Books for Teens

Teen Talk Tuesday (08/15/17)

Bad Girl Gone by Temple Matthews

“Paranormal romance meets murder mystery in this YA tale…VERDICT A good addition to any YA murder mystery collection.”–School Library Journal

Fear Street Super Thriller: Nightmares (2 Books in 1: The Dead Boyfriend; Give me a K-I-L-L) by R. L. Stine

Now in one volume, master of horror R.L. Stine delivers two bone-chilling stories of teens in danger in the small town of Shadyside, where danger and violence looms on every darkened street corner.

Trish Trash #2 by Jessica Abel

Trish and her family nurse the alien she discovered back to health. But will the added burden of another mouth to feed force Trish to give up her roller derby dreams?

Anna & Froga: Completely Bubu by Anouk Ricard

Anna and Froga: Completely Bubu collects all five issues of the acclaimed Anna & Froga series into an accessible paperback. Ricard’s vibrant world shines with visual puns and deft animal caricatures, making Anna & Froga enjoyable for kids and their parents alike.

Guinness World Records: Amazing Animals

This brand-new book of fantastic beasts is a celebration of incredible creatures great and small. But this is far from your typical wildlife encyclopaedia… Marvel at super-pets that have mastered extreme sports, and giggle at some of the most unlikely furry friendships. Meet the planet’s animal celebrities; some will make you go “Ahhh!” – such as the world’s biggest babies – and some will make you go “Eeek!” (wait til you see Rosi, the spider who’s as big as a dinner plate!), but all of them will amaze and amuse you.

The Memory of Things by Gae Polisner

The powerful story of two teenagers finding friendship, comfort, and first love in the days following 9/11 as their fractured city tries to put itself back together.

“A love letter to the New Yorkers who rallied together, this is also an exploration of the intense bonds that form during a crisis. Detailed and well-researched, it’s sure to make young readers curious about those unforgettable days after the twin towers fell. A fictional but realistic tale of how two New York City teens survived the unthinkable together.”–Kirkus Reviews

 

Fall YA Announcements, Booklist Webinar — Macmillan Titles (08/08/17)

So you missed Booklist‘s “Fall YA Announcements, 2017” Webinar… We got you! Here are the titles we covered:

CARAVAL by STEPHANIE GARBER

WONDERFUL FEELS LIKE THIS by SARA LOVESTAM

I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by DUNN + RASKIN

EVERYTHING MUST GO by JENNY FRAN DAVIS

SHADOWSONG by S. JAE-JONES

SUN WARRIOR by P.C. CAST

BETWEEN THE BLADE AND THE HEART by AMANDA HOCKING

FROM THE EARTH TO THE SHADOWS by AMANDA HOCKING

NOT NOW, NOT EVER by LILLY ANDERSON

FLIGHT SEASON by MARIE MARQUARDT

FADE TO US by JULIA DAY

THIS HEART OF MINE by C.C. HUNTER

IN SIGHT OF STARS by GAE POLISNER

EAT YOUR FEELINGS by LINDSEY SMITH

GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by MELISSA BASHARDOUST

FRANKIE by SHIVAUN PLOZZA

13 MINUTES by SARAH PINBOROUGH

THE HAZEL WOOD by MELISSA ALBERT

GUINNESS WORLD RECORDS: AMAZING ANIMALS

GUINNESS WORLD RECORDS: SCIENCE & STUFF

Many of these titles have an e-galley available on Edelweiss!  Don’t see the green button? Then get whitelisted on Edelweiss.

YA Debut Spotlight (7/18/17)

The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash by Candace Ganger

Birdie never meant to be at the party. Bash should have been long gone. But when they meet, a collision course is set off they may never recover from.

 
Sebastian Alvaréz is just trying to hold the pieces together: to not flunk out, to keep his sort-of-best friend Wild Kyle from doing something really bad, and to see his beloved Ma through chemo. But when he meets Birdie Paxton, a near-Valedictorian who doesn’t realize she’s smoking hot in her science pun T-shirt, at a party, an undeniable attraction sparks. And suddenly he’s not worried about anything. But before they are able to exchange numbers, they are pulled apart. A horrifying tragedy soon links Birdie and Bash together—but neither knows it. When they finally reconnect, and are starting to fall—hard—the events of the tragedy unfold, changing both their lives in ways they can never undo. Told in alternating perspectives, The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash by Candace Ganger is a beautiful, complex, and ultimately hopeful teen novel that will move you to the very last page.

“Ganger alternates between Bash’s and Birdie’s perspectives, and readers will be anxious for Birdie to realize Bash’s true identity, and for Bash to come forward to someone—anyone—with the truth. Bash’s friendship with the troubled Kyle, who does nothing but treat him poorly, is puzzling, fascinating, and yet painfully true to life. Hand to fans of Jennifer Niven’s All the Bright Places.”–Booklist

Fall YA Announcements: Tuesday August 8

 

 Register here.

Date and time: Tuesday, August 8, 2017 1:00 pm
Central Daylight Time (Chicago, GMT-05:00)
Program:
Booklist Webinars
Duration: 1 hour
Description:
Fall YA Announcements, 2017: Get the inside scoop on this
fall’s forthcoming YA titles in this free, hour-long webinar,
featuring Wednesday Books + Flatiron Books YA.
Moderated by Books for Youth Senior Editor, Sarah Hunter.

ALA Annual 2017 – Monday Events

It’s the final day of ALA Annual and we’ve saved the best for last! Visit the Macmillan Adult (Griffin Teen, Flatiron Books YA, Wednesday Books) booth #2714 for more giveaways and join us at these events:


Stonewall Award Ceremony with Meredith Russo

10:00am-12:00 noon
McCormick Place | Room S102
Add to your schedule

Come celebrate the best in GLBT literature alongside the winners and honor authors of the Stonewall Book Awards, including Meredith Russo (IF I WAS YOUR GIRL). A book signing will follow the program.

Booklist‘s “Read ‘n Rave”
10:30-11:30am
McCormick Place | Room W179A
Add to your schedule

Join Rebecca Vnuk, Booklist‘s Reference and Collection Management editor and collection development specialists as they rave about their favorite titles gathered from the exhibit floor. readmoreremove

ALA Annual 2017 – Sunday Events

Good morning, Chicago! We look forward to seeing your smiling faces at the events below and in the Macmillan Adult (Griffin Teen, Flatiron Books YA, Wednesday Books) booth #2714!

Literary Tastes Breakfast with Gregg Hurwitz
8:00-10:00am
Hyatt Regency McCormick | Prairie Room
Add to your schedule

Join Gregg Hurwitz (ORPHAN X) as he discusses his work and the craft of writing at this RUSA-sponsored panel. Light refreshments will be served, followed by a book signing.

YA Author Coffee Klatch
9:00-10:00am
McCormick Place | Room S105
Add to your schedule
Ticketed event, space is limited

Enjoy coffee and meet with YALSA’s award winning authors, including Meredith Russo (IF I WAS YOUR GIRL), Candace Ganger (THE INEVITABLE COLLISION OF BIRDIE & BASH), Melissa Albert (THE HAZEL WOOD), and Scott Stambach (THE INVISIBLE LIFE OF IVAN ISAENKO)! This informal coffee klatch provides an opportunity to meet authors who have appeared on one of YALSA’s six annual selected lists or have received one of YALSA’s five literary awards. Librarians will stay seated while authors rotate to different tables to talk about their books.

Onsite tickets are $30. Details and purchasing information available here. readmoreremove

ALA Annual 2017 – Saturday Events

It’s another lovely day at ALA Annual in Chicago! Come to all of our excellent programs and stop by the Macmillan Adult (Griffin Teen, Flatiron Books YA, Wednesday Books) booth #2714 for these great giveaways and signings.

In-booth signing with Jenny D. Williams
9:30-10:30am
McCormick Place | Booth #2714

Jenny D. Williams will sign complimentary copies of THE ATLAS OF FORGOTTEN PLACES.

“Three’s Company: We’ll be Waiting For You”: The Best in Adult Books from Virginia Stanley, HarperCollins; Talia Sherer, Macmillan; and Chris Vaccari, Sterling
10:00-10:45am
McCormick Place | Book Buzz Theater
Add to your schedule

Join Talia Sherer as she presents her favorite adult titles from Macmillan alongside the hilarious Virginia Stanley and always-entertaining Chris Vaccari!

“Out and Proud: LGBTQ Literature” panel with Rakesh Satyal
10:30-11:30am
McCormick Place | Room W190A
Add to your schedule

Join Rakesh Satyal (NO ONE CAN PRONOUNCE MY NAME) as he discusses his latest novel during this United for Libraries and GLBTRT co-sponsored panel moderated by Library Journal‘s Barbara Hoffert.  A book signing will follow the program.

In-booth signing with Candace Ganger
2:30-3:30pm
McCormick Place | Booth #2714

Candace Ganger will sign complimentary advance readers copies of her YA novel, THE INEVITABLE COLLISION OF BIRDIE & BASH.

AAP Children’s & Teen Author Speed Dating with Elise Gravel
3:00-4:00pm
McCormick Place | Room S103
RSVP required, space is limited

Join Elise Gravel (IF FOUND… PLEASE RETURN TO ELISE GRAVEL) and 35 other authors in a lightning round speed-dating event, brought to you by the AAP Children’s Library Marketing Committee.

Contact Tina Jordan (tjordan@publishers.org) to be added to the wait-list or inquire about on-site availability. Table numbers will be issued at the event.
readmoreremove

Teen Talk Tuesday (6/20/17 Edition)

ewgcya-june2017Happy #ewgcya day, YA librarians! Great news: CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber and WONDERFUL FEELS LIKE THIS by Sara Lövestam are nominated for YALSA’s 2018 Best Fiction for Young Adults list!

Check out our latest & greatest teen titles out this month, then join us today at 4pm EST for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya) and tell us what you’ve been reading and loving.

AFTERCARE INSTRUCTIONS by Bonnie Pipkin
Ages 12 to 18
In the tradition of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell comes a “sensitive and big-hearted”* debut novel of furious friendship, crazy love, and unexpected hope after a teen’s decision to end an unwanted pregnancy. “Genesis’s conflicted relationships with her mother, grandparents, and friends are as engrossing as her breakup with Peter, and her story packs a big emotional punch.” — *Publishers Weekly

I AM A SECRET SERVICE AGENT by Dan Emmett
Ages 8 to 18
Adapted from WITHIN ARM’S LENGTH for a young adult audience, a rare inside look at the Secret Service from an agent who protected Presidents George H. W. Bush, Bill Clinton, and George W. Bush. “Readers will admire Emmett’s discipline, commitment, physical strength, and endurance, as well as his understatement and dry humor.” — Publishers Weekly

KITARO AND THE GREAT TANUKI WAR by Shigeru Mizuki
Ages 8 & up
Kitaro faces off against a swamp monster, a paper screen come to life, and an army of mythical raccoon dogs in this graphic novel. readmoreremove

BFYA 2018 Nominees!

Congratulations to our nominees for YALSA’s 2018 Best Fiction for Young Adults list:

CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber

WONDERFUL FEELS LIKE THIS by Sara Lövestam

You can view the full list of nominees here.

Friday Reads: Graphic Novels

TGIF friends! Today’s #FridayReads are three great graphic novels for adults AND teens:

BOUNDLESS by Jillian Tamaki
One of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2017! “A surreal, dreamlike sense of dread and sadness pervades many of these stories, but wry sympathy for the often lost characters takes Tamaki’s already formidable cartooning skills to a new level. Tamaki has delivered an essential collection of truly modern fiction in comics form.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

ONE! HUNDRED! DEMONS! by Lynda Barry
“Drawn and painted with exuberant colors and florid emotions and inspired by a Zen painting exercise, the stories are taken mostly from her childhood and frequently play with the limits of memory. This is a book with subtle power; readers may well end up in tears, but they might not be able to say why.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

css.php