Happy #BookBday (8/2/16 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday!

THE CHOSEN ONES by Steve Sem-Sandberg
THREE starred reviews! One of Europe’s most revered novelists recounts a terrible, forgotten incident in Nazi-era Vienna. “Gorgeous prose and stark imagery, along with Sem-Sandberg’s penchant for the absurd and surreal, provide an unsettling and vivid glimpse into one of the darkest chapters of human history. Recommended for fans of the author and Jonathan Littell’s THE KINDLY ONES.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE MORE THEY DISAPPEAR by Jesse Donaldson
A novel of love, drugs, and crime set in America’s heartland that’s perfect for fans of Tom Franklin and Daniel Woodrell. “Forget genre labels. This is a stunning novel, period.” — Booklist, starred review

A WIFE OF NOBLE CHARACTER by Yvonne Georgina Puig
A St. Louis Post summer reading pick! A juicy, sprawling comedy of manners about a group of thirtysomethings navigating friendship, love, and their fledgling careers among Houston’s high-powered, oil-money elite. “Filled with keen social commentary, this debut novel is an inspired reimagining of Edith Wharton’s THE HOUSE OF MIRTH. More than a century later, the theme still echoes that in women’s relationships, there is too high a cost to not staying true to oneself.”
Library Journal

WAKING THE SPIRIT: A Musician’s Journey Healing Body, Mind, and Soul by Andrew Schulman

The astounding story of a musician who was pulled back from the brink of death by music and his return to the same hospital to help heal others. “Schulman offers deeply moving testament to resiliency, perseverance, and growing recognition of the genuine healing power of music.” — Booklist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.