Articles tagged "Jonathan Littell"

Happy #BookBday (8/2/16 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday!

THE CHOSEN ONES by Steve Sem-Sandberg
THREE starred reviews! One of Europe’s most revered novelists recounts a terrible, forgotten incident in Nazi-era Vienna. “Gorgeous prose and stark imagery, along with Sem-Sandberg’s penchant for the absurd and surreal, provide an unsettling and vivid glimpse into one of the darkest chapters of human history. Recommended for fans of the author and Jonathan Littell’s THE KINDLY ONES.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE MORE THEY DISAPPEAR by Jesse Donaldson
A novel of love, drugs, and crime set in America’s heartland that’s perfect for fans of Tom Franklin and Daniel Woodrell. “Forget genre labels. This is a stunning novel, period.” — Booklist, starred review

A WIFE OF NOBLE CHARACTER by Yvonne Georgina Puig
A St. Louis Post summer reading pick! A juicy, sprawling comedy of manners about a group of thirtysomethings navigating friendship, love, and their fledgling careers among Houston’s high-powered, oil-money elite. “Filled with keen social commentary, this debut novel is an inspired reimagining of Edith Wharton’s THE HOUSE OF MIRTH. More than a century later, the theme still echoes that in women’s relationships, there is too high a cost to not staying true to oneself.”
Library Journal
readmoreremove

Friday Reads: Starred Historical Fiction

TGIF! Today’s #FridayReads picks are two historical novels with multiple starred reviews!

THE CHOSEN ONES by Steve Sem-Sandberg
THREE starred reviews! One of Europe’s most revered novelists recounts a terrible, forgotten incident in Nazi-era Vienna. “Gorgeous prose and stark imagery, along with Sem-Sandberg’s penchant for the absurd and surreal, provide an unsettling and vivid glimpse into one of the darkest chapters of human history. Recommended for fans of the author and Jonathan Littell’s THE KINDLY ONES.” — Library Journal, starred review

“With a gift for finding humanity in even the darkest of stories, Sem-Sanberg has written an indelible, moving novel.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A harrowing chronicle.” — Booklist, starred review

I WILL SEND RAIN by Rae Meadows
A BEA 2016 “Shout ‘n Share” pick, an August 2016 Indie Next pick, and a Maximum Shelf Awareness selection with THREE starred reviews! An exceptional talent for creating vivid imagery and a tender regard for her characters mark Meadows’ new novel set in the Oklahoma Panhandle during the Dust Bowl. Similar to John Steinbeck’s haunting portrait of tenant farmers in THE GRAPES OF WRATH, but also with the gritty, bittersweet elements in Rilla Askew’s HARPSONG and the poignant lyricism of Karen Hesse’s OUT OF THE DUST.” — Booklist, starred review

“A vibrant, absorbing novel that stays with the reader.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“In her fourth novel, Meadows’s lyrical and descriptive writing evokes a harsh landscape of dust, bones, and abandoned homes. The unforgettable characters show grit, determination, and brokenness in equal measure. An outstanding choice for book discussion groups.” — Library Journal, starred review
readmoreremove

css.php