Extra! Extra!: June Book News

Here are the headlines you may have missed this month. Amazon Studios has acquired worldwide rights to an untitled voting rights documentary for Story Syndicate centering on insights from politician, lawyer and author Stacey Abrams. ‘The Crown’ producer is adapting bestselling Inspector Gamache series for Amazon Alice Feeney’s HIS & HERS is in the works […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: PIRANESI (6/24/20)

Today’s Shelf Awareness Maximum Shelf pick is Susanna Clarke’s intoxicating, hypnotic new novel, PIRANESI. Piranesi’s house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder […]

Read More…

Extra! Extra!: May Book News

Here are the headlines you may have missed this month. The New York Times reviews PHILOSOPHER OF THE HEART + THE CELESTIAL HUNTER + A HIGH FIVE FOR GLENN BURKE + PELOSI + THE BOOK OF V. + THE HILARIOUS WORLD OF DEPRESSION NPR reviews NETWORK EFFECT; Fresh Air interviews John Moe [THE HILARIOUS WORLD […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: PARIS NEVER LEAVES YOU (4/8/20)

Today’s Shelf Awareness Maximum Shelf pick is Ellen Feldman’s historical novel of survival, morality, and reckoning with the past, PARIS NEVER LEAVES YOU. Charlotte is a survivor. She lived through WWII in Paris, working in a bookstore under the watchful eye of the Nazis. Now she and her daughter, Vivi, are safely settled on the […]

Read More…

Adult Books for Teens

THIS MONTH’S ROUNDUP OF ADULT BOOKS FOR TEENS INCLUDES AN IMMERSIVE COMING-OF-AGE STORY, A DEBUT SCI-FI FROM A FORMER NFL PLAYER, AND A GUIDE TO SELF-AWARENESS FROM FROM A BELOVED OB-GYN. A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Anne Fowler97812502372793/10/20 For fans of Celeste Ng and Jodi Picoult, a stunning page-turner about two very different families living […]

Read More…

Genre For All Spotlight: THE SHADOWS

Stranger Things meets Stephen King’s THE OUTSIDER? Count me in! Let’s talk Alex North’s deliciously creepy new thriller, THE SHADOWS. Last year, we were all obsessed with Alex North’s THE WHISPER MAN (PW Best Book of Summer 2019! 2 starred reviews! Indie Next pick! LibraryReads pick!). In THE SHADOWS, North offers another terrifying supernatural thriller […]

Read More…

Genre For All/Forthcoming #FridayReads Spotlight: THE SWITCH

In today’s Genre For All/Forthcoming #FridayReads mashup, I am thrilled to share my feel-good pick of the year, Beth O’Leary’s THE SWITCH. Last year, Beth O’Leary burst onto the scene with her debut THE FLATSHARE, which was just. So. Friggin’. Good! It earned multiple starred reviews, was RUSA’s Romance Reading List winner, a LibraryReads pick […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: DEAR CHILD (3/25/20)

Today’s Shelf Awareness Maximum Shelf pick is Romy Hausmann’s English language debut, a page-turning, internationally bestselling thriller that is GONE GIRL meets ROOM: DEAR CHILD. In a windowless shack in the woods, Lena and her two children live a life that follows the rules set by their captor, the father: Meals, bathroom visits, study time […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: THE MIRROR & THE LIGHT (3/18/20)

Today’s Shelf Awareness Maximum Shelf pick is the epic conclusion to Hilary Mantel’s Wolf Hall trilogy, THE MIRROR & THE LIGHT. With THE MIRROR & THE LIGHT, Hilary Mantel brings to a triumphant close the trilogy she began with her peerless, Booker Prize-winning novels, WOLF HALL and BRING UP THE BODIES. She traces the final […]

Read More…

Genre For All: THE HOUSE IN THE CERULEAN SEA

It is never too late to find yourself in the most unexpected places…  Hello genre lovers! Samantha Slavin here with a Genre For All exclusive review of TJ Klune’s THE HOUSE IN THE CERULEAN SEA— a charming, quirky, heartwarming, romantic fantasy about choosing your family, celebrating differences, and never settling when it comes to your […]

Read More…

css.php