Forthcoming #FridayReads: TSARINA

Samantha Slavin here, and I am so excited to introduce today’s Forthcoming #FridayReads, Ellen Alpsten’s debut, TSARINA–the first and only (historical) account of how serf Marta became Empress Catherine, the first woman to ever rule Russia. TSARINA is Marta’s story, a child born out of wedlock and into devastating poverty. Her life changes when she […]

Read More…

New E-galleys for March 2020

Hello e-galley readers! Check out some of the exciting e-galleys that were added to Edelweiss this month for your downloading pleasure: MIGRATIONS by Charlotte McConaghy For readers of STATION ELEVEN and EVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU, a debut novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world’s last birds—and her […]

Read More…

LJ Winter/Spring 2020 Best Debut Novels

Library Journal‘s Best Debuts of Winter/Spring 2020 include these Macmillan titles! THE CACTUS LEAGUE by Emily Nemens, ISBN 9780374117948, on sale nowSHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS by Kawai Strong Washburn, ISBN 9780374272081, on sale nowTHE OTHER BENNET SISTER by Janice Hadlow, ISBN 9781250129413, on sale 3/31/20OONA OUT OF ORDER by Margarita Montimore, ISBN 9781250236609, […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: DEAR CHILD (3/25/20)

Today’s Shelf Awareness Maximum Shelf pick is Romy Hausmann’s English language debut, a page-turning, internationally bestselling thriller that is GONE GIRL meets ROOM: DEAR CHILD. In a windowless shack in the woods, Lena and her two children live a life that follows the rules set by their captor, the father: Meals, bathroom visits, study time […]

Read More…

Three Stars for THE OTHER BENNET SISTER

Janice Hadlow’s debut novel THE OTHER BENNET SISTER has received 3 starred reviews! “Hadlow traces that progression with sensitivity, emotional clarity, and a quiet edge of social criticism Austen would have relished.Entertaining and thoroughly engrossing.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review “The writing is dense, but captures the esprit de Austen, immersing the reader in Mary’s internal world […]

Read More…

Booklist’s Core Collection: Immigrant and Refugee Writers

Booklist highlights immigrant and refugee writers who have come to the U.S. in their recent Core Collection roundup, including these two Macmillan titles: SHE WOULD BE KING by Wayétu Moore SHE WOULD BE KING is a spectacular blend of history and magical realism that follows three extraordinary characters: in the West African village of Lai, […]

Read More…

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE SAFE PLACE

For today’s Forthcoming #FridayReads spotlight, we’re reading the perfect summer psychological thriller, combining wine-soaked summer days in a French villa by the sea with Lisa Jewell’s morally complex family dynamics and Ruth Ware’s modern gothic vibes: THE SAFE PLACE by Anna Downes. We meet a woman whose life is in chaos and a man who […]

Read More…

Genre For All Presents: Kawai Strong Washburn and SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS

A young family is vacationing when their seven-year-old son falls overboard (which is seriously worst nightmare material)–that is, until a shark appears, cradling the child in its jaws and delivering him safely back to his family. Now the family thinks that everything is turning around for them–they’re clearly favored by the ancient Hawaiian gods–and everyone […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS (3/4/20)

Today’s Shelf Awareness Maximum Shelf pick is Kawai Strong Washburn’s groundbreaking debut novel that folds the legends of Hawaiian gods into an engrossing family saga, SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS. In 1995 Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, on a rare family vacation, seven-year-old Nainoa Flores falls overboard a cruise ship into the Pacific Ocean. When a shiver […]

Read More…

Starred Review Round-Up (2/20/20)

We’re seeing stars! These titles all received multiple starred reviews: SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS by Kawai Strong Washburn “Striking style, memorable characters, and a believably miraculous premise add up to a beautifully crafted first novel.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review “A more than noteworthy first foray into contemporary fiction by Hawaiian native Washburn.”–Library Journal, starred […]

Read More…

css.php