Nonfiction Round-Up (6/16/21)

This nonfiction round-up takes us through the college admissions process with the tools to make the best decision possible and a groundbreaking exploration of why we want what we want. GAME ON: Why College Admission Is Rigged and How to Beat the System by Susan F. Paterno “This meticulously researched work is highly recommended for […]

Read More…

2021 Pulitzer Prizes

Congratulations to our 2021 Pulitzer Prize winners and finalists! Fiction Finalist: TELEPHONE by Percival Everett History Finalist: THE DEVIANT’S WAR: The Homosexual vs. the United States of America by Eric Cervini Poetry Winner: POSTCOLONIAL LOVE POEM by Natalie Diaz Feature Writing Winner: Mitchell S. Jackson, who will publish JOHN OF WATTS (2024) with FSG, for […]

Read More…

2021 Eisner Awards Nominations

Congrats to our 2021 Eisner Awards nominees! Best Humor PublicationDEPARTMENT OF MIND-BLOWING THEORIES by by Tom GauldWENDY, MASTER OF ART by Walter Scott Best Reality-Based WorkPAYING THE LAND by Joe SaccoYEAR OF THE RABBIT by Tian Veasna Best Graphic MemoirTHE LONELINESS OF THE LONG-DISTANCE CARTOONIST by Adrian Tomine Best Graphic Album—NewDRAGMAN by Steven ApplebyPAUL AT […]

Read More…

Author Spotlight: Casey McQuiston (6/15/21)

Casey McQuiston brought love, inclusivity, and the beach read of the year with her debut novel, RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE. In her new queer romantic comedy, Casey has all that plus a dash of time travel to win over readers’ hearts once again. ONE LAST STOP 2 starred reviews, the #1 LibraryReads pick, and […]

Read More…

Community Stories (6/15/21)

Today we’re taking a peek into communities with a society and family undone by suspicion and a small town story about a grandmother whose dreams see a coming death. EVERYONE KNOWS YOUR MOTHER IS A WITCH by Rivka Galchen 2 starred reviews! “Galchen’s captivating latest (after the children’s adventure RAT RULE 79) follows an illiterate […]

Read More…

Tor to Publish Holly Black’s Adult Debut!

#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black announced on Friday evening that Tor Books would publish her debut adult novel BOOK OF NIGHT, a modern dark fantasy of shadowy thieves and secret societies in the vein of NINTH HOUSE and THE NIGHT CIRCUS. In Charlie Hall’s world, shadows can be altered, for entertainment and […]

Read More…

Read an excerpt from SAVED BY A SONG

SAVED BY A SONG: The Art and Healing Power of Songwriting by Mary Gauthier | 9781250202116 | 7/6/21 Grammy-nominated folk singer and songwriter Mary Gauthier explores the creativity and redemptive power of song in this part memoir, part break-down of songwriting, part philosophy of art. SAVED BY A SONG takes readers from 12 year old Mary–who was gifted […]

Read More…

Edelweiss Bookfest 2021 Great Big Galley Grab

During yesterday’s Edelweiss Bookfest, librarians gathered for the Great Big Galley Grab–an hour of collection development/readers advisory gold, filled with all the Fall 2021 titles they can’t wait to gab about. Check out all the Macmillan titles that were shouted ‘n shared: Adult:NEVER SAY YOU CAN’T SURVIVE by Charlie Jane Anders | 9781250800015 | 8/17/21UNDER […]

Read More…

Author Spotlight: Laurie Frankel (6/10/21)

Laurie Frankel is a New York Times bestselling, award-winning author who always fills her novels with memorable characters and captivating relationships. Her latest is a timely story about love and family that will make readers laugh and cry with Laurie Frankel’s signature wit, wonder, and affection. ONE TWO THREE An Indie Next pick! “In a […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (6/9/21)

A critical look at the Second Amendment + an envisioned path toward overcoming injustices + a bold perspective on foreign policy + a guide for middle-aged white men who are suddenly awakening to race and racism + an in-depth look at the U.S. Coronavirus response = this nonfiction round-up. THE SECOND: Race and Guns in […]

Read More…

css.php