Reviews and Publicity

Library Journal Debut Spotlight – L. Penelope

L. Penelope, author of SONG OF BLOOD & STONE (available now from St. Martin’s Press), was interviewed in last month’s issue of Library Journal.

In the interview, Penelope discussed her writing process…

“I’m a plotter, but my road map is very loose and allows for plenty of detours along the way.”

…her favorite books from when she was a child…

“Growing up I read widely. My favorites ranged from Frances Hodgson Burnett’s THE SECRET GARDEN and A LITTLE PRINCESS to Virginia Hamilton’s ‘Justice Trilogy.'”

readmoreremove

Friday Reads: Fantasy

Our #FridayReads are three fantastic fantasies that will take you to exciting new worlds:

SONG OF BLOOD & STONE: Earthsinger Chronicles, Book One by L. Penelope
A Library Journal Spring 2018 Editors’ Pick with two starred reviews! The incredible first book in the Earthsinger series—a treacherous, thrilling, epic historical fantasy drawing on Native American and African mythologies about an outcast drawn into a war between two powerful rulers. “This debut…shines a bright light into epic fantasy. Battle-scarred lands and peoples, ancient powers at war, star-crossed loves and hints of racial and refugee themes give this a solid place on library shelves.” —Library Journal, starred review

DEATH DOESN’T BARGAIN by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Also available in audio
“It’s back to the ‘Deadmen’s Cross’ series as the perennial No. 1 New York Times best-selling Kenyon continues an epic new fantasy adventure. When demons punch their way out of supposedly eternal imprisonment, Hellchaser Cameron Jack must rescue Kalder Dupree from vengeful demon Vine, never mind that Kalder is not exactly Mr. Nice Guy.” Library Journal, pre-pub alert readmoreremove

Publishers Weekly Spotlight on Somaiya Daud

Somaiya Daud, author of MIRAGE (available August 28, 2018 from Flatiron Books and Macmillan Audio), was featured in Publishers Weekly earlier this month.

In the feature, Daud discusses the role that her Moroccan heritage plays in the novel, specifically the inspiration she found in Moroccan poet Laabi Abdellatif.

“‘I’d known that poetry could be and often was a form of dissent,’ Daud says, ‘but it took on new meaning as I wrote this novel because I was drawing so heavily on my Moroccan roots to shape the world.’ With the assistance of her mother and her aunt, Daud sought out and translated poems from Arabic-speaking women to include in the novel, bringing these works to an audience who likely would not have read them otherwise. For [the main character,] Amani, as her days as a prisoner in the imperial palace become increasingly bleak, the poems [in the novel] serve as ‘a light in the darkness.'”

Click here to read the full article.

Check out all of our 2018 Books for Teens here.

Happy #BookBday (5/15/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to two new novels starring women who overcome adversity:

HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center
A May 2018 Indie Next pick with two starred reviews! Margaret Jacobson has a bright future ahead of her, with a fiancé and a promising career, until an accident on what should be one of the happiest days of her life takes it all away. “A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

SO LUCKY by Nicola Griffith
The “affecting autobiographical novel”* of a confident woman forced to confront an unnerving new reality when in the space of a single week her wife leaves her and she is diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. “Anyone who’s ever struggled with medical adversity will be inspired.” — *Publishers Weekly

May 2018 Memoirs

What do a fire-eating woman and two comedians have in common? New memoirs out this month!

THE ELECTRIC WOMAN: A Memoir in Death-Defying Acts by Tessa Fontaine
A Spring 2018 Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers pick! A daughter’s astonishing memoir of pushing past fear, through life in a traveling sideshow and her mother’s illness. “This remarkable, beautifully written memoir explores the depth of mother-daughter love and the courageous acts of overcoming fear and accepting change.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

ROBIN by Dave Itzkoff
Also available in audio
From New York Times culture reporter Dave Itzkoff, the definitive biography of Robin Williams – a compelling portrait of one of America’s most beloved and misunderstood entertainers. “In this solidly reported and much-anticipated book, Itzkoff delivers a revealing portrait of the motivations of a quiet comic genius whose explosive persona moved millions.” — Kirkus Reviews readmoreremove

Happy Mother’s Day!

Our #FridayReads are the perfect way to kick off this Mother’s Day weekend:

MOTHERHOOD by Sheila Heti
A May 2018 Indie Next pick and one of PW’s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction picks with two starred reviews! “The subject of the new novel from Heti is neither birth nor child-rearing, but the question of whether to want a child, which the unnamed narrator calls ‘the greatest secret I keep from myself’…. This lively, exhilaratingly smart, and deliberately, appropriately frustrating affair asks difficult questions about women’s responsibilities and desires, and society’s expectations.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

STRONG AS A MOTHER: How to Stay Healthy, Happy, and (Most Importantly) Sane from Pregnancy to Parenthood: The Only Guide to Taking Care of YOU! by Kate Rope
Expert, practical advice for complete mental and physical maternal health, aka your guide to being the Sanest Mommy on the Block. readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (5/10/18 Edition)

A LibraryReads pick, a cozy, and a sniper thriller are our #ThrillerThursday reads:

OUR KIND OF CRUELTY by Araminta Hall
Also available in audio
A May 2018 LibraryReads pick! Verity + Mike sitting in a tree C.R.A.V.I.N.G. First comes (a twisted kind of) love, then comes marriage (to another man), then comes murder? “Hall brings the unreliable narrator to new heights in this disturbing narrative…. For fans of Nabokov’s LOLITA, Highsmith’s Ripley tales, or Christine Mangan’s recently published first novel, TANGERINE.” — Booklist

CHARMED BONES by Carolyn Haines
In Haines’s “enchanting”* 18th Sarah Booth Delaney mystery, three sisters want to open a Wiccan school in Zinnia, MS, on a manor house rented from local artist Trevor Musgrove. When Trevor dies under suspicious circumstances, the sisters become suspects, and Sarah really gets involved. “Fans of humorous paranormal cozies will be rewarded.” — Publishers Weekly

REAPER: GHOST TARGET by Nicholas Irving & A.J. Tata
Also available in audio
The explosive new thriller series written by the New York Times bestselling author of THE REAPER and star of Fox’s AMERICAN GRIT. “This debut of a new black-ops series boasts two coauthors who know the field. Irving’s stature in the black-ops world will ensnare readers who follow Brad Taylor and Vince Flynn.” — Booklist

Share your reads with us @MacmillanLib this #ThrillerThursday.

Happy #BookBday (5/8/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to two perfect, beach-ready reads!

MY EX-LIFE by Stephen McCauley
Also available in audio
A May 2018 Indie Next pick! When midlife woes descend, a long-divorced couple find their paths merging again in this breakout book for fans of Tom Perrotta, Maria Semple, and Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney. “McCauley’s effervescent prose is full of wit and wisdom on every topic—college application essays, Airbnb operation, weed addiction, live porn websites, and, most of all, people…. A gin and tonic for the soul.” — Kirkus Reviews

THE HIGH TIDE CLUB by Mary Kay Andrews
Also available in audio
99-year-old heiress Josephine Bettendorf Warrick hires single-mom lawyer Brooke Trapnell to protect her 20,000-acre barrier island home from developers and to bring together the descendants of her best friends, a spirited bunch who dubbed themselves the High Tide Club. “[A] compelling novel about the people and places that shape a life and the secrets that create ripples for generations. With a unique setting, mysterious flashbacks, romance, and a surprising twist, this book will not disappoint readers looking for juicy escape.” — Booklist

Sneak Peek: June 2018 Indie Next List

Three Macmillan titles made the June 2018 Indie Next List!

SHELTER IN PLACE by Nora Roberts
One of Publishers Weekly’s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction picks! “Roberts’ latest polished novel delivers all the literary touchstones her fans have come to expect, including high-stakes suspense, a generous dollop of romance, a thoughtful exploration of the strong bonds of family and friendship that women create for themselves, and, of course, some HGTV fixer-upper moments. As a significant bonus, the book’s chilling, brutal opening scenes should be required reading for any politician waffling on the issue of gun control.” — Booklist readmoreremove

BFYA 2019 Nominee: THE HAZEL WOOD

Congratulations to our nominee for YALSA’s 2019 Best Fiction for Young Adults list: THE HAZEL WOOD!!

THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert 
Available now from Flatiron Books YA
Ages 12 to 18

Welcome to THE HAZEL WOOD, Melissa Albert’s fierce, captivating contemporary fantasy about a seventeen-year-old girl who must venture into the world behind a pitch-dark, cult-classic collection of fairy tales to save her mother.

You can view the full list of nominees here.

css.php