Articles tagged "DRESSED IN DREAMS"

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may have been published for adults, but Booklist has deemed them to be perfect for teens—and we agree!

MOONBOUND: Apollo 11 and the Dream of Spaceflight by Jonathan Fetter-Vorm
A rich, full-color graphic exploration of our journey to the moon and a celebration of scientific achievement.

“Dense with historical, political, and scientific information but a fascinating exploration for interested older teens” —Booklist, YA Interest

THE SOL MAJESTIC by Ferrett Steinmetz
Kenna, an aspirational teen guru, wanders destitute across the stars as he tries to achieve his parents’ ambition to advise the celestial elite. THE SOL MAJESTIC is a big-hearted intergalactic adventure for fans of Becky Chambers and The Good Place.

“This coming-of-age-in-space story with a same-sex romance subplot will appeal to teen readers of quieter sf.” —Booklist, YA Interest

DRIVE-THRU DREAMS: A Journey Through the Heart of America’s Fast-Food Kingdom by Adam Chandler
We are all too familiar with the dark underbelly of the fast-food kingdom, but it is also symbolic of what we mean to be: democratic, efficient, and accessible to the masses. Chandler’s insightful and hilarious cultural study shows that the fast-food industry, though imperfect, reflects much of what makes us Americans.

“Young hamburger-flippers need not despair of their futures. Chandler tells about teens who built on what they learned from their behind-the-counter jobs to go on to fame and fortune in all walks of life.” —Booklist, YA Interest

DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion by Tanisha C. Ford
In this highly engaging book, fashionista and pop culture expert Tanisha C. Ford investigates Afros and dashikis, go-go boots and hotpants of the sixties, hip hop’s baggy jeans and bamboo earrings, and the #BlackLivesMatter-inspired hoodies of today.

“YAs will enjoy the numerous cultural references and social justice theme and find Ford’s rebellious teen years very relatable.” —Booklist, YA Interest

FAMOUS PEOPLE by Justin Kuritzkes
This fresh, smart novel in the guise of a celebrity memoir probes the inner life of a mega-famous pop star.

“Teens who don’t mind the off-beat writing style will definitely see shades of their favorite teen idols and will enjoy the drama.” —Booklist, YA Interest

ARCHAEOLOGY FROM SPACE: How the Future Shapes Our Past by Sarah Parcak
National Geographic Fellow and TED Prize-winner Dr. Sarah Parcak welcomes you to the brave new world of “space archaeology,” a growing field of exploration that has brought humanity to a tipping point of mass discovery in the ancient world.

“Any teen interested in archaeology and/or space technology will claim Parcak as a new hero.” —Booklist, YA Interest

Nonfiction Round-Up (6/26/19)

Eating & branding & dressing & fast fooding & playing baseball–what more do you need in a nonfiction round-up?!

HANGRY: 5 Simple Steps to Balance Your Hormones and Restore Your Joy (Including a Customizable Paleo/Mediterranean Plan!) by Sarah Fragoso and Brooke Kalanick, ND, MS

Go from feeling stressed out and frustrated––and really freaking tired!––to healthy, happy, and at home again in your body by healing your hormones and resetting your metabolism.

THIS IS NOT A T-SHIRT: A Brand, a Culture, a Community–a Life in Streetwear by Bobby Hundreds

The story of The Hundreds and the precepts that made it an iconic streetwear brand by Bobby Hundreds himself.

readmoreremove

Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of Summer 2019

The trees are green, the sun is warm, and I know I’m getting ready for some good beach reading! Enter, Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of Summer 2019!

Staff Picks
THE REDEMPTION OF TIME: A Three-Body Problem Novel by Baoshu
RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston
HOT COMB by Ebony Flowers

Fiction
IN WEST MILLS by De’Shawn Charles Winslow
THE ORGANS OF SENSE by Adam Ehrlich Sachs

Mystery/Thriller
THE BURNING CHAMBERS by Kate Mosse
THIRTEEN by Steve Cavanagh
THE WHISPER MAN by Alex North

SF/Fantasy/Horror
MIDDLEGAME by Seanan McGuire

Comics
KING OF KING COURT by Travis Dandro

Nonfiction
DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion by Tanisha C. Ford
MR. KNOW-IT-ALL: The Tarnished Wisdom of a Filth Elder by John Waters
THE VINYL FRONTIER: The Story of the Voyager Golden Record by Jonathan Scott

What to Wear with Tanisha C. Ford (DRESSED IN DREAMS)

Tanisha C. Ford’s DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion takes you on a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet. Because we love a good fashion/literary crossover, we asked Tanisha to share her favorite fashion-related books and the outfit each one inspired her to wear!


THE HATE U GIVE by Angie Thomas

​Starr, the book’s protagonist loves old school hip hop music and fashion—including her favorite pair of Retro Space Jams XI Air Jordans. Its homage to 80s and 90s hip hop culture makes me think of my favorite rap girl group of the day: Salt-n-Pepa, who made ripped jeans, bamboo earrings, and crisp white sneakers a thing!

Outfit: A pair of ripped fitted jeans; white tank top; funky pair of black peep-toe stiletto booties; doorknocker earrings

readmoreremove

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books:

A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill
A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration.

QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter by Veronica Chambers
“With such a dynamic ensemble of opinions and reflections, the collection will be sweet reading not just for Beyoncé’s superfans, but also for activists, feminists, and budding vocalists. An uplifting and resounding ovation.”Kirkus Reviews 

“Entertaining and illuminating, this essay collection will please readers no matter their Beyoncé fan status level.”Publishers Weekly

DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion by Tanisha C. Ford
From sneakers to leather jackets, a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet.

GO HIGH: The Unstoppable Presence and Poise of Michelle Obama by M. Sweeney
A photographic celebration of the former first lady’s elegance and strength.

readmoreremove
css.php