journey of a woman and her son fleeing from Mexico to America + four women across generations living through slavery and racism.

AMERICAN DIRT by Jeanine Cummins

A January LibraryReads pick, a February Indie Next List pick, and four starred reviews!

“This extraordinary novel about unbreakable determination will move the reader to the core.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Intensely suspenseful and deeply humane, this novel makes migrants seeking to cross the southern U.S. border indelibly individual.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“AMERICAN DIRT may be the don’t-miss book of 2020.”–Booklist, starred review

“Here, it’s the journey rather than the arrival on American dirt that counts, and readers will wonder whether they could ever have survived such a trek even as they realize that this could happen to them. An important book.”–Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove

Starred Review Round-Up (1/3/20)

These forthcoming titles all received multiple starred reviews! Check ’em out for your #FridayReads.

AN EVERYDAY HERO by Laura Trentham

“Fans of Mary Kay Andrews’ novels and Matthew Quick’s THE REASON YOU’RE ALIVE (2017) will enjoy this patriotic and heartwarming story of ambition, identity, and regained potential.”–Booklist, starred review

“By turns heartwarming and heartbreaking, this story will grip readers from start to finish.“–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE UNSPOKEN NAME by A. K. Larkwood

“Larkwood spins an imaginative story of love, sacrifice, and betrayal that traverses worlds in this phenomenal debut.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Lushly detailed with incredible worldbuilding, Larkwood’s debut is a singular take on orcish fantasy, filled with fierce fighting and magic.”–Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (12/05/19)

A Victorian detective on the hunt for a missing Oxford academic + a factory mystery with murder and a bad-tempered donkey + Teddy Roosevelt’s near death assassination or accident? + a private investigator hired by the number one suspect + a thriller author on the run in Alaska + a gripping murder case in an isolated New England town = this week’s #ThrillerThursday!

LAETITIA RODD AND THE CASE OF THE WANDERING SCHOLAR by Kate Saunders

2 starred reviews!

“[Saunders] is marvelous at working in what life was like in 1851 England through telling details…Throughout it all, Laetitia, practical and canny, makes a marvelous companion.”–Booklist, starred review

“Saunders’s exquisite prose and patient storytelling build a convincing Victorian voice, while Mrs. Rodd’s shrewd, energetic narration adds further appeal to the rich depiction of 19th-century landscapes and attitudes.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Happy #PubDay (12/03/19)

Astronauts exploring an otherworldly environment, the loves of our lives and the joys of reminiscing, and the US struggling to survive a world war with China–all in today’s #PubDay party.

DEAD ASTRONAUTS by Jeff VanderMeer

2 starred reviews and a December Indie Next List pick!

“Highly recommended for those interested in sf invested in ecological concerns and speculative fiction that plays with narrative form. New readers will want to read BORNE before diving in to its multi-dimensional sequel.”–Booklist, starred review

“VanderMeer is a master of literary science fiction, and this may be his best book yet.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Nonfiction Round-Up (11/27/19)

One of America’s greatest poets/rappers, a recreation of the best stage roles and personal life of a favorite actor, and the four-decade friendship that helped make two revolutions and nations– all in today’s nonfiction round-up.

JAY-Z: Made in America by Michael Eric Dyson

Two starred reviews!

“This is more than a hip-hop bio; Dyson is giving us something larger, and we are sitting in a classroom under the spell of a captivating teacher.”–Library Journal, starred review

“Dyson’s excellent study serves as a succinct blueprint of Jay-Z’s artistry and legacy.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Series Spotlight: CHRONICLES OF THE ONE by Nora Roberts

In a post-apocalyptic world where everything we know has crumbled, a group of survivors embarks on a journey to unite them in the battle of their lives. In the conclusion to CHRONICLES OF THE ONE, Fallon Swift will use her life knowledge of magick. She has succeeded in rescuing countless shifters, elves, and humans from the Doom’s destruction of civilization, and now she must help them heal.

THE RISE OF MAGICKS: Book 3

“Roberts’ magnificent trilogy concludes with another title that perfectly balances magic, adventure, romance, and steely resolve in the battle of good vs. evil while reminding us that while the battles may save us, it’s the home, hearth, and community which sustain us. Brilliant and inspiring.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

OF BLOOD AND BONE: Book 2

A December 2018 Indie Next pick!

“Though it’s the middle book in a planned trilogy, this can be read on its own and will appeal to fans of fast-paced dystopian tales with a strong heroine.”–Publishers Weekly

YEAR ONE: Book 1

2 starred reviews and a December 2017 Indie Next pick!

“Roberts’s full step into a modern fantasy series is long overdue. Fascinating characters and a well-built dystopia combine with a riveting plot that will attract a whole new group of readers.“–Library Journal, starred review

“A fast-paced, mesmerizing, and thought-provoking novel that will no doubt add to Roberts’ legions of fans.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Four Stars for AMERICAN DIRT!

Jeanine Cummins’ immigration saga AMERICAN DIRT–the splashiest book of 2020 so far–now has FOUR starred reviews!

“As the quartet travel, they face terror on a constant basis, with danger possible from any encounter, but also compassion and occasionally even wonder. This extraordinary novel about unbreakable determination will move the reader to the core.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Beautiful, straightforward language drives home the point that migration to safer places is not a political issue but a human one. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: With a story line sure to be much discussed this election year—plus a film in the works—AMERICAN DIRT may be the don’t-miss book of 2020.”–Booklist, starred review

Intensely suspenseful and deeply humane, this novel makes migrants seeking to cross the southern U.S. border indelibly individual.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Here, it’s the journey rather than the arrival on American dirt that counts, and readers will wonder whether they could ever have survived such a trek even as they realize that this could happen to them. An important book.”–Library Journal, starred review

Three Stars for SICK KIDS IN LOVE

Hannah Moskowitz’s contemporary YA romance, SICK KIDS IN LOVE, has received THREE STARRED REVIEWS!

“As aspects of modern culture blend with timeless themes, Moskowitz’s latest boasts a staying power that should secure it a place in every teen collection.” —Booklist, starred review

“Moskowitz does a splendid job of showing what the world looks like to the chronically but invisibly ill . . . A highly recommended work that’s thoughtful, funny, wise, and tender.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Following the teens through relationship issues and health challenges makes for touching reading. Most refreshing is Moskowitz’s ability to take up real issues connected to chronic illness without insisting that the kids who have them be either heroes or martyrs.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Nonfiction Round-Up (11/06/19)

A graphic memoir + a female Navy pilot + an Ohio Senator’s previous desk occupants + historical cooperation between the US and Russia + Pope Francis + RBG’s life & career + elephants! + a chess grandmaster + a history of Thanksgiving + how to draw & write your own story = today’s nonfiction round-up!

THE ARAB OF THE FUTURE 4: A Graphic Memoir of a Childhood in the Middle East by Riad Sattouf

2 starred reviews!

“Sattouf depicts the disappointments and uncertainties of growing up in a unique multicultural world in a way that’s sometimes tense, sometimes humorous, and always brilliant.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A must for most collections, especially those with the previous books in the series.”–Library Journal, starred review

JET GIRL: My Life in War, Peace, and the Cockpit of the Navy’s Most Lethal Aircraft, the F/A-19 Super Hornet by Caroline Johnson

“A realistic look at a difficult, dangerous profession.”–Kirkus Reviews

readmoreremove

Author Spotlight: Carmen Maria Machado + IN THE DREAM HOUSE

IN THE DREAM HOUSE is Carmen Maria Machado’s engrossing and wildly innovative account of a relationship gone bad, and a bold dissection of the mechanisms and cultural representations of psychological abuse. Tracing the full arc of a harrowing relationship with a charismatic but volatile woman, Machado struggles to make sense of how what happened to her shaped the person she was becoming.

A Carnegie Award longlister + #1 November Indie Next pick + a Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2019 + 3 starred reviews!

“A fiercely honest, imaginatively written, and necessary memoir from one our great young writers.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Highly recommended to fans of Machado’s fiction and to anyone interested in LGBTQ memoir, domestic abuse, or chilling and precise examinations of human relationships at their worst.”–Booklist, starred review

“Machado has written an affecting, chilling memoir about domestic abuse.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Carmen Maria Machado is the author of HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES, which was a finalist for the National Book Award and winner of the National Book Critics Circle’s John Leonard Prize.

Check out NPR’s interview with the author.

css.php