Books for Teens

New Titles for Teens 9/20/17

I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by Gaby Dunn & Allison Raskin

“This contemporary coming-of-age story of two friends on opposite shores explores difficult topics in a relatable tone… Give to fans of Robin Talley’s What We Left Behind or Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl. VERDICT A first purchase for all libraries serving older teens.”School Library Journal, starred review

GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by Melissa Bashardoust

“Drawing from both Snow White and the Snow Queen, this beautifully wrought novel offers plenty of fairy-tale wonder, but Bashardoust resists the most common tropes; instead, she tells a story where women save each other with their own ingenuity, bravery, and love, and power and compassion can exist hand in hand. Compellingly flawed characters, vivid world-building, and pitch-perfect pacing make this utterly superb.”Booklist, starred review

BLACK BIRD OF THE GALLOWS by Meg Kassel

A dark psychological romance perfect for fans of Holly Black or Maggie Stiefvater, whose yet to be published sequel won the Golden Heart ® for Best Young Adult Romance.

POPPIES OF IRAQ by Brigitte Findakly + Lewis Trondheim

“An Iraqi childhood is cherished, examined, and let go in this tender look at youth amid upheaval… an ode to a lost era, to be sure, but one with its feet planted securely in the present.”Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

I CAPTURE THE CASTLE by Dodie Smith

A Wednesday Books reissue of one of the century’s most beloved novels, with a foreword by New York Times bestselling author, Jenny Han.

Wednesday Books Is Finally Here!

A note from the Wednesday Books Wombats:

“Hello, booknerds! Wednesday Books is finally here and we’re so excited to introduce you to our upcoming books, which are sure to become your new favorite reads. Whether you’re looking for something hilarious or something with a dash of magic, we have you covered. Take a look!”

Now click on this here link and enjoy.

 

FALL CHILDREN’S & TEEN TRI-STATE BOOK BUZZ

Wednesday, October 11, 2017
8:30 AM – 5:00 PM
PenguinRandomHouse

Hear from two authors (TO BE ANNOUNCED SOON!) and over 25 AAP member publishers (including Wednesday Books + Flatirons Books YA) as they highlight their best in next season’s Teen titles.

RSVP HERE.

 

The Guinness World Records Collection

Guinness World Records is proud to bring you 3 incredible new books!

 

Guinness World Records 2018: Meet our Real-Life Superheroes

The Guinness World Records 2018 book is back and packed with over 4,000 incredible new records from the awe-inspiring natural world to cool science facts to unbelievable sporting achievements to awesome big stuff and much more. Featuring a special section dedicated to the fictional comic-book superheroes and the real-life superhumans who do extraordinary things such as the Canadian strongman vicar who can pull a jumbo jet. For the first time, Guinness World Records has incorporated 10 superlative infographic poster pages in the book exploring extreme records such as Fastest, Highest, Longest and Tallest. Students can compare what’s faster, Usain Bolt or a cheetah? The Guinness World Records 2018 book is the ultimate collection of amazing facts all in one place.

Guinness World Records 2018 Gamer’s Edition: The Ultimate Guide to Gaming Records

The Guinness World Records Gamer’s Edition 2018 is the ultimate guide to the record-breaking feats and achievements in the world of gaming. Filled with incredible records and stories from gaming superstars, to the records behind the top games, fantastic photos and thrilling stats. Fans of professional gamer, Dan TDM, will enjoy an exclusive forward where he discusses the last year in gaming news and more. You’ll also meet gaming heroes such as the world’s oldest games YouTuber at 81 and a special feature on the cape crusaders we all love. Gamers and aspiring ones are sure to be amazed and inspired.

Guinness World Records: Amazing Animals: Packed full of your Most-Loved Animal Friends

The brand new title, Guinness World Records: Amazing Animals, is a celebration of the fastest, tallest, strongest, strangest, coolest, most awesome animals in the world. It will entertain and delight young readers, while introducing them to fascinating and often astonishing facts about the animal kingdom. Presenting Bertie, the fastest tortoise in the world, who was clocked at .28 miles per hour. Plus, unlikely animal friendships, like the one between Owen, a young hippopotamus, and Mzee, a 130 year-old Aldabra tortoise. Amazing Animals also features fun games, quizzes, and activities along with animal facts and figures from the world of popular culture.

 

 

 

Adult Books for Teens or So Sayeth Booklist (And We Agree!)

Gypsy Moth Summer by Julia Fierro

“YAs will get caught up in the story of Maddie and the other teen characters as they face complex social and environmental problems.”–Booklist

Trophy Son by Douglas Brunt

“YAs will enjoy the unpredictability of Anton’s rise to the top of the tennis world and his struggle to stay there, along with Brunt’s use of text messaging instead of dialogue.”–Booklist

All the Dirty Parts by Daniel Handler

“Amusing yet genuine, lustful yet sensitive, this odd novella approaches teenage horniness seriously and, in the process, touches on important subjects such as sexism, consent, and sexual identity…Although some scenes are graphic, Handler’s young fan base and Cole’s adolescent viewpoint will naturally draw in teens.”–Booklist

Nights of the Living Dead: An Anthology edited by Jonathan Maberry + George Romero

“With YA stalwart Maberry at the helm, this collection will get the veritable horde of teen zombie fans salivating.”–Booklist

 

Teen Talk Tuesday (08/15/17)

Bad Girl Gone by Temple Matthews

“Paranormal romance meets murder mystery in this YA tale…VERDICT A good addition to any YA murder mystery collection.”–School Library Journal

Fear Street Super Thriller: Nightmares (2 Books in 1: The Dead Boyfriend; Give me a K-I-L-L) by R. L. Stine

Now in one volume, master of horror R.L. Stine delivers two bone-chilling stories of teens in danger in the small town of Shadyside, where danger and violence looms on every darkened street corner.

Trish Trash #2 by Jessica Abel

Trish and her family nurse the alien she discovered back to health. But will the added burden of another mouth to feed force Trish to give up her roller derby dreams?

Anna & Froga: Completely Bubu by Anouk Ricard

Anna and Froga: Completely Bubu collects all five issues of the acclaimed Anna & Froga series into an accessible paperback. Ricard’s vibrant world shines with visual puns and deft animal caricatures, making Anna & Froga enjoyable for kids and their parents alike.

Guinness World Records: Amazing Animals

This brand-new book of fantastic beasts is a celebration of incredible creatures great and small. But this is far from your typical wildlife encyclopaedia… Marvel at super-pets that have mastered extreme sports, and giggle at some of the most unlikely furry friendships. Meet the planet’s animal celebrities; some will make you go “Ahhh!” – such as the world’s biggest babies – and some will make you go “Eeek!” (wait til you see Rosi, the spider who’s as big as a dinner plate!), but all of them will amaze and amuse you.

The Memory of Things by Gae Polisner

The powerful story of two teenagers finding friendship, comfort, and first love in the days following 9/11 as their fractured city tries to put itself back together.

“A love letter to the New Yorkers who rallied together, this is also an exploration of the intense bonds that form during a crisis. Detailed and well-researched, it’s sure to make young readers curious about those unforgettable days after the twin towers fell. A fictional but realistic tale of how two New York City teens survived the unthinkable together.”–Kirkus Reviews

 

Fall YA Announcements, Booklist Webinar — Macmillan Titles (08/08/17)

So you missed Booklist‘s “Fall YA Announcements, 2017” Webinar… We got you! Here are the titles we covered:

CARAVAL by STEPHANIE GARBER

WONDERFUL FEELS LIKE THIS by SARA LOVESTAM

I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by DUNN + RASKIN

EVERYTHING MUST GO by JENNY FRAN DAVIS

SHADOWSONG by S. JAE-JONES

SUN WARRIOR by P.C. CAST

BETWEEN THE BLADE AND THE HEART by AMANDA HOCKING

FROM THE EARTH TO THE SHADOWS by AMANDA HOCKING

NOT NOW, NOT EVER by LILLY ANDERSON

FLIGHT SEASON by MARIE MARQUARDT

FADE TO US by JULIA DAY

THIS HEART OF MINE by C.C. HUNTER

IN SIGHT OF STARS by GAE POLISNER

EAT YOUR FEELINGS by LINDSEY SMITH

GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by MELISSA BASHARDOUST

FRANKIE by SHIVAUN PLOZZA

13 MINUTES by SARAH PINBOROUGH

THE HAZEL WOOD by MELISSA ALBERT

GUINNESS WORLD RECORDS: AMAZING ANIMALS

GUINNESS WORLD RECORDS: SCIENCE & STUFF

Many of these titles have an e-galley available on Edelweiss!  Don’t see the green button? Then get whitelisted on Edelweiss.

YA Debut Spotlight (7/18/17)

The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash by Candace Ganger

Birdie never meant to be at the party. Bash should have been long gone. But when they meet, a collision course is set off they may never recover from.

 
Sebastian Alvaréz is just trying to hold the pieces together: to not flunk out, to keep his sort-of-best friend Wild Kyle from doing something really bad, and to see his beloved Ma through chemo. But when he meets Birdie Paxton, a near-Valedictorian who doesn’t realize she’s smoking hot in her science pun T-shirt, at a party, an undeniable attraction sparks. And suddenly he’s not worried about anything. But before they are able to exchange numbers, they are pulled apart. A horrifying tragedy soon links Birdie and Bash together—but neither knows it. When they finally reconnect, and are starting to fall—hard—the events of the tragedy unfold, changing both their lives in ways they can never undo. Told in alternating perspectives, The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash by Candace Ganger is a beautiful, complex, and ultimately hopeful teen novel that will move you to the very last page.

“Ganger alternates between Bash’s and Birdie’s perspectives, and readers will be anxious for Birdie to realize Bash’s true identity, and for Bash to come forward to someone—anyone—with the truth. Bash’s friendship with the troubled Kyle, who does nothing but treat him poorly, is puzzling, fascinating, and yet painfully true to life. Hand to fans of Jennifer Niven’s All the Bright Places.”–Booklist

Fall YA Announcements: Tuesday August 8

 

 Register here.

Date and time: Tuesday, August 8, 2017 1:00 pm
Central Daylight Time (Chicago, GMT-05:00)
Program:
Booklist Webinars
Duration: 1 hour
Description:
Fall YA Announcements, 2017: Get the inside scoop on this
fall’s forthcoming YA titles in this free, hour-long webinar,
featuring Wednesday Books + Flatiron Books YA.
Moderated by Books for Youth Senior Editor, Sarah Hunter.

ALA Annual 2017 – Monday Events

It’s the final day of ALA Annual and we’ve saved the best for last! Visit the Macmillan Adult (Griffin Teen, Flatiron Books YA, Wednesday Books) booth #2714 for more giveaways and join us at these events:


Stonewall Award Ceremony with Meredith Russo

10:00am-12:00 noon
McCormick Place | Room S102
Add to your schedule

Come celebrate the best in GLBT literature alongside the winners and honor authors of the Stonewall Book Awards, including Meredith Russo (IF I WAS YOUR GIRL). A book signing will follow the program.

Booklist‘s “Read ‘n Rave”
10:30-11:30am
McCormick Place | Room W179A
Add to your schedule

Join Rebecca Vnuk, Booklist‘s Reference and Collection Management editor and collection development specialists as they rave about their favorite titles gathered from the exhibit floor. readmoreremove

css.php