Articles tagged "Julia MacDonnell"

Happy #BookBday (4/1/14 Edition)

Today we’re excited to wish a very happy #BookBday to:

SEDITION by Katharine Grant
In this "...witty, dark, and sophisticated tale" (Publishers Weekly, starred review), four nouveau rich fathers make their five marriageable daughters learn to play the piano in an effort to attract men and marry well. "[A] fun, lascivious gambol through the lives of women and men with decidedly carnal appetites... Suggest to fans of Sarah Dunant and Sarah Waters." — Booklist

MIMI MALLOY, AT LAST! by Julia MacDonnell
An April 2014 Indie Next pick! "MacDonnell captures perfectly the family dynamics between sisters, mothers, and daughters, as if she were sitting in on their gab sessions, taking copious notes. For readers who enjoy Maeve Binchy and Rosamunde Pilcher, this is a highly engaging family chronicle, with a healthy dose of Irish history laced in as well." — Booklist 

THE VENETIAN BARGAIN by Marina Fiorato
An unforgettable love story set in sixteenth century Venice by the bestselling author of THE GLASSBLOWER OF MURANO. "Headstrong, smart, and likable, Feyra is a heroine who will resonate with most readers. Captivating language, intricate details, and a very dramatic story line combine to entice anyone interested in historical fiction and timeless tales." — Booklist

And in honor of April Fool’s Day, don’t forget to visit the Free Library of Philadelphia’s innovative new 'Cat'alog. #meow

readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: April 2014 Indie Next list

Indie Next logoThe April 2014 Indie Next list was recently announced and we're thrilled that it includes so many great Macmillan titles!

THE EMPATHY EXAMS by Leslie Jamison
"A tough, intrepid, scouring observer and vigilant thinker, she generates startling and sparking extrapolations and analysis. On the prowl for truth and intimate with pain, Jamison carries forward the fierce and empathic essayistic tradition as practiced by writers she names as mentors, most resonantly James Agee and Joan Didion." — Booklist, starred review & our most popular ARC at ALA Midwinter! 

THE PLOVER by Brian Doyle
Doyle's story about a man who flees his troubled life on land for the solitude of the Pacific Ocean, but ends up on a rousing adventure is, “A rare and unusual book and a brilliant, mystical exploration of the human spirit.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

MIMI MALLOY, AT LAST! by Julia MacDonnell
"MacDonnell captures perfectly the family dynamics between sisters, mothers, and daughters, as if she were sitting in on their gab sessions, taking copious notes. For readers who enjoy Maeve Binchy and Rosamunde Pilcher, this is a highly engaging family chronicle, with a healthy dose of Irish history laced in as well." — Booklist 

THE CAIRO AFFAIR by Olen Steinhauer
Steinhauer's geopolitical tale about the aftermath of a diplomat's assassination and his wife's relentless investigation is “Elaborate, sophisticated…a long, twisty road full of cleverly placed potholes and unexpected turns. Mr. Steinhauer draws his spies as flesh-and-blood characters in whom his readers invest both attention and emotion.” — Janet Maslin, The New York Times

ROOSEVELT'S BEAST by Louis Bayard
Bayard draws on Teddy and Kermit Roosevelt’s real-life ill-fated 1914 Amazon expedition to create "A suspense-filled re-imagining of history deepened by a confrontation with evil’s supernatural presence." — Kirkus Reviews

See the full April 2014 Indie Next List here.

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: April LibraryReads titles

The March LibraryReads list may have just been announced (thank you to everyone who voted for PRECIOUS THING!!!), but we're already excited about April's potential picks. With February being such a short month and the Winter Olympics distracting us from reading time, the March 1 deadline to nominate April 2014 publications will be here faster than Shani Davis can break a new speedskating record!

Here's the inside track on our hot April titles: 

KEEP QUIET by Lisa Scottoline
In New York Times bestselling author Scottoline's latest standalone, Jake Whitmore is enjoying a rare bonding moment with his sixteen-year-old son, Ryan, when they get in a terrible car accident that threatens to derail Ryan’s future. Jake makes a split-second decision that saves his son from formal punishment, but plunges them both into a world of guilt, lies, and secrecy. When a malevolent outsider comes forward with the power to expose them, Jake must do anything he can to prevent the further unraveling of his family.

THE PLOVER by Brian Doyle
When Declan O Donnell flees his troubled life on land by setting out on the Pacific Ocean in his boat, the Plover, he discovers something much more interesting than the solitude he sought. "Doyle (editor, Portland Magazine) has written a novel in the adventurous style of Jack London and Robert Louis Stevenson but with a gentle mocking of their valorization of the individual as absolute. Readers will enjoy this bracing and euphoric ode to the vastness of the ocean and the unexpectedness of life." — Library Journal, starred review

SEDITION by Katharine Grant
In this "...witty, dark, and sophisticated tale" (Publishers Weekly, starred review), four nouveau rich fathers make their five marriageable daughters learn to play the piano in an effort to attract men and marry well. However, the girls' lascivious (and French) piano teacher has an education beyond music in his plans. "[A] fun, lascivious gambol through the lives of women and men with decidedly carnal appetites... Suggest to fans of Sarah Dunant and Sarah Waters." — Booklist

DESTROYER ANGEL by Nevada Barr
In the next book in Barr's New York Times bestselling Anna Pigeon series, a camping trip in Minnesota goes harrowingly wrong when Anna's friends are taken hostage by armed thugs. "Once again, Barr lays down a riveting mystery and permeates the pages with scrupulous descriptions of Anna's struggle with the cold, with the night, and with the terror and fear of not rescuing her friends." — Library Journal, starred review 

DON'T EVER LOOK BACK by Daniel Friedman
In this "alternately humorous and moving sequel" (Publishers Weekly) to the Edgar Award-nominated debut DON'T EVER GET OLD, feisty octogenarian Buck Schatz is trying to close the case on some unsolved robberies from his past.

'TIL THE WELL RUNS DRY by Lauren Francis-Sharma
This buzzed about debut novel is a glorious and moving multi-generational, multicultural saga that begins in the 1940s and sweeps through the 1960s in Trinidad and the United States. "Why the buzz: Voice, Voice, Voice! A story that takes you places you have never been and will stay with you forever." — Publishers Weekly, ABA's Winter Institute 9 round-up

MIMI MALLOY AT LAST by Julia MacDonnell
An April 2014 Indie Next pick! "MacDonnell captures perfectly the family dynamics between sisters, mothers, and daughters, as if she were sitting in on their gab sessions, taking copious notes. For readers who enjoy Maeve Binchy and Rosamunde Pilcher, this is a highly engaging family chronicle, with a healthy dose of Irish history laced in as well." — Booklist 
 

THE OTHER STORY by Tatiana de Rosnay
The internationally bestselling author of SARAH'S KEY returns with another absorbing novel about a young writer who, while digging into his family’s deeply buried secrets, finds the key to his future.

For more April LibraryReads title suggestions, view our collection on Edelweiss. Happy reading and happy nominating!

readmoreremove

While Anne’s Away…

In addition to reading recommendations for the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday -- here's a reminder on how to get pre-approved on Edelweiss for Macmillan e-galleys:

To get Whitelisted on Edelweiss*:

1. Register for Edelweiss with your library-issued e-mail address.
2. Send Anne an email that includes the e-mail address you registered with, your full name, and your current library (subject: Edelweiss).
3. Wait for Anne to send you a confirmation message, then download to your heart's delight and nominate titles you love for LibraryReads

*Whitelisting is only available to librarians currently employed in the U.S.

Already whitelisted and ready to read? Great! Here are some of Anne’s favorite Spring 2014 titles:

If you were moved by Ishmael Beah’s memoir, A LONG WAY GONE, read his first novel, RADIANCE OF TOMORROW

If you loved “Fatal Attraction” and “Unfaithful,” read APPLE TREE YARD by Louise Doughty

If you dig heartfelt love stories with a dose of Southern charm, read LOST LAKE by Sarah Addison Allen (just have a tissue handy) 

If you’re a fan of Richard Yates’s A GOOD SCHOOL and other literary coming-of-age stories, read THE LAST ENCHANTMENTS by Charles Finch

If you have a need for speed when you read (think Robert Ludlum’s Bourne books), don’t miss RUNNER by Patrick Lee

If you don’t mind gory mysteries with a touch of dark history, check out WHERE MONSTERS DWELL by Jørgen Brekke

If you can’t get enough of Indiana Jones-like capers, read THE BLOOD OF ALEXANDER by Tom Wilde

If you like your mysteries inspired by real-life events, read PROVIDENCE RAG by Bruce DeSilva

If you enjoyed Irène Némirovsky’s SUITE FRANCAISE, check out another posthumously discovered masterwork: EXILES RETURN by Elisabeth de Waal

If you enjoy Elizabeth Strout, Sue Monk Kidd, and Jojo Moyes, read MIMI MALLOY, AT LAST! by Julia MacDonnell

If you’re a fan of Anita Shreve and Richard Russo, read THE HEADMASTER'S WIFE by Thomas Christopher Greene. Fun fact: it already has a starred pre-publication review from Library Journal

If you like stories about everlasting friendship, music, and going home again, read SHOTGUN LOVESONGS by Nickolas Butler

If you like unreliable narrators, read THE INNOCENT SLEEP by Karen Perry

If you loved Michael Faber’s THE CRIMSON PETAL AND THE WHITE, read SEDITION by Katharine Grant

If you desperately need to know how the Tempest trilogy ends, read TIMESTORM by Julie Cross. It comes highly recommended by Stephanie Wilkes!

If you’re looking for THE next must-read for teens, check out THE HAVEN by librarian favorite, award-winning and critically acclaimed author, Carol Lynch Williams

Anne is now officially outta here and on the road! In the next few days you will find her assisting the academic marketing group at NCTE in Boston. If you’re there too - stop by booth #811-813 and give her a high-five and HUG. Then she'll be off cooking and crafting and hopefully sharing all of her creations with you! (She sees a lot of mug cakes in your future).

readmoreremove

css.php