Reviews and Publicity

Exclusive Cover Reveal! Leigh Bardugo’s Adult Debut NINTH HOUSE

Bestselling YA author Leigh Bardugo makes her first foray into adult publishing with NINTH HOUSE, a mesmerizing tale of power, privilege, and dark magic set among the Ivy League elite, and now we can officially share the stunning cover and an exclusive excerpt!

Galaxy “Alex” Stern is the most unlikely member of Yale’s freshman class. Raised in the Los Angeles hinterlands by a hippie mom, Alex dropped out of school early and into a world of shady drug-dealer boyfriends, dead-end jobs, and much, much worse. In fact, by age twenty, she is the sole survivor of a horrific, unsolved multiple homicide. Some might say she’s thrown her life away. But at her hospital bed, Alex is offered a second chance: to attend one of the world’s most prestigious universities on a full ride. What’s the catch, and why her?

Still searching for answers to this herself, Alex arrives in New Haven tasked by her mysterious benefactors with monitoring the activities of Yale’s secret societies. Their eight windowless “tombs” are the well-known haunts of the rich and powerful, from high-ranking politicos to Wall Street’s biggest players. But their occult activities are more sinister and more extraordinary than any paranoid imagination might conceive. They tamper with forbidden magic. They raise the dead. And, sometimes, they prey on the living.

NINTH HOUSE is the long-awaited adult debut by the beloved author of SHADOW AND BONE and SIX OF CROWS. Leigh Bardugo will take her place alongside Lev Grossman and Deborah Harkness as one of the finest practitioners of literary fantasy writing today.

Check out the official cover reveal and an exclusive excerpt from the novel here.

NINTH HOUSE comes out October 1, 2019 from Flatiron Books.
Also available in
audio.

Nonfiction Round-Up (3/20/19)

Crazy ideas, literary criticism, political corruption, and a beautiful island…welcome to Nonfiction Wednesday!

LOONSHOTS: How to Nurture the Crazy Ideas That Win Wars, Cure Diseases, and Transform Industries by Safi Bahcall
“Physicist and biotechnology entrepreneur Bahcall examines how companies, and even countries, can encourage ‘loonshots,’ which he defines as crazy ideas that are panned by critics but can become wild successes if nurtured…. This thorough, fascinating study will appeal to a broader audience than just business wonks.”–Booklist

FAR COUNTRY: Scenes from American Culture by Franco Moretti
“‘Short in pages, and compressed in style,’ according to the author, this smart collection from Moretti…takes five introductory lectures on literary history out of the classroom…. Learned without being difficult or jargony, Moretti proves that criticism can be both thought provoking and fun.”–Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

Drop-In Alert! Bill O’Reilly + Trump

The Trump exposé you’ve been waiting for comes this Fall from Bill O’Reilly, the bestselling author of the Killing series, in THE UNITED STATES OF TRUMP: How the President Really Sees America.

Not a partisan pro-Trump or anti-Trump book, this is an up-to-the-minute, intimate view of the man and his sphere of influence–of “how Donald Trump’s view of America was formed, and how it has changed since becoming the most powerful person in the world”–from a writer who has known the president for thirty years. This is an unprecedented, gripping account of the life of a sitting president as he makes history.

THE UNITED STATES OF TRUMP hardcover edition available September 17, 2019 from Henry Holt & Co.
Also available in
audio.

#PubDay (3/19/19)

A kick-butt female vigilante, a speculative SF novella collection, and a debut love letter to Chicago and its people join us to celebrate #pubday!

SAVE ME FROM DANGEROUS MEN by S. A. Lelchuk

Two starred reviews!

“This intelligent, action-packed thriller will resonate with readers as it touches on such themes as domestic violence, the widening gap between rich and poor, and the intrusive potential of advanced technologies like artificial intelligence. A credible plot and solid prose are pluses, but the book’s real appeal stems from its powerful, distinctive protagonist.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Nikki’s fight scenes are satisfying, clever, and exciting…. Bookworms will love the references to classic novels, and Lelchuk winks at Nikki’s similarities to a certain well-known literary vigilante; a bookshop regular even calls her Lisbeth. A timely and totally badass debut.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

We’re Seeing Stars!

Holy starred reviews, Batman! Check out these forthcoming titles that earned two starred reviews!

THE GUEST BOOK by Sarah Blake

“This novel sets out to be more than a juicy family saga—it aims to depict the moral evolution of a part of American society. Its convincing characters and muscular narrative succeed on both counts.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Blake deftly interrogates the many shades of prejudice and ‘the ordinary, everyday wickedness of turning away.’ Blake’s brilliant and ravishing novel promises to hit big”–Booklist, starred review

LOTHARINGIA: A Personal History of Europe’s Lost Country by Simon Winder

“Winder highlights the contrasts between readers’ modern perspectives and those of the Lotharingians and their peers with a deft combination of personal observation, historical anecdotes, and humorously straightforward summaries of complex military, dynastic, and ideological conflicts. This work is highly recommended for fans of European and world history.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Macmillan Dominates with FOUR April LibraryReads Picks!

Exciting new, folks! The votes are in, and you lovely librarians chose FOUR Macmillan titles for the April 2019 LibraryReads list!

THE GIRL HE USED TO KNOW by Tracey Garvis Graves

An April 2019 Indie Next Pick!
“Careful to balance the emotional and intellectual power between Annika and Jonathan, Graves creates a believable love affair in which Annika is not infantilized but rather fully realized as simply different. And her differences become her strengths when catastrophe strikes, compelling Annika to take the lead for the first time in her life. A heartwarming, neurodiverse love story.”–Kirkus Reviews

THE MOTHER-IN-LAW by Sally Hepworth

Author of LibraryReads pick THE THINGS WE KEEP
“A masterful depiction of how much is said in the silences, accompanied by increasing unease over what happened to Diana, make this a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

National Book Critics Circle Announces Winners for 2018 Awards

Last night, at the New School in New York, the National Book Critics Circle announced the recipients of its book awards for publishing year 2018.

The biography prize went to Christopher Bonanos for FLASH: The Making of Weegee The Famous (Henry Holt & Company), where John McWhorter says “Bonanos has written a page-turner about, of all people, a grubby loner scrambling around Manhattan taking pictures of usually humble and often dirtyish goings-on, usually after dark, and with a focus bordering on the compulsive.”

Anna Burns won for her novel, MILKMAN (Graywolf) where Lori Feathers says “as original in its presentation as it is profound in its exposition of the familiar and not so familiar terrors that daily assail its young hero, a woman who faces persistent, insidious predation, both sexual and politically motivated.”

Thrills and Chills in A BEAUTIFUL CORPSE

Crime reporter Harper McClain returns in Christi Daugherty’s latest, chilling and thrilling A BEAUTIFUL CORPSE.

For a woman, being killed by someone who claims to love her is the most ordinary murder of all.

A woman is killed in the heart of Savannah’s downtown district. Only twenty-four years old, Naomi Scott’s life ended in the dead of night at the hands of an unseen gunman. There are no witnesses to the crime. The police have three suspects: Scott’s boyfriend, who has a criminal past he claims he’s put behind him, her boss, who stalked another young bartender two years ago, and the district attorney’s son, who Naomi dated until their relationship ended in acrimony. All three men claim to love her. Could one of them be her killer?

With the whole city demanding answers, Harper unravels a tangled story of obsession and jealousy. But the pressures on her go beyond the murder. The newspaper is facing more layoffs. Her boss fears both their jobs are on the line. And Harper begins to realize that someone is watching her every move. Someone familiar and very dangerous.

“This first-rate adventure for Daugherty’s heroine is fast-paced, intriguing, and romantic. A message from her stalker intimates her next adventure will be just as exciting.”–Kirkus Reviews

“Gripping . . . carefully built suspense . . . an appealing character readers will want to see more of.”–Publishers Weekly

“Increasingly captivating.”– Booklist

Read an excerpt here.

Also in this series: THE ECHO KILLING

Maximum Shelf: A NEARLY NORMAL FAMILY

Today’s featured Maximum Shelf Awareness pick is the legal thriller/family drama of the summer: M.T. Edvardsson’s A NEARLY NORMAL FAMILY.

A legal thriller told in three acts, A NEARLY NORMAL FAMILY follows eighteen-year-old Stella, who stands accused of the brutal murder of a man almost 15 years her senior. Stella is an ordinary teenager from an upstanding local family. What reason could she have to know a shady businessman, let alone to kill him?

Chronologically told through three perspectives, readers follow both the story of a crime and the unraveling of a seemingly normal family: the father, a pastor; the daughter, a recent high school graduate; and the mother, a criminal defense attorney. Testing the moral compass of the pastor father and attorney mother, dazzling storyteller M.T. Edvardsson weaves a web in which everyone becomes entangled and nothing is what it seems.

“At its core, A NEARLY NORMAL FAMILY asks: How well do you know your loved ones? Or your best friend? Or anyone? Whom can you trust? Edvardsson doesn’t give easy answers, and even throws in commentary about the Swedish legal system when it comes to determining guilt or innocence. But the author raises provocative questions, wraps them up in a propulsive thriller and delivers an ultra-satisfying read that’s far from ordinary.”–Shelf Awareness

See the full summary, review, and interview with M.T. Edvardsson on Shelf-Awareness.com. AND enter to win an ARC!

The librarian love is already pouring in!

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss for yourself and submit your LibraryReads votes by May 1!

Nonfiction Round-Up (3/13/19)

A D-Day story from those who were there, an evocative essay collection, defense of the First Amendment, and a guidebook to a better life… Welcome to this week’s Nonfiction Round-Up!

SOLDIER, SAILOR, FROGMAN, SPY, AIRMAN, GANGSTER, KILL OR DIE: How the Allies Won on D-Day by Giles Milton
“Cornelius Ryan and Stephen Ambrose have set the standard for D-Day historiography. It’s safe to say that Milton (NATHANIEL’S NUTMEG) can be now added to that list with this refreshing portrayal of how the Allies prepared, fought, lost, and won on that fateful day in 1944…. Highly recommended for World War II aficionados and those seeking a great read in military history.”–Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove

css.php