ALA Annual 2020 Alterna-Booth

Welcome, one and all, to our ALA Annual 2020 Alterna-Booth!

In lieu of our usual confetti, music, and various shenanigans, we’re bringing you the best that virtual conferences have to offer, including SO MANY title presentations and special author guests!

Scroll on, friends; magic and goodies await!

Thank you for visiting our alterna-booth! You lucky librarians can enter for a chance to win an ARC of the highly coveted forthcoming standalone from bestseller V. E. Schwab, THE INVISIBLE LIFE OF ADDIE LARUE!

Click here for details and to enter.

We interviewed bestselling/award-winning + librarian-favorite author Casey McQuiston on being a debut author, the books she’s reading now, and what’s coming up next! Watch the full interview here.


Join the Macmillan Library Marketing team on Thursday, July 9th as we interview Beth O’Leary, author of the heart-warming, librarian favorite rom-com THE FLATSHARE and forthcoming THE SWITCH.

Click here to register for the free live event!

Click here to submit a question for Beth!


Tanisha C. Ford joins us with a special message to librarians!

Her book, DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion, is a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet that investigates Afros and dashikis, go-go boots and hotpants of the sixties, hip hop’s baggy jeans and bamboo earrings, and the #BlackLivesMatter-inspired hoodies of today.


John Moe talks depression and hope in his exclusive ALA Virtual video.

His book, THE HILARIOUS WORLD OF DEPRESSION, is a remarkable investigation of the disease, part memoir of his own journey, part treasure trove of laugh-out-loud stories and insights drawn from years of interviews with some of the most brilliant minds facing similar challenges.


Michael Eric Dyson joins us with a special message on the importance of libraries + reading and what he’s reading now, including WHITE FRAGILITY, ELOQUENT RAGE, and PRISON INDUSTRIAL COMPLEX FOR BEGINNERS.

His book TEARS WE CANNOT STOP: A Sermon to White America is the book that all Americans who care about the current and long-burning crisis in race relations will want to read.


Raven Leilani joins us to share more about the importance of libraries, her debut novel, and what she’s reading now, including HOW TO SIT, LAKEWOOD, and THERE ARE MORE BEAUTIFUL THINGS THAN BEYONCE.

Raven’s debut novel, LUSTER, sees a young black woman fall into art and someone else’s open marriage in a sharp, comic, disruptive, and tender portrait of a young woman trying to make sense of her life.


Veronica Chambers joins us to talk about her book, the joy of anthologies, and the perfect shelf pairing for a Beyonce Knowles-Carter collection (aka JAY-Z: Made in America by Michael Eric Dyson).

Veronica’s book, QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter, features a diverse range of voices–from star academics to outspoken cultural critics to Hollywood and music stars–to celebrate an iconic artist, business woman, mother, daughter, sister, wife, and black feminist.

Talia says:
-Starred LJ + Booklist!
-Debut thriller starring the best “wheelman” in town out for 1 last score.
-Uncompromisingly noir
-Deeply human
-a la Lou Berney’s NOVEMBER ROAD

Hint: This is BLACKTOP WASTELAND by S. A. Cosby

Samantha says:
-#ownvoices
-A Romeo + Juliet forbidden romance
-*scorching desire, a cruel twist of fate*
-set during the 1964 Civil Rights Movement

Hint: This is CONFESSIONS IN B FLAT by Donna Hill

Emily says:
-sequel to MIRAGE!!
-Two identical girls, one a princess, the other a rebel
-Who will rule the empire?
-Amani wants to keep helping the rebellion, but can she risk the people she loves most for a war she might not win?
-breathtaking + romance, with a few shocking twists!
-Readalikes: AN EMBER IN THE ASHES, THE WRATH & THE DAWN, CARAVAL

Hint: This is COURT OF LIONS by Somaiya Daud

Amanda says:
-Rom-Com!
-Finding second chances ON A BOAT

Hint: This is FLOAT PLAN by Trish Doller

Talia says:
-Was it HE or SHE who murdered the young woman?
-psych thriller x masterpiece of misdirection!
-starred PW
-by LibraryReads author of SOMETIMES I LIE

Hint: This is HIS & HERS by Alice Feeney

Emily says:
-While on the run from ICE, Manu discovers a secret world of witches & werewolves hidden deep within Florida’s Everglades.
-The gorgeous world-building!
-The patriarchy smashing!
-An extraordinary tale, written flawlessly
-Readalikes: WOVEN IN MOONLIGHT, THE GILDED WOLVES, CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE

Hint: This is LOBIZONA by Romina Garber

Samantha says:
-An intimate look at gender in the music industry
-#FEMINISM!
-Never-before-seen stories of what goes on during hair and makeup, private lives, romance, hopes and dreams, emotions
-Beyonce, Lady Gaga, Patti Smith, Tina Turner, and more!
-The empowering women that take the stage

Hint: This is NOBODY EVER ASKED ME ABOUT THE GIRLS: Women, Music and Fame by Lisa Robinson

Amanda says:
-Debut!
-GAME OF THRONES x Phillippa Gregory
-A wild ride of historical fiction with ambition, violence, & passion
-Imperial Russia!

Hint: This is TSARINA by Ellen Alpsten


We hope to see you all again soon!
<3 Mac Lib Team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.