Articles tagged "DRESSED IN DREAMS"

Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of Summer 2019

The trees are green, the sun is warm, and I know I’m getting ready for some good beach reading! Enter, Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of Summer 2019!

Staff Picks
THE REDEMPTION OF TIME: A Three-Body Problem Novel by Baoshu
RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston
HOT COMB by Ebony Flowers

Fiction
IN WEST MILLS by De’Shawn Charles Winslow
THE ORGANS OF SENSE by Adam Ehrlich Sachs

Mystery/Thriller
THE BURNING CHAMBERS by Kate Mosse
THIRTEEN by Steve Cavanagh
THE WHISPER MAN by Alex North

SF/Fantasy/Horror
MIDDLEGAME by Seanan McGuire

Comics
KING OF KING COURT by Travis Dandro

Nonfiction
DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion by Tanisha C. Ford
MR. KNOW-IT-ALL: The Tarnished Wisdom of a Filth Elder by John Waters
THE VINYL FRONTIER: The Story of the Voyager Golden Record by Jonathan Scott

What to Wear with Tanisha C. Ford (DRESSED IN DREAMS)

Tanisha C. Ford’s DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion takes you on a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet. Because we love a good fashion/literary crossover, we asked Tanisha to share her favorite fashion-related books and the outfit each one inspired her to wear!


THE HATE U GIVE by Angie Thomas

​Starr, the book’s protagonist loves old school hip hop music and fashion—including her favorite pair of Retro Space Jams XI Air Jordans. Its homage to 80s and 90s hip hop culture makes me think of my favorite rap girl group of the day: Salt-n-Pepa, who made ripped jeans, bamboo earrings, and crisp white sneakers a thing!

Outfit: A pair of ripped fitted jeans; white tank top; funky pair of black peep-toe stiletto booties; doorknocker earrings

readmoreremove

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books:

A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill
A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration.

QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter by Veronica Chambers
“With such a dynamic ensemble of opinions and reflections, the collection will be sweet reading not just for Beyoncé’s superfans, but also for activists, feminists, and budding vocalists. An uplifting and resounding ovation.”Kirkus Reviews 

“Entertaining and illuminating, this essay collection will please readers no matter their Beyoncé fan status level.”Publishers Weekly

DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion
by Tanisha C. Ford
From sneakers to leather jackets, a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet.

GO HIGH: The Unstoppable Presence and Poise of Michelle Obama
by M. Sweeney
A photographic celebration of the former first lady’s elegance and strength.

readmoreremove

css.php