Reviews and Publicity

Friday Reads: Graphic Novels

TGIF! Today’s #FridayReads are three great graphic novels:

POPPIES OF IRAQ by Brigitte Findakly & Lewis Trondheim
Findakly’s nuanced tender chronicle of her relationship with her homeland Iraq, co-written and drawn by her husband, acclaimed cartoonist Trondheim. “Small in size but large in impact, this intimate memoir is a highly relevant and compassionate story of family, community, prejudice, and the struggle to love when the forces of the world push groups apart.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

FROM LONE MOUNTAIN by John Porcellino
Porcellino shares his love of nature as he uproots his comfortable life and travels from small town to small town, experiencing America in slow motion road trip. “The rawness of Porcellino’s work, its unfiltered directness, is the essence of its charm.” — Los Angeles Times readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (9/21/17 Edition)

What’s tingling your spine this #ThrillerThursday? We’re reading:

MURDEROUS MISTRAL by Cay Rademacher
Two starred reviews! “Rademacher, short-listed for the Crime Writers’ Association International Dagger Award (for The Murderer in Ruins), has written a carefully plotted police procedural that vividly captures the landscape and scents of Provence while introducing Blanc and a small group of colleagues. VERDICT The police action and political connections will attract fans of Jeffrey Siger’s police novels set in Greece.” – Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

The 2017 National Book Awards Longlist: Fiction

HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES: Stories by Carmen Maria Machado has been longlisted for the 2017 National Book Award in Fiction!

Finalists for all awards will be announced on October 4 and the winners will be announced on November 15.

 

New Titles for Teens 9/20/17

I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by Gaby Dunn & Allison Raskin

“This contemporary coming-of-age story of two friends on opposite shores explores difficult topics in a relatable tone… Give to fans of Robin Talley’s What We Left Behind or Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl. VERDICT A first purchase for all libraries serving older teens.”School Library Journal, starred review

GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by Melissa Bashardoust

“Drawing from both Snow White and the Snow Queen, this beautifully wrought novel offers plenty of fairy-tale wonder, but Bashardoust resists the most common tropes; instead, she tells a story where women save each other with their own ingenuity, bravery, and love, and power and compassion can exist hand in hand. Compellingly flawed characters, vivid world-building, and pitch-perfect pacing make this utterly superb.”Booklist, starred review

BLACK BIRD OF THE GALLOWS by Meg Kassel

A dark psychological romance perfect for fans of Holly Black or Maggie Stiefvater, whose yet to be published sequel won the Golden Heart ® for Best Young Adult Romance.

POPPIES OF IRAQ by Brigitte Findakly + Lewis Trondheim

“An Iraqi childhood is cherished, examined, and let go in this tender look at youth amid upheaval… an ode to a lost era, to be sure, but one with its feet planted securely in the present.”Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

I CAPTURE THE CASTLE by Dodie Smith

A Wednesday Books reissue of one of the century’s most beloved novels, with a foreword by New York Times bestselling author, Jenny Han.

Belated #bookbday

Happiest of belated book birthdays to our new pals below!

Autonomous by Annalee Newitz

An October Indie Next Selection

“The cofounder of the sf website io9.com takes some of today’s key social and technical issues (the nature of artificial intelligence, the notion of property and ownership) and wraps them in a compelling, original story line acted out by memorable characters. VERDICT Lovers of original, thought-provoking sf should not miss this one.”–Library Journal, starred review

The Exact Nature of Our Wrongs by Janet Peery

An October Indie Next Selection

“Powerful… This is a potent and memorable novel.”–Publishers Weekly

The Ninth Hour by Alice McDermott

An October Indie Next Selection + 3 starred reviews!

“National Book Award winner McDermott (Someone) delivers an immense, brilliant novel about the limits of faith, the power of sacrifice, and the cost of forgiveness…”–Publishers Weekly, starred + boxed review

Risking It All  by Nina Darnton

“Fans of Jodi Picoult and Janelle Brown will enjoy this poignant and thought-provoking novel.” —Booklist

“Thoughtfully written and thoroughly engaging?a tale of compromise, tough decisions…and love.”–Kirkus Reviews

Booklist’s Top 10 SF / Fantasy

And you better take their word for it… ‘Cause it’s Booklist y’all, and they know a thing or two about a thing or two…

Borne by Jeff VanderMeer

VanderMeer marries bildungsroman, domestic drama, love story, and survival thriller into one compelling story centered around complex, vulnerable characters struggling with what it means to be human.

Down Among the Sticks and Bones by Seanan McGuire

McGuire pairs form with function in this spare story of two sisters who yearn for love, recognition, and belonging in ways that readers will readily identify with—chafing against rules as they long to break free of the expectations of others.

A Taste of Honey by Kai Ashante Wilson

Aqib bmg Sadiqi is expected to marry well and take over his father’s position as Master of Beasts, but when he falls in love with a visiting soldier, all bets are off.

Walkaway by Cory Doctorow

In a future where no one needs to work but the rich keep getting richer, the disenfranchised decide to simply walk away from modern life and start their own utopia.

 

 

The National Book Awards Longlist: Nonfiction

The National Book Awards Longlist: Nonfiction 

 

 

THE STOLEN MARRIAGE = October 2017 LibraryReads pick!

HUZZAH! THE STOLEN MARRIAGE by Diane Chamberlain is an October 2017 LibraryReads pick!

“Well-crafted crime-tinged tale…”–Publishers Weekly
“Combines the issue-driven style of Jodi Picoult, the romantic tension of Nora Roberts, and the life- defining-mistake motif of Amy Hatvany’s It Happens All the Time (2017).”–Booklist

#thrillerthursday 9/14

On this #thrillerthursday we’re enjoying our reads on the beach!

Beach, Breeze, Bloodshed by John Keyse-Walker

“Entertaining…Keyse-Walker effortlessly conveys the balmy charm of island life.”–Publishers Weekly

“An intriguing look at island life with a likable hero whom readers will want to get to know better.”–Booklist

Death at the Seaside by Frances Brody

“Tightly woven… Brody provides plenty of period flavor and just enough clues to point armchair sleuths to the solution.”–Publishers Weekly

“Sympathetic characters, especially the intelligent, independent Kate; a rich story told from multiple points of view; and a possible romantic interest for Kate in Chief Inspector Marcus Charles add to the interest. Those who enjoy historical mysteries like Kerry Greenwood’s Phryne Fisher series will want to take a look.”–Booklist

NBA Poetry Longlist

Next up from the National Book Awards is the poetry longlist:

Frank Bidart, Half-light: Collected Poems 1965-2016 
Layli Long Soldier, Whereas 
Danez Smith, Don’t Call Us Dead: Poems
Mai Der Vang, Afterland 

css.php