Articles tagged "Maryse Meijer"

#PubDay (2/12/19)

SO MANY STARS in today’s #pubday… the sky is jealous!

THE NIGHT TIGER by Yangsze Choo
Three starred reviews!
A Nancy Pearl favorite!
“Choo weaves her research in with a feather-light touch, and readers will be so caught up in the natural and supernatural intrigue that the serious themes here about colonialism and power dynamics, about gender and class, are absorbed with equal delicacy. Choo has written a sumptuous garden maze of a novel that immerses readers in a complex, vanished world.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE CASSANDRA by Sharma Shields
“[Shields] offers satirically comedic scenes and satisfyingly venomous takedowns of the patriarchy, welcome flashes of light in this otherwise harrowing dive into the darkest depths of hubris and apocalyptic destruction. A uniquely audacious approach to the nuclear nightmare.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Short Story Feature + Stars for RAG and INSTRUCTIONS FOR A FUNERAL

Today we celebrate the bite-size wonder of short stories with a feature on four incredible collections.

MOTHERS: Stories by Chris Power
Peopled by men and women who find themselves at crossroads or dead ends, these stories evoke the magic and despair of the essential human longing for purpose. “Power’s wide-ranging debut is confident, complex, bizarre, poignant, and elegantly crafted—a very strong collection.”–Kirkus Reviews

BONUS! If you enjoy listening to music while reading, check out Chris Power’s custom MOTHERS playlist.

WE LOVE ANDERSON COOPER: Short Stories by R.L. Maizes
Available July 23, 2019
A charmingly funny but deeply human short story collection about outsiders from a Pushcart Prize-nominee.

BONUS! Head over to Edelweiss for the e-galley.

And we’re not the only ones loving on short stories. These forthcoming collections have received multiple starred reviews!

RAG: Stories by Maryse Meijer
Available February 12, 2019
“In Meijer’s outstanding and disturbing second collection (after HEARTBREAKER), her fragmented writing style produces an intense and distilled view of isolated moments—or, conversely, makes the outrageous or aberrant seem ordinary.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (7/12/16 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday!

ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN by Wendy Walker
The must-read summer thriller of 2016 with movie rights snapped up by Reese Witherspoon is also a July 2016 Library Reads & Indie Next pick, and a Maximum Shelf Awareness selection! In a small affluent town, a teenage girl is attacked at a local party and in the hours immediately after is given a controversial drug to medically erase her memory of the violent assault. Except she can’t really forget and the person narrating the story wants her to remember what happened. But why? “Exceptional… While secret after secret about the residents of Fairview add to the suspense, Forrester’s secrets may be the most stunning of all.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review


HEARTBREAKER by Maryse Meijer
A scarily brilliant debut story collection in the vein of Lindsay Hunter and Katherine Faw Morris. “The edgy stories in Meijer’s debut collection cut like so many wild teeth: sharp, deep, and unforgiving. A dark and surprising new voice in short fiction.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: July 2016 LibraryReads Titles

July16LRcollage-editDownload, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the July 2016* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due May 20! Click here for the full list of 2016 deadlines.

ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN by Wendy Walker
The must-read summer thriller of 2016 with movie rights snapped up by Reese Witherspoon! In a small affluent town, a teenage girl is attacked at a local party and in the hours immediately after is given a controversial drug to medically erase her memory of the violent assault. Except she can’t really forget and the person narrating the story wants her to remember what happened. But why? “I’m a sucker for dark, twisty, intricately-plotted psychological thrillers. I’m betting we’ll be seeing this title in a LOT of beach bags over the summer.” — Gregg Winsor, Johnson County Public Library, Overland Park KS

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

TRULY MADLY GUILTY by Liane Moriarty
The first new book by #1 New York Times bestselling author Liane Moriarty in two years! Six responsible adults. Three cute kids. One small dog. It’s just a normal weekend. What could possibly go wrong?

There are a limited quantity of print ARCs available only for public librarians​ actively nominating titles for LibraryReads. To request an ARC, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Truly Madly Guilty” and your mailing address.*

AMONG THE WICKED by Linda Castillo
In the eighth book in Castillo’s bestselling series, Kate Burkholder goes undercover in an isolated and secretive Amish community in rural, upstate New York to investigate the death of a young girl. “Ripped-from-the-headlines writing from the New York Times best-selling author…” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Among the Wicked.”*

ABSALOM’S DAUGHTERS by Suzanne Feldman
Winner of the Missouri Review Editors’ Prize, Feldman takes on a lot of themes in this literary debut. Self-educated African American Cassie works in the family laundry in rural Mississippi, starry-eyed Judith is her white half-sister, and when they learn about an inheritance from their father, they jump in a banged-up old car and head through the 1950s Jim Crow South for Virginia. Not your ordinary road-trip novel; big in-house enthusiasm.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss
readmoreremove

css.php