Happy #BookBday (5/27/14 Edition)

Salutations and fine Book Day o'Birth to three historical novels: 

DARK AEMILIA by Sally O'Reilly
Perfect for readers of Deborah Harkness, Paula Brackston, and Sarah Dunant, O'Reilly's 17th century tale of William Shakespeare's dark lady and one true love is full of sorcery and passion. “O’Reilly casts her story with witches, doomed royals, evil courtiers, and star-crossed lovers, as if it were a Jacobean play. But her finest accomplishment is not the tribute she pays to these historical figures, but the bold imagination she displays in bringing them together.” — Publishers Weekly

THE BEEKEEPER'S APPRENTICE: or, On the Segregation of the Queen by Laurie King
Full of brilliant deduction, disguises, and danger, this 20th anniversary edition of the first book of the Mary Russell–Sherlock Holmes mysteries is “wonderfully original and entertaining...absorbing from beginning to end” (Booklist).

HANNIBAL: Enemy of Rome by Ben Kane
Rome’s greatest enemy is Carthage, and Carthage’s greatest general is Hannibal—this is Hannibal’s story, as his personal quest for revenge after his confidant’s son is sold into slavery, leads to the greatest conflict of the ancient world. 

Now let the festivities commence! (Or in modern parlance, let's have cake!)