Core E-book Collections: Pride (6/1/20)

June is pride month and we are celebrating with e-books! Check out this curated selection from voices near and far… FICTION DESERT BOYS by Chris McCormick    I’VE A FEELING WE’RE NOT IN KANSAS ANYMORE: The “Buddies” Cycle by Ethan Mordden    DANCER by Colum McCann BLACK DEUTSCHLAND by Darryl Pinckney THE HOURS by Michael […]

Read More…

Spotlight: Modern Family (5/28/20)

For anyone who wished they were part of the Pritchett family, it’s not too late with this behind-the-scenes oral history in today’s MODERN FAMILY spotlight! MODERN FAMILY: The Untold Oral History of One of Television’s Groundbreaking Sitcoms by Marc Freeman From the millions who loved the show, most don’t know the stories behind the action. […]

Read More…

Author Spotlight: HOLLYWOOD PARK (5/27/20)

This author spotlight features Airborne Toxic Event’s frontman Mikel Jollett with his incredible story of family, friendship, hardship, and love. Mikel Jollett was born into one of the country’s most infamous cults, and subjected to a childhood filled with poverty, addiction, and emotional abuse. Yet, ultimately, his is a story of fierce love and family […]

Read More…

For Your Consideration: August 2020 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite August titles for the August 2020 LibraryReads list! Votes due July 1! MIGRATIONS by Charlotte McConaghy For readers of STATION ELEVEN and EVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU, a debut novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world’s last birds—and her own final […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Spotlight (5/20/20)

Explore a little-known true story about a failed assassination attempt on President Lincoln in today’s nonfiction spotlight! THE LINCOLN CONSPIRACY: The Secret Plot to Kill America’s 16th President–and Why It Failed by Brad Meltzer and Josh Mensch Everyone knows the story of Abraham Lincoln’s assassination in 1865, but few are aware of the original conspiracy […]

Read More…

BookExpo 2020 Virtual Events

BookExpo has gone virtual, and we’ve got you covered on all the Macmillan author happenings: Wednesday, May 27th @ 5:30 PMAdult Book & Author Dinner Carmen Maria Machado, IN THE DREAM HOUSE Friday, May 29th @ 10:00 AM Adult Editor’s Buzz Charlotte McConaghy, MIGRATIONS Friday, May 29th @ 12:00 PM Young Adult Editor’s Buzz Panel […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up: Leadership and Success (5/13/20)

A legendary and beloved baseball player shares his inspirations and influences in his successful career + the best tactics in negotiating from a master negotiator and business school professor in this leadership and success nonfiction spotlight. 24: Life Stories and Lessons from the Say Hey Kid by Willie Mays and John Shea “The iconic uniform […]

Read More…

PW Summer Books 2020

Publishers Weekly picked the Summer 2020 books that should be on your radar: Staff PicksARTIFACT by Arlene HeymanFLYAWAY by Kathleen JenningsTHE LAST GREAT ROAD BUM by Héctor TobarTHE LONELINESS OF THE LONG-DISTANCE CARTOONIST by Adrian TomineONE STEP AHEAD: Mastering the Art and Science of Negotiation by David SallyTHE PARIS HOURS by Alex GeorgeTHE VAPORS: A […]

Read More…

Mac Lib From Home Round-Up (5/8/20)

Welcome to Week 6 of Mac Lib From Home, our new fun-sized buzz series from our homes to yours! This week, werewolves are BACK in Emily’s #YALit pick, Romina Garber’s LOBIZONA. Watch her full video here. And Samantha’s coming at us with a nonfiction #MacLibFromHome pick this week: Kerri Arsenault’s memoir of the environmental and […]

Read More…

NYPL Virtual Buzz Recap (5/8/20)

Hello librarians! This morning we had the pleasure of calling into a virtual book buzz with the staff of the NYPL, and here are the titles we talked about: LUSTER by Raven Leilani | 9780374194321 | 8/4/20MIGRATIONS by Charlotte McConaghy | 9781250204028 | 8/4/20TSARINA by Ellen Alpsten | 9781250214430 | 10/13/20THE BOOK COLLECTORS: A Band […]

Read More…

css.php