LibraryReads

For Your Consideration: August 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite August 2019 titles for the August 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due July 1!

THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center

“Center gives readers a sharp and witty exploration of love and forgiveness that is at once insightful, entertaining, and thoroughly addictive.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

CITY OF WINDOWS by Robert Pobi

“The FBI brings in astrophysicist, amputee, and former agent Dr. Lucas Page when a sniper takes aim in the middle of a New York blizzard… Relentless pacing, tight plotting, and a brainy, idiosyncratic new hero make this one a winner.”–Kirkus Reviews

readmoreremove

Sarah Gailey’s MAGIC FOR LIARS is a June 2019 LibraryReads Pick!

The votes are counted and the list is out, and we’re happy to announce that Sarah Gailey’s MAGIC FOR LIARS is a June 2019 LibraryReads pick!

MAGIC FOR LIARS by Sarah Gailey

A June Indie Next Pick + 2 starred reviews!

“There’s something for almost all readers here: family drama, romance, high-school gossip, fantasy-world building. Above all, Gailey shows us that humans are humans, even when they are magic, and they are still flawed, damaged, and oh so interesting.”–Booklist, starred review

“Gailey’s debut is an energetic modern fantasy that plays rough with relationships and personal beliefs, from youth to adulthood. Ivy’s emotional investigation will strike a chord in anyone who has ever felt like they don’t belong. Highly recommended for all collections.”–Library Journal, starred review

Macmillan Library @ ALA Annual 2019 (Booth #1511)

Come stroll the National Mall with us at ALA Annual 2019 in Washington, DC! We’ll have tons of events, authors, and ARC giveaways in our booth (#1511), so check out our schedule below and RSVP ASAP!

Friday, June 21

In-booth signing with Mariah Fredericks (DEATH OF A NEW AMERICAN)
5:30 PM | Booth 1511

Saturday, June 22

“Don’t Be Afraid of Horror” panel with Rachel Eve Moulton (TINFOIL BUTTERFLY)
1:00-1:50 PM | Pop Top Stage
Add this event to your schedule!

United for Libraries “It’s a Mystery to Me” panel with Donna Andrews (TERNS OF ENDEARMENT)
2:30-3:30 PM | WCC Room 207B
Add this event to your schedule!

Macmillan Happy Hour Book Buzz with SURPRISE guest
Join the Macmillan Library Marketing team (and a surprise guest!) as we highlight our favorite forthcoming titles from Macmillan’s adult publishers and YA pals Wednesday Books and Flatiron! Beer and wine will be served. #MLHAPPYHOUR
4:00-5:00 PM | WCC Room 207A
Add this event to your schedule!

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: July 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite July 2019 titles for the July 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due June 1!

BETHLEHEM by Karen Kelly

With the writing chops of Ian McEwan and the storytelling of Lisa Wingate, “a haunting debut” about two intertwined families and the secrets they’ve kept buried during the steel boom in Bethlehem, PA.

THE LAST BOOK PARTY by Karen Dukess

“Mixing ambivalence, nostalgia, and the power of innocence in an idyllic setting, this journey of self-discovery is an ideal summer read for those who might shun more typical ‘beach-read’ offerings.”–Booklist

readmoreremove

Booklist’s “Library Love for LibraryReads” Webinar

We hope you were able to tune in to Booklist’s “Library Love for LibraryReads” webinar today, but if not, you can download the full title list and slides, and here are all the titles presented:

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr
29 SECONDS by T. M. Logan
A DANGEROUS ENGAGEMENT by Ashley Weaver
THE MURDER LIST by Hank Phillippi Ryan
A STRANGER ON THE BEACH by Michele Campbell
THE LONG CALL by Ann Cleeves
A HERO BORN by Jin Yong
TINFOIL BUTTERFLY by Rachel Eve Moulton
SALT SLOW by Julia Armfield
GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo
THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center
ON DIVISION by Goldie Goldbloom
KEEPING LUCY by T. Greenwood
THE FURIES by Katie Lowe
THE TOPEKA SCHOOL by Ben Lerner
DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz
HERE WE ARE by Aarti Namdev Shahani
YOU’VE BEEN VOLUNTEERED by Laurie Gelman
THE NOBODIES by Liza Palmer
THE WIDOW OF ROSE HOUSE by Diana Biller

Listen to the full archived webinar here.

While you’re at it, request to be whitelisted for our e-galleys on Edelweiss.

Make sure to vote early and often for LibraryReads!

Hip-Hip-Hooray for the May LibraryReads List!

According to librarians, May is the month for rom-coms, beach reads, and alchemical adventures! Check out the May LibraryReads list, featuring THREE Macmillan titles and a two-time Hall-of-Famer!

THE FLATSHARE by Beth O’Leary

“O’Leary’s debut is a sweet, quirky novel about two complete opposites falling for one another under the cutest of circumstances.”–Booklist

RED, WHITE, & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston

Three starred reviews!
Exclusive interview with Booklist.

“The much-loved royal romance genre gets a fun and refreshing update in McQuiston’s debut…. A clever, romantic, sexy love story.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“The drama, which involves political rivals, possible betrayals, and even a meeting with the queen, is both irresistible and delicious. Readers will be eager to see more from McQuiston after this extremely promising start.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“In between sweet and steamy love scenes, RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE allows readers to imagine a world where coming out involves no self-loathing; where fan fiction and activist Twitter do actual good; and a diverse, liberal White House wins elections.”–Booklist, starred review

SUNSET BEACH by Mary Kay Andrews

“Andrews’ (THE HIGH TIDE CLUB) latest annual big beach read combines mystery, family secrets, a hint of romance, and a little bit of home renovation…. Andrews’ style ensures that this will be a relaxing read.”–Booklist

And Seanan McGuire doubles down on her Hall-of-Fame status with MIDDLEGAME, which also received three starred reviews!

Sign Up Now: “Library Love for LibraryReads” Webinar

LibraryReads is a crowd-sourced goldmine for collection development and readers advisory–by librarians, for librarians. Join us for this special “Library Love for LibraryReads” webinar to hear about all the great titles that should make their way to the top of your TBR piles. Listen! Read! Vote!

Tuesday, April 23rd, 2019
1:00pm Central/2:00pm Eastern

Register for the webinar here.

See you then!

For Your Consideration: June 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite June 2019 titles for the June 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due May 1!

THE ELECTRIC HOTEL by Dominic Smith

Two starred reviews!

“A compelling plot, robust characters, and finely crafted prose richly evoke a bygone age and art.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Smith’s tale is as luminous as celluloid projected on a silver screen hung from a dirigible floating over the Hudson (yes, this happens). Highly recommended for historical fiction fans and readers who love old Hollywood novels.”–Booklist, starred review

MAGIC FOR LIARS by Sarah Gailey

“There’s something for almost all readers here: family drama, romance, high-school gossip, fantasy-world building. Above all, Gailey shows us that humans are humans, even when they are magic, and they are still flawed, damaged, and oh so interesting.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Macmillan Dominates with FOUR April LibraryReads Picks!

Exciting new, folks! The votes are in, and you lovely librarians chose FOUR Macmillan titles for the April 2019 LibraryReads list!

THE GIRL HE USED TO KNOW by Tracey Garvis Graves

An April 2019 Indie Next Pick!
“Careful to balance the emotional and intellectual power between Annika and Jonathan, Graves creates a believable love affair in which Annika is not infantilized but rather fully realized as simply different. And her differences become her strengths when catastrophe strikes, compelling Annika to take the lead for the first time in her life. A heartwarming, neurodiverse love story.”–Kirkus Reviews

THE MOTHER-IN-LAW by Sally Hepworth

Author of LibraryReads pick THE THINGS WE KEEP
“A masterful depiction of how much is said in the silences, accompanied by increasing unease over what happened to Diana, make this a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Maximum Shelf: A NEARLY NORMAL FAMILY

Today’s featured Maximum Shelf Awareness pick is the legal thriller/family drama of the summer: M.T. Edvardsson’s A NEARLY NORMAL FAMILY.

A legal thriller told in three acts, A NEARLY NORMAL FAMILY follows eighteen-year-old Stella, who stands accused of the brutal murder of a man almost 15 years her senior. Stella is an ordinary teenager from an upstanding local family. What reason could she have to know a shady businessman, let alone to kill him?

Chronologically told through three perspectives, readers follow both the story of a crime and the unraveling of a seemingly normal family: the father, a pastor; the daughter, a recent high school graduate; and the mother, a criminal defense attorney. Testing the moral compass of the pastor father and attorney mother, dazzling storyteller M.T. Edvardsson weaves a web in which everyone becomes entangled and nothing is what it seems.

“At its core, A NEARLY NORMAL FAMILY asks: How well do you know your loved ones? Or your best friend? Or anyone? Whom can you trust? Edvardsson doesn’t give easy answers, and even throws in commentary about the Swedish legal system when it comes to determining guilt or innocence. But the author raises provocative questions, wraps them up in a propulsive thriller and delivers an ultra-satisfying read that’s far from ordinary.”–Shelf Awareness

See the full summary, review, and interview with M.T. Edvardsson on Shelf-Awareness.com. AND enter to win an ARC!

The librarian love is already pouring in!

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss for yourself and submit your LibraryReads votes by May 1!

css.php