Starred Review Round-Up (2/20/20)

We’re seeing stars! These titles all received multiple starred reviews: SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS by Kawai Strong Washburn “Striking style, memorable characters, and a believably miraculous premise add up to a beautifully crafted first novel.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review “A more than noteworthy first foray into contemporary fiction by Hawaiian native Washburn.”–Library Journal, starred […]

Read More…

New E-galleys for January 2020

Hello e-galley readers! Check out some of the exciting e-galleys that were added to Edelweiss last month for your downloading pleasure: THE UNWILLING by John Hart Set in the South at the height of the Vietnam War, THE UNWILLING combines crime, suspense, and searing glimpses into the human mind and soul. ONCE YOU GO THIS […]

Read More…

ALA MW 2020 Book Buzz Theater Recap (1/26/20)

Don’t let #ALALeftBehind get you down! If you weren’t able to come to our title presentation during ALA Midwinter 2020 last week, here are all the exciting forthcoming Adult + YA titles we talked about! Adult LUSTER by Raven Leilani | 8/4/20 | 9780374194321 | HCTHE BOOK OF V. by Anna Solomon| 5/5/20 | 9781250257017 […]

Read More…

Free Library of Philadelphia Book Buzz Recap (1/23/20)

This past week took us to the City of Brotherly Love for ALA Midwinter 2020! While we were there, we had the pleasure of buzzing about these upcoming Adult + YA titles: ADULT LUSTER by Raven Leilani | 8/4/20 | 9780374194321 | HC THE BOOK OF V. by Anna Solomon | 5/5/20 | 9781250257017 | […]

Read More…

For Your Consideration: January 2020 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite January titles for the January 2020 LibraryReads list! Votes due December 1! AMERICAN DIRT by Jeanine Cummins Email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “AMERICAN DIRT” to request a print ARC. 2 starred reviews! “Beautiful, straightforward language drives home the point that migration to safer places is not a […]

Read More…

Booklist’s 2019 Great Group Reads

Booklist’s 2019 Great Group Reads

Yara Zgheib’s THE GIRLS AT 17 SWANN STREET is among Booklist and the Women’s National Book Association’s favorite book club reads of the year! THE GIRLS AT 17 SWANN STREET by Yara Zgheib A February 2019 Indie Next pick + LibraryReads pick + Library Journal Best Debut! A haunting portrait of a young woman’s struggle […]

Read More…

Library Journal “Day of Dialog”–Cambridge, Book Buzz (10/3/19)

For anyone who missed our title presentation during Library Journal‘s “Day of Dialog”–Cambridge, here’s the list: A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Anne Fowler | February 4, 2020 | 9781250237279 THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER by Andy Davidson | February 11, 2020 | 9780374538552 THE MIRROR & THE LIGHT by Hilary Mantel | March 10, 2020 | 9780805096606 […]

Read More…

Forthcoming #FridayReads: SAINT X

Forthcoming #FridayReads: SAINT X

Today’s #FridayReads spotlight features Alexis Schaitkin’s psychological drama debut that explores grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters–welcome to SAINT X. At the beginning of SAINT X, we meet a family on a luxury vacation in the Caribbean–there’s one 18 year old daughter and one just seven years old. One night the older daughter […]

Read More…

Adult Books for Teens

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may have been published for adults, but Booklist says they’re perfect for teens—and we agree! DOMINICANA by Angie CruzIn the vein of ANOTHER BROOKLYN and AMERICANAH, DOMINICANA is a novel about a Dominican teenager’s arranged marriage and immigration to New York City, set in the 1960s and inspired by the author’s mother. “YAs […]

Read More…

For Your Consideration: December 2019 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: December 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite December titles for the December 2019 LibraryReads list! Votes due November 1! DEAD ASTRONAUTS by Jeff VanderMeer “VanderMeer is a master of literary science fiction, and this may be his best book yet.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review THIN ICE by Paige Shelton “Readers are left wondering up to the […]

Read More…

css.php