Extra! Extra!: November 2021 Book News

Here are the headlines you may have missed this month. The New York Times dives into THE LEAST OF US by Sam Quinones, ENTERTAINING RACE by Michael Eric Dyson, THE BROKEN CONSTITUTION by Noah Feldman, WINTER RECIPES FROM THE COLLECTIVE by Louise Gluck, WITHIN THESE WICKED WALLS by Lauren Blackwood, BURNING BOY by Paul Auster, […]

Read More…

Author Spotlight: Nora Roberts (11/23/21)

#1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts is a master of all genres. In her Dragon Heart Legacy trilogy, she writes an epic of love and war among humans and gods through a journey of betrayal and bloodshed. THE BECOMING: The Dragon Heart Legacy, Book 2 “Roberts’s skills with building suspense and crafting stirring […]

Read More…

Kirkus Best Nonfiction of 2021

Feast your eyes on Kirkus‘ Best Nonfiction of 2021! HOMO IRREALIS: Essays by André AcimanCAREFREE BLACK GIRLS: A Celebration of Black Women in Popular Culture by Zeba BlayUNBOUND: My Story of Liberation and the Birth of the Me Too Movement by Tarana BurkeLETTERS TO CAMONDO by Edmund de WaalENTERTAINING RACE: Performing Blackness in America by […]

Read More…

SLJ’s Best YA Books of 2021

School Library Journal selected TOKYO EVER AFTER as one of their Best YA Books of 2021! TOKYO EVER AFTER by Emiko Jean“Vibrant descriptions of Japan and Izumi’s reactions feel cheesy but truly realistic, capturing all of the fear, excitement, and admiration one could have when visiting a country with a different culture than their own. […]

Read More…

For Your Consideration: February 2022 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite February titles for the February 2022 LibraryReads list! Votes due January 1! THE ARC by Tory Henwood HoenISBN 9781250276773 | on sale 2/8/22Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley For fans of Taylor Jenkins Reid, Sally Rooney, and Rebecca Serle, THE ARC is a smart, high concept love story that […]

Read More…

YA Spotlight (11/22/21)

In this YA Spotlight, we have a heart-stopping trilogy conclusion with an ultimate choice to make and a near-future thriller tackling capitalism and queerness. STILL WITH ME by Jessica Cunsolo Amelia and Aiden have faced every imaginable challenge together, so it is no surprise that once they begin to plan their future, they are presented […]

Read More…

New Edelweiss E-galleys (11/22/21)

Hello e-galley readers! Check out some of the exciting e-galleys that were recently added to Edelweiss for your downloading pleasure: LAST EXIT by Max GladstoneISBN 9780765335739 | on sale 2/22/22 Ten years ago, Zelda led a band of merry adventurers whose knacks let them travel to alternate realities and battle the black rot that threatened […]

Read More…

Happy Half Hour (11/22/21)

In this pre-Thanksgiving Happy Half Hour, we are chatting about a propulsive YA novel about a family on the run, a debut filled with impossible choices and the battle of authenticity, a masterful thriller about missing teenagers and an arrested father, and a riveting sci fi epic. THIS GOLDEN STATE by Marit Weisenberg | 9781250786272 […]

Read More…

Kirkus Best Fiction of 2021

Feast your eyes on Kirkus‘ Best Fiction of 2021! LIGHT FROM UNCOMMON STARS by Ryka AokiDESTROYER OF LIGHT by Jennifer Marie BrissettRAZORBLADE TEARS by S.A. CosbySECOND PLACE by Rachel CuskTHE TWILIGHT ZONE by Nona FernándezCROSSROADS by Jonathan FranzenEVERYONE KNOWS YOUR MOTHER IS A WITCH by Rivka GalchenZORRIE by Laird HuntMY MONTICELLO by Jocelyn Nicole JohnsonTHE […]

Read More…

Genre Friday: Fantasy (11/19/21)

In this Genre Friday we are journeying to fantastical worlds with a debut filled with magic and conspiracies and a terrifying thriller where perfection is not as it seems. A MARVELLOUS LIGHT by Freya Marske 3 starred reviews, a LibraryReads pick, and an Indie Next pick! “Marske debuts with a breathtaking queer romantic fantasy set […]

Read More…

css.php