Articles tagged "Molly Murphy series"

2017 Holiday Giveaway

The holidays are here! Books make great gifts and while we know you’re all professional recommenders, the book suggestions in our Holiday Gift Guide may be helpful to you.

In the spirit of the season, we’re giving away big bundles of these holiday books to THREE lucky librarians!

To enter the giveaway, simply email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: 2017 Holiday Giveaway) by Sunday, December 10, and make sure to include your library’s mailing address. Read on for the fine print.

UPDATE 12/15/17: This giveaway is now closed. Congratulations to our winners:

Jean Anderson, South Central Library System, Madison WI
Catherine Healey, College of Staten Island Library/CUNY, Staten Island NY
Angela Romano, Oak Lawn Public Library, Oak Lawn IL

PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND MISTLETOE by Melissa de la Cruz
New York Times bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz reinvents a classic tale in this gender-swapped version of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice with a holiday twist. “De la Cruz’s Christmas romance is quick, witty, and a must for fans of Austen retellings.” — Publishers Weekly

MR. DICKENS AND HIS CAROL by Samantha Silva
A November 2017 Indie Next pick! Shakespeare in Love meets A Christmas Carol in this debut novel set as Charles Dickens writes his beloved classic. “With the wit and sprightly tone of a classic storyteller, Silva presents a heartwarming tale of friendship and renewal that’s imbued with the true Christmas spirit.” — Booklist

CHRISTMAS IN LONDON by Anita Hughes
A charming, glamourous love story set at Claridge’s in London during the magical week before Christmas starring a sweet NYC baker and the Cooking Channel Producer who could change her life. “Hughes has romance readers’ mouths watering and hearts melting with this food- and holiday-themed novel.” — Booklist

HOPE AT CHRISTMAS by Nancy Naigle
Reeling from divorce, Sydney moves back to her hometown with her daughter, but doesn’t expect to fall for Santa (single dad and local high school history teacher Kevin). “Naigle’s wonderfully heart-warming holiday story will appeal to romance and women’s fiction readers.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (11/16/17 Edition)

These lady detectives always close the case!

THE GHOST OF CHRISTMAS PAST by Rhys Bowen
When semi-retired private detective Molly Murphy Sullivan and her husband, Daniel, are invited for Christmas at a mansion on the Hudson, the last thing they expect is to get involved in a decade-old missing persons case. “For series and historical mystery fans, it’s a treat to return to historic New York during the holidays as the indomitable Molly investigates an unusual disappearance.” — Library Journal

A SEASON TO LIE by Emily Littlejohn
Librarian Littlejohn’s “lively sequel”* to her acclaimed debut, INHERIT THE BONES, has Colorado police officer Gemma Monroe investigating the murder of a world-famous author whose presence in town was meant to be a secret. “Readers will look forward to seeing more of this insightful and likable character. — *Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

RT Book Reviews 2015 Reviewer’s Choice Award Winners

Romantic Times Book Reviews honored two Macmillan authors with career achievement awards and three titles won 2015 RT Reviewer’s Choice Awards!

Career Achievement – Historical Mystery
Rhys Bowen (Molly Murphy series)

Career Achievement – Young Adult
R.L. Stine (Fear Street series)

Best Historical Mystery
JADE DRAGON MOUNTAIN by Elsa Hart

Best First Mystery
THE UNQUIET DEAD by Ausma Zehanat Khan

Best Science Fiction
RADIANCE by Catherynne M. Valente

See the full list of winners here.

Thriller Thursday (3/3/16 Edition)

An incredible true crime story, a psychological thriller and two new entries in bestselling series are on the docket this #ThrillerThursday:

MURDER OVER A GIRL: Justice, Gender, Junior High by Ken Corbett
A psychologist’s gripping, troubling, and moving exploration of the brutal murder of a possibly transgender middle school student by an eighth grade classmate. “Profound and disturbing, this heartbreaking testimony of our culture’s worst fissures suggests that understanding is the only way to heal.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

A BED OF SCORPIONS by Judith Flanders
In the sequel to the February 2015 LibraryReads pick A MURDER OF MAGPIES, book editor/amateur sleuth Samantha Clair must help her old friend find out who murdered his business partner in his art gallery. “New adult readers will enjoy the Bridget Jones–style wry humor as well as Sam’s chaotic romantic life; mainstream-mystery fans will appreciate the smart plotting and clever writing. Fans of Lorna Barrett and Jen McKinlay should also be shown this series.”
Booklist

A TIME OF FOG AND FIRE by Rhys Bowen
Molly Murphy Sullivan rushes to San Francisco after learning that her husband, deep undercover on a secret assignment, is in grave danger. “Molly shines once again in this sixteenth entry in an appealing series that foretells changes ahead for the Sullivan family.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Booklist’s Best Crime 2015

 

May is Mystery Month over at Booklist and to celebrate they’ve put together “Best of” reading lists with loads of Macmillan titles!
Plus, Booklist Reader has a special feature on one of our favorite mystery authors…

The Year’s Best Crime Novels: 2015

THE LONG WAY HOME by Louise Penny
With her beloved series hero, former Montreal Chief Inspector Armand Gamache, now retired, Penny moves from finding reasons to get Gamache back to his beloved village of Three Pines to taking him on a road trip, first to Europe and then to the wilds of Canada’s upper St. Lawrence River. As always, Penny dexterously combines suspense with psychological drama, overlaying the whole with an all-powerful sense of landscape as a conduit to meaning. Another gem from an endlessly inventive writer.

THE WHITES by Harry Brandt
Richard Price returns as Harry Brandt with the story of Billy Graves, an aging NYPD cop who suspects that one of his cronies in the Wild Geese, a legendary anti-crime unit from the nineties, may now be killing the crooks who got away back in the day. With one-of-a-kind characters and settings so real you can smell them, The Whites isn’t about cops and killers as much it’s about the damage we all carry, the sins we’ve all committed, and the heartbreaking unlikeliness of forgiveness. An unrelenting, moving story of crime and social justice.

Best Crime Fiction Debuts

AN APPETITE FOR VIOLETS
by Martine Bailey

Set in the 1770s, Bailey’s debut stars Biddy Leigh, undercook at Mawton Hall in Cheshire, England, who accompanies the master’s wife on a trip to Italy, where she falls in love with a chef and is thrown into a murder case. A delectable dish for foodies and the Downton Abbey crowd.

NIGHT OF THE JAGUAR by Joe Gannon
Gannon places a classic hard-boiled detective in the middle of 1980s Nicaragua, with its poisonous politics, and tells the story of the times in emotion-drenched, wonderfully lyrical prose.

Top 10 Crime Fiction Audiobooks

THE BLACK-EYED BLONDE by Benjamin Black, read by Dennis Boutsikaris
Boutsikaris steps into Marlowe’s shoes as he narrates the search for a dead man who might not be dead at all. Set in the 1950s and true to Chandler’s creation, this is a memorable visit to the mean streets. readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (3/5/15 Edition)

Stuck at home on a snow day (or wishing you were)? Macmillan’s got the mysteries to give you more chills than that foot of powder outside!

THE EDGE OF DREAMS by Rhys Bowen
A near-fatal train accident leaves Molly Murphy sleuthing from the sidelines while her police captain husband has been receiving cryptic notes after each death in a string of murders. “The extremely tricky plot of Bowen’s 14th Molly Murphy mystery will keep even veteran whodunit readers guessing.” — Publishers Weekly

FIREBREAK by Tricia Fields
In the dry landscape of West Texas a massive wildfire provides the perfect opportunity for someone to get away with murder. “Tony Hillerman Prize-winner Fields’s fourth Josie Gray mystery is as crisp as brush ready to catch fire.”
Publishers Weekly

THE HIDDEN MAN by Robin Blake (2 starred reviews!)
“Set in 1742, British author Blake’s superior third whodunit featuring Dr. Luke Fidelis and coroner Titus Cragg centers on an impossible crime. The sleuths are an entertaining duo, and Blake again couples skillful plotting with authentic period details.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (3/6/14 Edition)

Today we've got a super-sized #ThrillerThursday with mysteries to satisfy every reader, from cozies to psychological suspense and more! 

PRECIOUS THING by Colette McBeth
A March 2014 Library Reads pick! "Debut author McBeth’s GONE GIRL-style psychological thriller will be a widespread hit for fans of dark drama with questionable narrators, including S. J. Watson’s BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP (2011), Sabine Durrant’s UNDER YOUR SKIN (2013), and Karen Perry’s THE INNOCENT SLEEP (2013)." Booklist, starred review

THE BLACK-EYED BLONDE by Benjamin Black
Black's "pitch-perfect recreation" of Raymond Chandler's incomparable private eye Philip Marlowe goes "beyond mere thoughtful homage" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) when a seductive young heiress asks Marlowe to find her former lover. "Great fun for Chandlerians." — Booklist 

CITY OF DARKNESS AND LIGHT by Rhys Bowen
In the 13th entry of Bowen's New York Times bestselling historical series, Molly Murphy and her infant son are in Paris where she unexpectedly gets entangled in the murder of an Impressionist artist. "Molly is a smart, feisty heroine who admirably defends her investigation to a very skeptical Sûreté. Though placed a decade or so earlier, this breezy historical mystery will appeal to fans of Carola Dunn’s Daisy Dalrymple and Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs." — Booklist  

THE PLAYER by Brad Parks
In the latest book in Parks' award-winning series, Carter Ross investigates a suspicious disease, but it takes him down a path that leads directly into the arms of the local mob boss. "Parks, a gifted storyteller (with shades of Mark Twain, or maybe Dave Barry), shows his mastery of the comic absurd behind serious journalism in his fifth outing." — Library Journal, starred review  

WRECKED by Tricia Fields
"Fields’ third Josie Gray outing is emotionally taut, building to a breathtaking climax and portraying, in the process, the danger inherent in a Texas border town and presenting Josie, previously wary of commitment, with new challenges. More fine southwestern crime fiction by an author who clearly loves the locale." Booklist, starred review  

PROVIDENCE RAG by Bruce DeSilva
“Edgar-winner DeSilva melds moral dilemmas with a suspenseful plot in his third novel featuring Providence, R.I.–based reporter Liam Mulligan, his best yet.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Mulligan’s character, played off the vicissitudes of his job, is skillfully layered and engaging. DeSilva, who worked for decades at the AP, won an Edgar for Best First Novel for ROGUE ISLAND (2010). He knows of what he writes.” Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove
css.php