Forthcoming #FridayReads: TSARINA

Samantha Slavin here, and I am so excited to introduce today’s Forthcoming #FridayReads, Ellen Alpsten’s debut, TSARINA–the first and only (historical) account of how serf Marta became Empress Catherine, the first woman to ever rule Russia. TSARINA is Marta’s story, a child born out of wedlock and into devastating poverty. Her life changes when she […]

Read More…

4 Stars for MAN OF MY TIME

Dalia Sofer’s MAN OF MY TIME, the story of an Iranian man reckoning with his capacity for love and evil, has received FOUR starred reviews! “Through the pain of Hamid’s alienation, Sofer (THE SEPTEMBERS OF SHIRAZ), an Iranian-born Jew who grew up in the United States, has created a memorable and difficult character who can […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (4/2/20)

A cozy mystery set in Nashville’s real estate world + the search for a missing child opens the door to a whole new world of secrets = this thriller Thursday. DEAD IN THE DOORWAY: A House-Flipper Mystery by Diane Kelly Following DEAD AS A DOOR KNOCKER, Whitney Whitaker scores the perfect piece of real estate […]

Read More…

Sneak Peek: May 2020 Indie Next List

The May 2020 Indie Next list features 6 Macmillan titles! THE PARIS HOURS by Alex George ISBN 9781250307187, on sale 5/5/20 “As these four walk the sumptuously evoked streets, George cleverly brings their stories together in a stunning finale that should feel contrived but somehow doesn’t. Or maybe we just don’t care because the novel […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (4/1/20)

Frank Smyth, an award-winning investigative journalist specializing in armed conflicts, organized crime and human rights overseas, brings the definitive account of America’s most powerful and controversial nonprofit: the NRA. THE NRA: The Unauthorized History by Frank Smyth From the NRA’s roots in post-Civil War New York City to the present-day Trump administration, Smyth’s research takes […]

Read More…

Adult Books for Teens

THIS MONTH’S ROUNDUP OF ADULT BOOKS FOR TEENS INCLUDES AN IMMERSIVE COMING-OF-AGE STORY, A DEBUT SCI-FI FROM A FORMER NFL PLAYER, AND A GUIDE TO SELF-AWARENESS FROM FROM A BELOVED OB-GYN. A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Anne Fowler97812502372793/10/20 For fans of Celeste Ng and Jodi Picoult, a stunning page-turner about two very different families living […]

Read More…

Happy #PubDay (3/31/20)

A twist on PRIDE AND PREJUDICE’s ugly duckling, Mary + an uninhibited glimpse into the life of a traveling, free-spirited, truth-seeking artist = this #pubday party! THE OTHER BENNET SISTER by Janice Hadlow 3 starred reviews! “Readers with fond but not necessarily exhaustive memories of PRIDE AND PREJUDICE will love this story, as will historical […]

Read More…

Genre For All Spotlight: THE SHADOWS

Stranger Things meets Stephen King’s THE OUTSIDER? Count me in! Let’s talk Alex North’s deliciously creepy new thriller, THE SHADOWS. Last year, we were all obsessed with Alex North’s THE WHISPER MAN (PW Best Book of Summer 2019! 2 starred reviews! Indie Next pick! LibraryReads pick!). In THE SHADOWS, North offers another terrifying supernatural thriller […]

Read More…

LJ Winter/Spring 2020 Best Debut Novels

Library Journal‘s Best Debuts of Winter/Spring 2020 include these Macmillan titles! THE CACTUS LEAGUE by Emily Nemens, ISBN 9780374117948, on sale nowSHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS by Kawai Strong Washburn, ISBN 9780374272081, on sale nowTHE OTHER BENNET SISTER by Janice Hadlow, ISBN 9781250129413, on sale 3/31/20OONA OUT OF ORDER by Margarita Montimore, ISBN 9781250236609, […]

Read More…

Genre For All/Forthcoming #FridayReads Spotlight: THE SWITCH

In today’s Genre For All/Forthcoming #FridayReads mashup, I am thrilled to share my feel-good pick of the year, Beth O’Leary’s THE SWITCH. Last year, Beth O’Leary burst onto the scene with her debut THE FLATSHARE, which was just. So. Friggin’. Good! It earned multiple starred reviews, was RUSA’s Romance Reading List winner, a LibraryReads pick […]

Read More…

css.php