For Your Consideration: July 2022 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite July titles for the July 2022 LibraryReads list!

Votes due June 1!

ACTS OF VIOLET by Margarita Montimore
ISBN 9781250815064 | on sale 7/5/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“A decade ago, magician Violet Volk managed a remarkable stunt onstage: she vanished, never to be seen again. But Violet has never been forgotten, and now the host of a podcast about her is angling to interview her quiet sister, Sasha. With the spotlight’s constant glare and disturbing incidents like sleepwalking disrupting her life, Sasha decides that she herself must discover the truth about Violet, however painful. Following the best-selling debut, OONA OUT OF ORDER.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

BET ON IT by Jodie Slaughter
ISBN 9781250821829 | on sale 7/12/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“Slaughter refreshingly balances steamy scenes with the unfolding drama surrounding Walker’s childhood trauma and Aja’s generalized anxiety, and the romance manages to be breezy and light without trivializing either protagonist’s struggles. It’s a fun but thoughtful gem.”–Publishers Weekly

THE BODYGUARD by Katherine Center
ISBN 9781250219398 | on sale 7/19/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

THE BODYGUARD is the feel-good, heartwarmingly romantic, deliciously witty binge-read of the summer! She’s the protection agent, he’s the household name, and they’ve got a secret. What could go wrong?

BOOKED ON A FEELING by Jayci Lee
ISBN 9781250621146 | on sale 7/26/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

An overachieving lawyer. A failing bookstore. A childhood friend. The chance of a lifetime.

JUST LIKE HOME by Sarah Gailey
ISBN 9781250174727 | on sale 7/19/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

JUST LIKE HOME is a darkly gothic thriller from nationally bestselling author Sarah Gailey, perfect for fans of Netflix’s The Haunting of Hill House as well as HBO’s true crime masterpiece I’ll Be Gone in the Dark.

THE KINGDOMS OF SAVANNAH by George Dawes Green
ISBN 9781250767448 | on sale 7/19/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“Deeply rooted in Savannah’s at times horrific history, yet looking hopefully toward the future, this provocative page-turner is sure to enthrall a broad spectrum of readers. Green is writing at the top of his game.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

NSFW by Isabel Kaplan
ISBN 9781250822895 | on sale 7/5/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“The daughter of a prominent victim’s rights attorney navigates the treacherous pre-#MeToo television industry in Kaplan’s well-crafted…adult debut.”–Publishers Weekly

OTHER NAMES FOR LOVE by Taymour Soomro
ISBN 9780374604646 | on sale 7/12/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“In this debut from a British Pakistani lawyer-turned-writer, 16-year-old Fahad reluctantly travels with his father from London to rural Pakistan for what promises to be a challenging summer; his father isn’t just reconnecting with family but hoping to toughen up the son he sees as too sensitive, hiring local teenager Ali to do the job. Instead, Fahad and Ali are mutually attracted, even as secrets about Fahad’s father emerge that will return to haunt him decades later. Exploring issues of family and masculinity within the context of Pakistan’s history.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

OUR WIVES UNDER THE SEA by Julia Armfield
ISBN 9781250229892 | on sale 7/12/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

From Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year finalist Julia Armfield comes a haunting, utterly original debut novel about a couple dealing with the aftermath of a disastrous deep-sea mission.

A PRAYER FOR THE CROWN-SHY by Becky Chambers
ISBN 9781250236234 | on sale 7/12/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“Quiet and contemplative, empathic and warmhearted, this masterful sequel builds on the themes of the first volume to posit a more sustainable, more caring way of life. It’s both truly comforting and endlessly thought-provoking.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE RUINS by Phoebe Wynne
ISBN 9781250272065 | on sale 7/5/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“Ruby Ashby has always loved the Chateau des Sètes, her parents’ gorgeous away-from-England home, located on the Cote d’Azur. But this August, strange things are happening—unexpected guests arrive, children are left untended, and Ruby starts feeling trapped. Two decades later, she arrives at the house as a young widow, intent on repurchasing it and reclaiming its glory days despite its subsequent terrible history. But someone else wants it, too. From the author of MADAM.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

A STRANGE AND STUBBORN ENDURANCE by Foz Meadows
ISBN 9781250829139 | on sale 7/26/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“Political intrigue and personal redemption are central to Meadows’ latest, a queer, romantic fantasy rife with violence, hope, and emotional healing sparked by the arranged marriage of two protagonists from countries with vastly conflicting cultural mores.”–Booklist

THINGS WE DO IN THE DARK by Jennifer Hillier
ISBN 9781250763167 | on sale 7/19/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“Readers of Megan Goldin and Lisa Jewell will enjoy this thrilling take on a character reinventing herself but unable to run away from the past. Hillier is a must-read for the mystery genre.”–Library Journal

WHAT MOVES THE DEAD by T. Kingfisher
ISBN 9781250830753 | on sale 7/12/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“Kingfisher adds wonderful dimension and tangibility to the classic Poe story, filling it in with standout character work and scenic descriptions that linger on the palate, while fleshing out the original plot with elements as plausible as they are chilling. It’s thoroughly creepy and utterly enjoyable.”–Publishers Weekly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.