Maximum Shelf: THE SECOND HOME (1/6/20)

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Christina Clancy’s debut novel of family, nostalgia, and second chances, THE SECOND HOME. After a disastrous summer spent at her family summer home on Cape Cod, seventeen-year-old Ann Gordon was left with a secret that changed her life forever, and created a rift between her sister, Poppy, and their adopted […]

Read More…

Day’s YA – JANE ANONYMOUS

Day’s YA – JANE ANONYMOUS

Happy Friday, YA pals! My last Day’s YA of 2019 is a dark thriller that will keep you awake until 2020. JANE ANONYMOUS by Laurie Faria Stolarz9781250303707Available January 7, 2020 from Wednesday BooksAges 13-18Available to download as an e-galley on Edelweiss “Jane” (we don’t know her real name) was kidnapped the summer before her senior […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: SAINT X (11/6/19)

Maximum Shelf: SAINT X (11/6/19)

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Alexis Schaitkin’s debut, SAINT X–a haunting portrait of grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters. Claire is only seven years old when her college-age sister, Alison, disappears on the last night of their family vacation at a resort on the Caribbean island of Saint X. Several days later, Alison’s […]

Read More…

Adult Books for Teens

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may look like they’re for adults, but they’re also perfect for teen readers! HERE WE ARE by Aarti Namdev ShahaniHERE WE ARE is a heart-wrenching memoir about an immigrant family’s American Dream, the justice system that took it away, and the daughter who fought to get it back, from NPR correspondent Aarti Namdev […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS (10/17/19)

Maximum Shelf: THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS (10/17/19)

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Jennifer Rosner’s breathtaking WWII mother/daughter story, THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS. As Nazi soldiers round up the Jews in their town, Róza and her 5-year-old daughter, Shira, flee, seeking shelter in a neighbor’s barn. Hidden in the hayloft day and night, Shira struggles to stay still and quiet, as music pulses […]

Read More…

Adult Books for Teens

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may have been published for adults, but Booklist says they’re perfect for teens—and we agree! DOMINICANA by Angie CruzIn the vein of ANOTHER BROOKLYN and AMERICANAH, DOMINICANA is a novel about a Dominican teenager’s arranged marriage and immigration to New York City, set in the 1960s and inspired by the author’s mother. “YAs […]

Read More…

Forthcoming #FridayReads: AMERICAN DIRT

Forthcoming #FridayReads: AMERICAN DIRT

Jeanine Cummins’ AMERICAN DIRT has been making major waves in the publishing world for months now, and y’all, seriously, this is THE book of Winter 2020. In the opening scene, a mother and her 8-year-old son are hiding in the bathroom as their entire family is gunned down by the local cartel during a BBQ […]

Read More…

Adult Books for Teens

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may have been published for adults, but Booklist has deemed them to be perfect for teens—and we agree! GODS WITH A LITTLE G by Tupelo HassmanFrom the acclaimed author of GIRLCHILD, this gritty, irreverent novel sees a young misfit grow into hope. “GIRLCHILD won an Alex Award, and this novel is no less […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: THE FURIES

Maximum Shelf: THE FURIES

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Katie Lowe’s debut novel, THE FURIES, a page-turning, harrowing story of a girl trying to fit in, whose obsessive new friends and desperation to belong leads her to places she’d never imagined…dark, dangerous, and possibly even violent. In 1998, a sixteen-year-old girl is found dead. She’s posed on a swing […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD

Maximum Shelf: A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Therese Anne Fowler’s exploration of class, race, and heartrending star-crossed love, A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD. For fans of Celeste Ng and Jodi Picoult comes a stunning page-turner about two very different families living side by side in an idyllic neighborhood–and the summer that changes their lives forever. In Oak Knoll, a […]

Read More…

css.php