Articles tagged "Mary Russell series"

Thriller Thursday (6/8/17 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday! First, big congrats to our nominees on the 2017 CWA Dagger longlists:

The CWA Gold Dagger
THE DRY by Jane Harper

The Ian Fleming Steel Dagger
MOSKVA by Jack Grimwood
THE ONE MAN by Andrew Gross
REDEMPTION ROAD by John Hart

The John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger
WHAT YOU DON’T KNOW by JoAnn Chaney
GOOD ME BAD ME by Ali Land

The Gold Dagger for Non-Fiction
ARTHUR AND SHERLOCK: Conan Doyle and the Creation of Holmes by Michael Sims

The CWA Endeavour Historical Dagger
BY GASLIGHT by Steven Price

Now on to this week’s new books!

HE SAID/SHE SAID by Erin Kelly
Two starred reviews! On the eve of a solar eclipse, a couple forced into hiding discovers that they can no longer run from their past in this taut psychological suspense novel. “HE SAID/SHE SAID is a thriller to savor, and should be one of the highlights of the summer.” — Associated Press

WOLF ON A STRING by Benjamin Black
Bestselling author Black turns his eye to sixteenth century Prague and a story of murder, magic and the dark art of wielding extraordinary power. “Black displays his mastery of yet another mystery subgenre in this brooding, atmospheric whodunit set in 16th-century Prague. Superior prose complements the intricate plot.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

YOU BELONG TO ME by Colin Harrison
An elite immigration attorney and obsessive collector of antique New York City maps is drawn into a swiftly escalating series of murders in Harrison’s latest whodunit. “In his latest New York-centered crime thriller, Harrison spins a tightly wound tale of obsession and betrayal. The narrative is as impressively constructed as the maps in Paul’s collection: each section laid out in seamless order to allow for a satisfyingly neat conclusion.” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

BEEKEEPER’S APPRENTICE Common Core Guide

Great news! Laurie R. King has created a free Common Core Guide for THE BEEKEEPER’S APPRENTICE to share with you (and your students and patrons)!

The guide includes guided comprehension & discussion questions, vocabulary lists & worksheets, supplemental research materials, even chapter quizzes & tests, all in a ready-to-print format. (Yes, with a separate teachers’ answer packet, as well!) All of this in addition to the BEEKEEPER book discussion guide and Laurie’s suggested background reading.

“Now, I’d always thought that BEEKEEPER could be a useful introduction to the Twentieth Century: World War One, the women’s movement, roots of conflict in Europe and the Middle East, the huge social and technological changes—all that plus Sherlock Holmes & villains & hansom cabs &—well, let’s just say this is a book that I would have loved to study in school.

Not only will it bring a lot of vulnerable young minds into contact with the Russell & Holmes gateway drug —er, book (to be fair, BEEKEEPER is both an ALA Notable Young Adult Book and an ALA Outstanding Book for the College Bound), it also creates another community around Mary Russell and her world: teachers eager for an excuse to teach a rousing good tale in the classroom.”
— Laurie R. King

Click here to download THE BEEKEEPER’S APPRENTICE Common Core Guide.

 

 

Happy #BookBday (5/27/14 Edition)

Salutations and fine Book Day o'Birth to three historical novels: 

DARK AEMILIA by Sally O'Reilly
Perfect for readers of Deborah Harkness, Paula Brackston, and Sarah Dunant, O'Reilly's 17th century tale of William Shakespeare's dark lady and one true love is full of sorcery and passion. “O’Reilly casts her story with witches, doomed royals, evil courtiers, and star-crossed lovers, as if it were a Jacobean play. But her finest accomplishment is not the tribute she pays to these historical figures, but the bold imagination she displays in bringing them together.” — Publishers Weekly

THE BEEKEEPER'S APPRENTICE: or, On the Segregation of the Queen by Laurie King
Full of brilliant deduction, disguises, and danger, this 20th anniversary edition of the first book of the Mary Russell–Sherlock Holmes mysteries is “wonderfully original and entertaining...absorbing from beginning to end” (Booklist).

HANNIBAL: Enemy of Rome by Ben Kane
Rome’s greatest enemy is Carthage, and Carthage’s greatest general is Hannibal—this is Hannibal’s story, as his personal quest for revenge after his confidant’s son is sold into slavery, leads to the greatest conflict of the ancient world. 

Now let the festivities commence! (Or in modern parlance, let's have cake!) readmoreremove

Laurie R. King giveaway

Laurie R. King loves libraries and is showing it by giving away copies of her Mary Russell books!

“The theme of this year’s American Library Association celebration is Lives change @ your library. So that’s what Team LRK is celebrating as well.  As you must know by now, I love libraries. I use libraries by the cubic meter, by the hundredweight, by the hour.  Using any measure, libraries shaped me and continue to shape my writing.

So this spring, where I am also celebrating my own great good fortune in twenty years of Mary Russell, I’m giving away some of her books.

If you know a library that sponsors book clubs, and can make use of fifteen copies of the same Russell title, send us the library’s name.  We’ll do a drawing every week between now and the publication date for the 20th Anniversary Edition of THE BEEKEEPER'S APPRENTICE, May 27. Show your library you love them, and let me send them some books.

Send your library nomination, to info@laurierking.com with the subject line Libraries.”

For more, check out Laurie's blog. Good luck! readmoreremove

css.php