Articles tagged "Margarita Montimore"

For Your Consideration: February 2020 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite February titles for the February 2020 LibraryReads list!

Votes due January 1!

THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER by Andy Davidson

A supernatural thriller about a young woman facing down ancient forces in the depths of the bayou.

2 starred reviews!

Davidson’s style is restrained, with a slow burn that explodes at the novel’s midpoint, making room for the plot to breathe and unravel toward the satisfying conclusion.”–Booklist, starred review

A stunning supernatural Southern gothic.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

SAINT X by Alexis Schaitkin

A Library Journal Best Debut! A haunting portrait of grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters never truly given the chance to know one another. “Setting the story in a fictional place, collaged and verbally photoshopped from real Caribbean settings, is daring, but this writer is fearless, and her gamble pays off.This killer debut is both a thriller with a vivid setting and an insightful study of race, class, and obsession.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Forthcoming #FridayReads: OONA OUT OF ORDER

A young woman explores family, love, and life as she bounces through time in Margarita Montimore’s OONA OUT OF ORDER.

Our story starts on New Years Eve 1982, which also happens to be the day before Oona Lockhart’s 19th birthday. She has big decisions to make about her future, with a boyfriend who loves her, and her whole life ahead of her. On the stroke of midnight, Oona passes out and wakes up in 2015 in her 51 year old body. Thus begins Oona’s life of jumping forwards and backwards through time to a random different year in her life every New Years Eve, experiencing life out of order. The novel is moving and surprisingly funny as it explores the power of love, the bonds of family, and wonders of life, making it perfect for readers of Chloe Benjamin’s THE IMMORTALISTS, THE TIME TRAVELLER’S WIFE, and THE CLOCKMAKER’S DAUGHTER, and definitely great for book clubs.

Librarian excitement for OONA OUT OF ORDER

Download the e-galley from NetGalley, or email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “OONA OUT OF ORDER” to request a download widget.

August Librarian Preview

Earlier today we hosted our first ever Librarian Preview! In case you missed it, here are the highlights:

Adult

FIND ME | André Aciman | October 29, 2019 | 9780374155018
A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD | Therese Anne Fowler | February 4, 2020 | 9781250237279
THE GRAMMARIANS | Cathleen Schine | September 3, 2019 | 9780374280116
THE MIRROR & THE LIGHT | Hilary Mantel | March 10, 2020 | 9780805096606
A HUNDRED SUNS | Karin Tanabe | April 7, 2020 | 9781250231475
CILKA’S JOURNEY | Heather Morris | October 1, 2019 | 9781250265708
THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS | Jennifer Rosner | March 3, 2020 | 9781250179760
THE GOD GAME | Danny Tobey | January 7, 2020 | 9781250306142
DEAD ASTRONAUTS | Jeff VanderMeer | December 3, 2019 | 9780374276805
THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER | Andy Davidson | February 11, 2020 | 9780374538552
A HERO BORN | Jin Yong | September 17, 2019 | 9781250220608
NINTH HOUSE | Leigh Bardugo | October 8, 2019 | 9781250313072
HOUSE OF EARTH AND BLOOD | Sarah J. Maas | March 3, 2020 | 9781635574043
YOU ARE NOT ALONE | Greer Hendricks + Sarah Pekkanen | March 3, 2020 | 9781250202031
HID FROM OUR EYES | Julia Spencer-Fleming | April 7, 2020 | 9780312606855
WHAT ROSE FORGOT | Nevada Barr | September 17, 2019 | 9781250207135
THE LONG CALL | Ann Cleeves | September 3, 2019 | 9781250204448
TAKE ME APART | Sara Sligar | April 28, 2020 | 9780374272616
SAINT X | Alexis Schaitkin | February 18, 2020 | 9781250219596
SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS | Kawai Strong Washburn | March 31, 2020 | 9780374272081
OONA OUT OF ORDER | Margarita Montimore | February 25, 2020 | 9781250236609
THE OTHER BENNET SISTER | Janice Hadlow | February 18, 2020 | 9781250129413
DOMINICANA | Angie Cruz | September 3, 2019 | 9781250205933
AMERICAN DIRT | Jeanine Cummins | January 21, 2020 | 9781250209764
PECULIAR QUESTIONS AND PRACTICAL ANSWERS | Barry Blitt | October 22, 2019 | 9781250203625
MOLLY | Colin Butcher | October 8, 2019 | 9781250204776
CONVERSATIONS WITH RBG | Jeffrey Rosen | November 5, 2019 | 9781250235169
UNFOLLOW | Megan Phelps-Roper | October 8, 2019 | 9780374275839
DIARY OF A DRAG QUEEN | Crystal Rasmussen with Tom Rasmussen | April 14, 2020 | 9780374538576
HERE WE ARE | Aarti Namdev Shahani | October 1, 2019 | 9781250204752

YA

WAYWARD SON | Rainbow Rowell | September 24, 2019 | 9781250146076
THE NIGHT COUNTRY | Melissa Albert | January 7, 2020 | 9781250246073
DIAMOND CITY | Francesca Flores | January 28, 2020 | 9781250220448
HIS HIDEOUS HEART | Edited by Dahlia Adler | September 10, 2019 | 9781250302779
JANE ANONYMOUS | Laurie Faria Stolarz | January 7, 2020 | 9781250303707
CRACKED UP TO BE | Courtney Summers | February 4, 2020 | 9781250256973
FOUL IS FAIR | Hannah Capin | February 4, 2020 | 9781250239549
WHERE THE WORLD ENDS | Geraldine McCaughrean | December 3, 2019 | 9781250225498
THE GRACE YEAR | Kim Liggett | October 8, 2019 | 9781250145444
TWEET CUTE | Emma Lord | January 21, 2020 | 9781250237323
ANNA K. | Jenny Lee | March 3, 2020 | 9781250236432
ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED | Sophie Gonzales | March 3, 2020 | 9781250315892

Click here for a copy of our handout, and here to see which titles Tor was excited about.

Happy Hour Book Buzz at ALA Annual 2019

In case you are #alaleftbehind and missed our epically awesome Happy Hour Book Buzz #MLHAPPYHOUR (guest starring Jeanine Cummins!), here are the highlights:

Adult

AMERICAN DIRT | Jeanine Cummins | January 21, 2020 | 9781250209764 | HC | $26.99
YOU ARE NOT ALONE | Hendricks + Pekkanen | March 3, 2020 | 9781250202031 | HC | $27.99
A BETTER MAN | Louise Penny | August 27, 2019 | 9781250066213 | HC | $28.99
WHAT ROSE FORGOT | Nevada Barr | September 17, 2019 | 9781250207135 | HC | $28.99
THE WHISPER MAN | Alex North | August 20, 2019 | 9781250317995 | HC | $26.99
SAINT X | Alexis Schaitkin | February 4, 2020 | 9781250219596 | HC | $26.99
THE OTHER BENNET SISTER | Janice Hadlow | February 18, 2020 | 9781250129413 | HC | $28.00
OONA OUT OF ORDER | Margarita Montimore | February 25, 2020 | 9781250236609 | HC | $26.99
THE GOD GAME | Danny Tobey | January 7, 2020 | 9781250306142 | HC | $26.99
RUST: A Memoir of Steel and Grit | Eliese Colette Goldbach | March 3, 2020 | 9781250239402 | HC | $27.99
MOLLY: The True Story of the Amazing Dog Who Rescues Cats | Colin Butcher | October 8, 2019 | 9781250204776 | HC | $26.99
WE ARE THE WEATHER: Saving the Planet Begins at Breakfast | Jonathan Safran Foer | September 17, 2019 | 9780374280000 | HC | $24.00
HIGH SCHOOL | Sara Quin + Tegan Quin | September 24, 2019 | 9780374169947 | HC | $27.00
FATHER OF LIONS: One Man’s Remarkable Quest to Save the Mosul Zoo | Louise Callaghan | January 14, 2020 | 9781250248947 | HC | $27.99
A HUNDRED SUNS | Karin Tanabe | April 7, 2020 | 9781250231475 | HC | $27.99
THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS | Jennifer Rosner | March 3, 2020 | 9781250179760 | HC | $25.99
UNFOLLOW: A Memoir of Loving and Leaving the Westboro Baptist Church | Megan Phelps-Roper | October 8, 2019 | 9780374275839 | HC | $27.00
CILKA’S JOURNEY | Heather Morris | October 1, 2019 | 9781250265708 | HC | $27.99
FIND ME | André Aciman | October 29, 2019 | 9780374155018 | HC $26.00
THE TOPEKA SCHOOL | Ben Lerner | October 1, 2019 | 9780374277789 | HC $27.00
DOMINICANA | Angie Cruz | September 3, 2019 | 9781250205933 | HC $26.99

YA

WAYWARD SON | Rainbow Rowell | September 24, 2019 | 9781250146076 | HC | $19.99
DIAMOND CITY | Francesca Flores | January 28, 2020 | 9781250220448 | HC | $18.99
FOUL IS FAIR | Hannah Capin | February 4, 2020 | 9781250239549 | HC | $18.99
THE SILVERED SERPENTS | Roshani Chokshi | February 4, 2020 | 9781250144577 | HC | $18.99
RUTHLESS GODS | Emily A. Duncan | April 7, 2020 | 9781250195692 | HC | $18.99
GOBLIN KING | Kara Barbieri | April 21, 2020 | 9781250247605 | HC | $18.99
HIS HIDEOUS HEART: 13 of Edgar Allan Poe’s Most Unsettling Tales Reimagined | Dahlia Adler | September 10, 2019 | 9781250302779 | HC | $18.99
THE MADNESS BLOOMS | Mackenzi Lee | February 4, 2020 | 9781250136169 | HC | $18.99
THE NIGHT COUNTRY: A Hazel Wood Novel | Melissa Albert | January 7, 2020 | 9781250246073 | HC | $18.99
ANNA K.: A Love Story | Jenny Lee | March 3, 2020 | 9781250236432 | HC | $18.99

css.php