Maximum Shelf: OLGA DIES DREAMING (9/15/21)

Today’s Shelf Awareness Maximum Shelf pick is Xochitl Gonzalez’s OLGA DIES DREAMING, a blazing debut about a status-driven wedding planner grappling with her social ambitions, absent mother, and Puerto Rican roots­, all in the wake of Hurricane Maria. It’s 2017, and Olga and her brother, Pedro “Prieto” Acevedo, are boldfaced names in their hometown of […]

Read More…

Author Spotlight: Alice Feeney (9/15/21)

Writer, journalist, New York Times bestseller, and queen of the twist Alice Feeney brings another page-turning psychological suspense that asks, do you really know the person you married? ROCK PAPER SCISSORS takes readers into ten years of marriage and ten years of secrets with Adam and Amelia Wright as they celebrate an anniversary that they […]

Read More…

October 2021 LibraryReads List

You voted, they counted, and THE DEATH OF JANE LAWRENCE by Caitlin Starling, NOTHING BUT BLACKENED TEETH by Cassandra Khaw, and A SPINDLE SPLINTERED by Alix E. Harrow are LibraryReads Picks for October 2021! THE DEATH OF JANE LAWRENCE by Caitlin StarlingISBN 9781250272584 | on sale 10/5/21 “Starling captivates and horrifies by turn in this […]

Read More…

Starred Review Round-Up (9/14/21)

We’re seeing stars! These titles all received multiple starred reviews: FIGHT NIGHT by Miriam ToewsISBN 9781635578171 | on sale 10/5/21 “Fierce and funny, this gives undeniable testimony to the life force of family. It’s a knockout.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review “Funny and sad and exquisitely tender.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review APPLES NEVER FALL by Liane MoriartyISBN 9781250220257 […]

Read More…

Mystery Series Spotlight (9/14/21)

Today we’re diving into mystery series with the extraordinary second book in the Two Rivers series and the 53rd adventure of a beloved homicide detective. THE HERON’S CRY: A Detective Matthew Venn Novel by Ann Cleeves 2 starred reviews! “Fans of Cleeves’s Vera Stanhope and Shetland mysteries will be eager for her latest novel, where […]

Read More…

For Your Consideration: December 2021 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite December titles for the December 2021 LibraryReads list! Votes due November 1! THE BALLERINAS by Rachel Kapelke-DaleISBN 9781250274236 | on sale 12/7/21Download on Edelweiss or NetGalley DARE ME meets Black Swan and LUCKIEST GIRL ALIVE in a captivating, voice-driven debut novel about a trio of ballerinas who meet […]

Read More…

Author Spotlight: Liane Moriarty (9/13/21)

Liane Moriarty, #1 New York Times bestselling author, always shocks readers with her mystery, twists, and domestic dysfunction. Moriarty’s latest, APPLES NEVER FALL, brings all that and more as she dives into marriage, sibling rivalry, tennis, and the lies we tell ourselves in this irresistible and gripping tale of the Delaney family. APPLES NEVER FALL […]

Read More…

YA Spotlight (9/13/21)

This YA spotlight features dark humor, queer love, and a girl gang of feminist vampires. THE LOST GIRLS: A Vampire Revenge Story by Sonia Hartl This dark, vampire-filled twist on John Tucker Must Die has Holly Liddell out for revenge 34 years after she was turned into a vampire and promised eternal love. “Three women […]

Read More…

LJ Day of Dialog Fall 2021 Welcome Book Buzz

Thank you for stopping by our Library Journal Fall 2021 Day of Dialog virtual booth! Here’s more information about all the titles we talked about in our booth’s welcome video: YERBA BUENA by Nina LaCour | 9781250810465 | on sale 2/8/22 The debut adult novel by the bestselling and award-winning YA author, following two women […]

Read More…

New Edelweiss E-galleys (9/13/21)

Hello e-galley readers! Check out some of the exciting e-galleys that were recently added to Edelweiss for your downloading pleasure: THE RESTING PLACE by Camilla StenISBN 9781250249272 | on sale 3/29/22 The medical term is prosopagnosia. The average person calls it face blindness—the inability to recognize a familiar person’s face, even the faces of those […]

Read More…

css.php