Articles tagged "Wattpad Books"

Teen Talk (October 2019)

Check out our latest & greatest YA titles out this month, then join us on Twitter today at 2:30pm EST for Early Word YA Galley Chat (#ewgcya) and tell us what you’ve been reading & loving!

THE GRACE YEAR by Kim Liggett
9781250145444
Ages 14 – 18

No one speaks of the grace year. It’s forbidden.
Girls are told they have the power to lure grown men from their beds, drive women mad with jealousy. They believe their very skin emits a powerful aphrodisiac, the potent essence of youth, of a girl on the edge of womanhood. That’s why they’re banished for their sixteenth year, to release their magic into the wild so they can return purified and ready for marriage. But not all of them will make it home alive.

“The bones of Liggett’s tale of female repression are familiar ones, but her immersive storytelling effortlessly weaves horror elements with a harrowing and surprising survival story. Profound moments lie in small details, and readers’ hearts will race and break right along with the brave, capable Tierney’s.”
Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“This dark tale, often reminiscent of William Golding’s Lord of the Flies and Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, is both disturbing and uplifting . . . This is a novel that will appeal to those who like dark stories with fairy-tale elements; highly recommended as a book group discussion choice.”
School Library Journal

And don’t miss these new titles from Entangled: Teen, Page Street Kids, and Wattpad Books!
readmoreremove

Books for Teens 2020: Something Old, Something New

Welcome to 2020, the year of retellings!

From Macbeth to You’ve Got Mail and everywhere in between, we’ve got retellings galore! And that’s not all! Check out all of our 2020 books for teens below for your fill of adventure, revenge, and romance.

Follow us on Twitter (@MacmillanLib) for all book-related news, on Instagram (@Macmillan_Lib) for pretty pictures of books, and read Emily’s candid “Day’s YA” reviews of upcoming and backlist YA titles.

Winter 2020:

THE NIGHT COUNTRY: A Hazel Wood Novel by Melissa Albert
9781250246073
Available January 7, 2020 from Flatiron Books
Ages 13 to 18

The highly anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestselling tour de force THE HAZEL WOOD! In THE NIGHT COUNTRY, Alice Proserpine dives back into a menacing, mesmerizing world of dark fairy tales and hidden doors.

“It’s a magnificent creation, laden with wonder and fear impossible to turn away from, that will satisfy fans and grow with readers over time. Literal goose bumps.” —Booklist, starred review

“A must-read for fans of portal fantasies, mysteries, and readers who prefer their magic with bloody sharp edges.” —School Library Journal, starred review

“This follow-up to the astonishing THE HAZEL WOOD displays the same lush prose, dizzying imagination, and macabre sensibilities (along with the grisly body count) . . . A necessary read for Hinterland fans—and who isn’t?”
Kirkus Reviews

JANE ANONYMOUS by Laurie Faria Stolarz
9781250303707
Available January 7, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 13 to 18

Jane was held captive in a room with only a bed, a refrigerator, and an adjoining bathroom for seven months. Now she’s back home and the only thing that makes her feel better is writing about her experience. But will uncovering the truth of what happened break her forever?

“A story about lingering trauma, loss, and the journey toward healing, this gripping crime novel could be a documentary from the Investigation Discovery channel. A must-read.” —School Library Journal

“Stolarz ups the psychological ante . . . the depth of psychological intrigue is absorbing, and the twist on Stockholm syndrome, disturbing . . . this novel is a testament to how the mind can reshape reality in order to survive.”
Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“This engrossing confessional is both heartbreaking and hopeful.” —Booklist

TWEET CUTE by Emma Lord
9781250237323
Available January 21, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18

From debut author Emma Lord comes a re-imagining of You’ve Got Mail in this heartfelt and hilarious celebration of snarky tweets, first kisses, and an epic social-media battle between straight-A student Pepper and her biggest annoyance, Jack.

“This plugged-in romance will likely be seen as a precursor to the way teen love stories will be told for years to come.” —Booklist

“Readers will fall in love with the main characters, rooting for them to have their meet-cute.” —School Library Journal

“Lord accurately depicts various sides of today’s online culture. Amid all the digital hoopla is an engaging story about family loyalty and pursuing one’s own passions . . . A just-right combination of sweet and cheesy.” —Kirkus Reviews

DIAMOND CITY by Francesca Flores
9781250220448
Available January 28, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18

Is courage born or is it bred? In this action-packed young adult fantasy, a teen assassin must overcome poverty, violence, and loss because “good things don’t happen to girls who come from nothing . . . unless they risk everything.”

“Full of action sequences that will compel readers to keep turning pages, this book is ideal for those who enjoy fast-paced stories.” —School Library Journal

“An entertaining and action-driven tale of assassins and magic.”
Kirkus Reviews

CRACKED UP TO BE by Courtney Summers
9781250256973
Available February 4, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 13 to 18

The award-winning debut that started it all—now with a gorgeously updated cover (that happens to coordinate perfectly with SADIE) and a new foreword from the New York Times bestselling author herself!

FOUL IS FAIR by Hannah Capin
9781250239549
Available February 18, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 14 to 18

FOUL IS FAIR is a bloody, thrilling, fantasy retelling of Macbeth in which four girls seek revenge on the boys who have wronged them. Golden boys beware: something wicked this way comes.

“Rhythmic, propulsive prose drives this bloody retelling of Macbeth at a relentless pace all the way to its violent end . . . Intense, implausible, and impossible to put down.” —Kirkus Reviews

THE DYSASTERS: The Graphic Novel: Volume 1 by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast
9781250268778
Available February 25, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18

In their first graphic novel adaptation, #1 New York Times bestsellers P.C. and Kristin Cast bring us the world of THE DYSASTERS—genetically manipulated teenagers must control their abilities as they learn of their past, how they came to be, who’s following them, and what tomorrow will bring.

ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED by Sophie Gonzales
9781250315892
Available March 3, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 13 to 18

SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA meets Clueless in this boy-meets-boy spin on Grease. Ollie and Will were meant to only be a summer fling, but when they end up attending the same school, will their fling become something more?

“Summer lovin’ gets a Southern twist in this addicting coming-of-age gay romance . . . Poignant, piquant, and not to be missed.” —Kirkus Reviews

ANNA K.: A Love Story by Jenny Lee
9781250236432
Available March 3, 2020 from Flatiron Books YA
Ages 14 to 18

A deliciously inventive re-imagining of Leo Tolstoy’s timeless love story, ANNA KARENINA​, set in the elite enclaves of Manhattan and Greenwich—perfect for fans of CRAZY RICH ASIANS and Gossip Girl.

“A slow-burn epic tale of love in modern-day Manhattan high society.”
Kirkus Reviews

TIN HEART by Shivaun Plozza will be available in trade paperback on March 20, 2020.

readmoreremove

Teen Talk (September 2019 Edition)

Hi, YA pals!

Check out our latest & greatest YA titles from this month, then join us on Twitter today at 2:30pm EST for Early Word YA Galley Chat (#ewgcya) and tell us what you’ve been reading & loving!

THE GIRL THE SEA GAVE BACK by Adrienne Young
9781250168481
Ages 12-18

The new gut-wrenching epic from the New York Times bestselling author of SKY IN THE DEEP.
For as long as she can remember, Tova has lived among the Svell, the people who found her washed ashore as a child and use her for her gift as a Truthtongue. Her own home and clan are long-faded memories, but the sacred symbols inked on her skin mark her as one who can see into the future. She has found a fragile place among those who fear her, but when two clans to the east join together as one, her world is dangerously close to collapse.

“Halvard and Tova’s world is described as brutal and beautiful—their personal struggles with identity, fate, and community shine against the minimalistic plot and slowly building tension.” —Kirkus Reviews

HIS HIDEOUS HEART: 13 of Edgar Allan Poe’s Most Unsettling Tales Reimagined ed. by Dahlia Adler
9781250302779
Ages 12-18

Edgar Allan Poe may be a hundred and fifty years beyond this world, but the themes of his beloved works have much in common with modern young adult fiction. Whether the stories are familiar to readers or discovered for the first time, readers will revel in Edgar Allan Poe’s classic tales, and how they’ve been brought to life in thirteen unique and unforgettable ways. Contributors include Tiffany D. Jackson, Caleb Roehrig, Kendare Blake, Stephanie Kuehn, and many more.

readmoreremove

Teen Talk (Summer 2019 Edition)

Hello, YA librarians!

Check out our latest & greatest YA titles from this summer, then join us on Twitter today at 2:30pm EST for Early Word YA Galley Chat (#ewgcya) and tell us what you’ve been reading & loving!

PLEASE SEND HELP by Gaby Dunn & Allison Raskin
9781250216533
Ages 14 to 18

In this sequel to I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU, long distance BFFs Ava and Gen have finally made it to the same time zone (although they’re still over a thousand miles apart). Through their hilarious, sometimes emotional, but always relatable conversations, Ava and Gen are each other’s support systems through internships, relationship troubles, questionable roommates, undercover reporting, and whether or not it’s a good idea to take in a feral cat.

“This sequel packs a punch as Ava and Gen help each other navigate a gaslighting boyfriend (also Ava’s boss), an STI, Gen’s brave exposé on a homeless shelter’s treatment of LGBTQ folks, and an adopted, pregnant feral cat. Ava and Gen’s supportive, unconditional friendship is the star of this series.” —Booklist

THE LAST HOPE by Krista & Becca Ritchie
9781250128737
Ages 12 to 18

In this sequel to the YA sci-fi romance, THE RAGING ONES, Franny, Court, and Mykal have just discovered that they are human and must come to terms with that fact while locked up in prison on their enemy’s starcraft. As Court and Mykal grow closer, their linked bond becomes harder to hide, and dynamics change when Franny begins to fall for someone new.

“Romance, intrigue, and deep worldbuilding make every page thrum with life . . . Tightly plotted and brimming with heart.” —Kirkus Reviews

readmoreremove
css.php