April 2018 Nonfiction

April 2018 Nonfiction

Add these amazing April nonfiction titles to your library’s shelves today: LOOK ALIVE OUT THERE by Sloane Crosley Also available in audio THREE starred reviews! The New York Times–bestselling author’s brand-new collection of essays is filled with her characteristic heart and punch-packing observations, but with a newfound coat of maturity. A thin coat. More of […]

Read More…

Friday Reads: Performing Arts Roundup

Friday Reads: Performing Arts Roundup

TGIF! Today we offer you a roundup of newly published and forthcoming books about actors, directors, a musician, and the performing arts. Are you not entertained?! THE SECRET LIFE OF THE AMERICAN MUSICAL: How Broadway Shows Are Built by Jack Viertel On Sale: March 1, 2016 “Viertel has written what will become a classic textbook […]

Read More…

Happy #BookBday (2/24/14 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (2/24/14 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday! Today we celebrate: A DARKER SHADE OF MAGIC by V.E. Schwab A February 2015 LibraryReads pick! “Schwab creates an ingenious set of nesting alternate Londons in this imaginative, well-crafted fantasy… Confident prose and marvelous touches-a chameleon coat, a scarlet river of magic, a piratical antiheroine-bring exuberant life […]

Read More…

Happy #BookBday (2/11/14 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (2/11/14 Edition)

Hip hip hooray, it's time for another #BookBday! Today we celebrate:

QUESADILLAS by Juan Pablo Villalobos
Mexican novelist Villalobos's darkly comic story about a poor Mexican family in which two teenage brothers set off to find their missing twin siblings–who were potentially abducted by aliens–is "a riotous tall tale” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) and "frequently laugh-out-loud funny." (Shelf Awareness)

GIRL ON THE GOLDEN COIN by Marci Jefferson
This solid debut novel about the beautiful and captivating Royalist exile Frances Stuart, who must walk a fine line between pleasing kings and protecting her family's secret is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory. "Jefferson's intoxicating first novel superbly draws readers into the mischief and maneuverings, loyalties and treacheries, and lust and hostility of powerful 17th century kings and scheming court sycophants." – Publishers Weekly, starred review

ACT ONE by Moss Hart
Moss Hart’s ACT ONE is not only one of the most celebrated American theater books of the twentieth century, according to legendary actress Julie Andrews it's also “The ultimate Broadway memoir by the master who raised the bar for us all.” The book is coming out just in time for Lincoln Centre Theatre's stage adaptation of “Act One,” written by Tony and Pulitzer-Prize Winning writer/director James Lapine. 

[...]

Read More...

css.php