Articles tagged "Conor Brady"

Luck ‘o the Irish Giveaway

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

AnneStPaddyDay16-crop

One librarian will have the luck ‘o the Irish and win this prize pack of titles including:

THE ELOQUENCE OF THE DEAD by Conor Brady (mystery)
IRISH FARMERS by Ciara Ryan (humor/animals/shirtless Irish men)
I NEVER KNEW THAT ABOUT IRELAND by Christopher Winn (travel/trivia)
AN IRISH DOCTOR IN LOVE AND AT SEA by Patrick Taylor (audiobook)

To enter the giveaway, simply email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: Irish books) by Thursday, March 31. Make sure to include your library’s mailing address to be placed in the random drawing.*

Good luck! 

UPDATE 4/1: This giveaway is now closed & Becky Greer of Tampa-Hillsborough Public Library in Ruskin FL has the luck ‘o the Irish!

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (3/17/16 Edition)

History + mystery = new #ThrillerThursday picks!

THE ELOQUENCE OF THE DEAD by Conor Brady
In former Irish Times editor Brady’s “stellar second whodunit set in Victorian Dublin,”* Sergeant Joe Swallow investigates the murder of a pawnbroker and his missing sister, who might be to blame. “The astute Swallow is a particularly well-rounded lead, and he’s matched with a complex, but logical, page-turner of a plot.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE MIDWIFE AND THE ASSASSIN by Sam Thomas
Midwife Bridget Hodgson and her deputy Martha Hawkins are forced into service under Jonathan Marlowe, Oliver Cromwell’s chief spymaster, to seek out Parliament’s enemies in London. “Thomas expertly integrates the tumult of the time into a fair-play mystery.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

DEADLY JEWELS by Jeannette de Beauvoir
“In Martine’s second outing (after ASYLUM), de Beauvoir transforms a historical tidbit (the shipping of British gold reserves and securities to Canada for safekeeping during World War II) into a fascinating premise; an absorbing endnote details the historical record. An intriguing choice for readers of James Houston’s THE BLOOD FLAG or Jon Land’s THE LAST PROPHECY.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (4/23/15 Edition)

Whether you’re looking to read true crime, a psychological thriller, or settle in with your favorite old (or new) detective, we’ve got the perfect #ThrillerThursday mystery for you:

ONE OF US by Åsne Seierstad
The nonfiction horror story told in ONE OF US moves slowly, inexorably and with tremendous authority. It’s said that exact detail is uniquely helpful when it comes to mending after terrible events. If it is true, as Stephen Jay Gould contended, that ‘nothing matches the holiness and fascination of accurate and intricate detail,’ then Ms. Seierstad has delivered a holy volume indeed.” — The New York Times

REYKJAVIK NIGHTS by Arnaldur Indridason
In this “riveting” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) prequel set in late-1960s Reykjavík, Indridason plumbs the backstory of his series lead, somber Insp. Erlendur Sveinsson. “The Icelandic author’s latest novel, REYKJAVIK NIGHTS nicely illustrates the qualities that make his books so deeply pleasurable.” — New York Times Book Review

A JUNE OF ORDINARY MURDERS by Conor Brady
This debut Victorian-era mystery finds Dublin detective sergeant Joe Swallow on the trail of a series of crimes that paints a much bigger picture. “Fans of mysteries that capture the flavor of the past will hope that Swallow has a long literary life.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE MASQUE OF A MURDERER by Susanna Calkins
“Third in the Lucy Campion historical-mystery series, this absorbing puzzler touches on the religious, social, and political changes in Restoration London as experienced by a wide cast of characters. Calkins’ tantalizing clues and rich historical details depicting everyday life and class differences draw readers into the seventeenth century, led by the piquant and elusive Lucy, whose heart is split between two suitors, her job precarious, and whose dauntless curiosity never flags.” — Booklist readmoreremove

St. Martin’s First – Winter 2015 E-Sampler

SMPW15samplerFriday Free Day Alert! Our buds at St. Martin’s Press have put together this fabulous debut chapter sampler just for you!

SMP has established the careers of countless bestselling authors over the years, and you can find out who is next with St. Martin’s First!

The sampler is available for direct download on ISSUU and is a Read it Now! title on NetGalley.

Titles include:

A FIREPROOF HOME FOR THE BRIDE by Amy Scheibe
THE LAST FLIGHT OF POXL WEST by Daniel Torday
THE WEDNESDAY GROUP by Sylvia True
THE SECRETS OF MIDWIVES by Sally Hepworth
THE FRIENDSHIP OF CRIMINALS by Robert Glinski
THE FIGARO MURDERS by Laura Lebow
A MURDER OF MAGPIES by Judith Flanders (a February 2015 LibraryReads pick!)
A JUNE OF ORDINARY MURDERS by Conor Brady
DUPLICITY by N.K. Traver
THE TRAGIC AGE by Stephen Metcalfe
DAUGHTER OF GODS AND SHADOWS by Jayde Brooks
PRETTY UGLY by Kirker Butler

Happy Reading!

css.php