Adult Books for Teens

This month’s roundup of Adult Books for Teens includes a CIA memoir, an epic fantasy, an historical look at the 1938 Cote d’Azur, and a western featuring queer librarian spies on horseback. UPRIGHT WOMEN WANTED by Sarah Gailey97812502135872/4/2020 Award-winning author Sarah Gailey reinvents the pulp Western with an explicitly antifascist, near-future story of queer identity. […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: HOLLYWOOD PARK (2/13/20)

Today’s Shelf Awareness Maximum Shelf pick is Mikel Jollett’s remarkable memoir of a tumultuous life, HOLLYWOOD PARK. His story opens in an experimental commune in California, which later morphed into the Church of Synanon, one of the country’s most infamous and dangerous cults. Per the leader’s mandate, all children, including Jollett and his older brother, […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: MIGRATIONS

Today’s Shelf Awareness Maximum Shelf pick is Charlotte McConaghy’s urgent and moving U.S. debut, MIGRATIONS. Franny Stone has always been a wanderer. By following the ocean’s tides and the birds that soar above, she can forget the losses that have haunted her life. But when the wild she so loves begins to disappear, Franny can […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: THE BOOK OF V.

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Anna Solomon’s bold, kaleidoscopic novel intertwining the lives of three women across three centuries, THE BOOK OF V. Lily is a mother and a daughter. And a second wife. And a writer, maybe? Or she was going to be, before she had children. Now, in her rented Brooklyn apartment she’s […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: THE SECOND HOME (1/6/20)

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Christina Clancy’s debut novel of family, nostalgia, and second chances, THE SECOND HOME. After a disastrous summer spent at her family summer home on Cape Cod, seventeen-year-old Ann Gordon was left with a secret that changed her life forever, and created a rift between her sister, Poppy, and their adopted […]

Read More…

Day’s YA – JANE ANONYMOUS

Happy Friday, YA pals! My last Day’s YA of 2019 is a dark thriller that will keep you awake until 2020. JANE ANONYMOUS by Laurie Faria Stolarz9781250303707Available January 7, 2020 from Wednesday BooksAges 13-18Available to download as an e-galley on Edelweiss “Jane” (we don’t know her real name) was kidnapped the summer before her senior […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: SAINT X (11/6/19)

Maximum Shelf: SAINT X (11/6/19)

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Alexis Schaitkin’s debut, SAINT X–a haunting portrait of grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters. Claire is only seven years old when her college-age sister, Alison, disappears on the last night of their family vacation at a resort on the Caribbean island of Saint X. Several days later, Alison’s […]

Read More…

Adult Books for Teens

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may look like they’re for adults, but they’re also perfect for teen readers! HERE WE ARE by Aarti Namdev ShahaniHERE WE ARE is a heart-wrenching memoir about an immigrant family’s American Dream, the justice system that took it away, and the daughter who fought to get it back, from NPR correspondent Aarti Namdev […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS (10/17/19)

Maximum Shelf: THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS (10/17/19)

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Jennifer Rosner’s breathtaking WWII mother/daughter story, THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS. As Nazi soldiers round up the Jews in their town, Róza and her 5-year-old daughter, Shira, flee, seeking shelter in a neighbor’s barn. Hidden in the hayloft day and night, Shira struggles to stay still and quiet, as music pulses […]

Read More…

Adult Books for Teens

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may have been published for adults, but Booklist says they’re perfect for teens—and we agree! DOMINICANA by Angie CruzIn the vein of ANOTHER BROOKLYN and AMERICANAH, DOMINICANA is a novel about a Dominican teenager’s arranged marriage and immigration to New York City, set in the 1960s and inspired by the author’s mother. “YAs […]

Read More…

css.php