Thriller Thursday (3/17/16 Edition)

History + mystery = new #ThrillerThursday picks!

THE ELOQUENCE OF THE DEAD by Conor Brady
In former Irish Times editor Brady’s “stellar second whodunit set in Victorian Dublin,”* Sergeant Joe Swallow investigates the murder of a pawnbroker and his missing sister, who might be to blame. “The astute Swallow is a particularly well-rounded lead, and he’s matched with a complex, but logical, page-turner of a plot.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE MIDWIFE AND THE ASSASSIN by Sam Thomas
Midwife Bridget Hodgson and her deputy Martha Hawkins are forced into service under Jonathan Marlowe, Oliver Cromwell’s chief spymaster, to seek out Parliament’s enemies in London. “Thomas expertly integrates the tumult of the time into a fair-play mystery.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

DEADLY JEWELS by Jeannette de Beauvoir
“In Martine’s second outing (after ASYLUM), de Beauvoir transforms a historical tidbit (the shipping of British gold reserves and securities to Canada for safekeeping during World War II) into a fascinating premise; an absorbing endnote details the historical record. An intriguing choice for readers of James Houston’s THE BLOOD FLAG or Jon Land’s THE LAST PROPHECY.” — Library Journal

LIE IN PLAIN SIGHT by Maggie Barbieri
When a local high school girl goes missing, enigmatic suburban mom Maeve Conlon is drawn into another dark mystery.

Share your reads with us @MacmillanLib this #ThrillerThursday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.