Articles tagged "Charlotte McNally series"

Thriller Thursday (8/11/16 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to a thrilling debut and three new books from old favorites:

BEHIND CLOSED DOORS by B.A. Paris
An August 2016 LibraryReads & Indie Next pick with two starred reviews! “Making her smash debut, Paris switches chapters between the present and the recent past, taking us along on Grace’s journey and keeping the suspense level high. In the same vein as GONE GIRL or GIRL ON THE TRAIN, this is a can’t-put-down psychological thriller.” — Library Journal, starred review

DAMAGED by Lisa Scottoline
“In bestseller Scottoline’s outstanding 15th Rosato & DiNunzio novel, Mary DiNunzio, a partner in the Philadelphia law firm of Rosato & DiNunzio, takes on a heartbreaking case involving a dyslexic fifth grader, Patrick O’Brien, who’s bullied at school and is getting no support for his language disability. In her struggle to save Patrick, Mary finds herself fighting her associates, her fiancé, and social services. Tensions mount until the story concludes with a satisfying, unexpected twist.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review
readmoreremove

2016 Macavity Award Nominees

Happy #ThrillerThursday, lovely librarians! First, some awards news: we have 6 nominees for the 2016 Macavity Awards!

Best Mystery
LITTLE BLACK LIES by Sharon Bolton

Best First Mystery
THE UNQUIET DEAD by Ausma Zehanat Khan

Best Critical/Biographical
A IS FOR ARSENIC: The Poisons of Agatha Christie by Kathryn Harkup
THE LOST DETECTIVE: Becoming Dashiell Hammett by Nathan Ward

Sue Feder Historical Mystery Award
THE MASQUE OF A MURDERER by Susanna Calkins
TOM & LUCKY (and George & Cokey Flo) by C. Joseph Greaves

Now for some new mysteries hitting shelves this month:

WIDOWMAKER by Paul Doiron
A June 2016 LibraryReads pick! In this riveting new novel from Edgar finalist Doiron, Game Warden Mike Bowditch is on the trail of a ruthless vigilante amid the snow-covered mountains of Maine. “The suspense is strong and the action is well rendered. WIDOWMAKER will go down well with armchair outdoorsfolk, especially fans of C. J. Box and Craig Johnson.” — Booklist

PRESSURE by Brian Keane
A free diver is called in to investigate a seismological event in the Indian Ocean when events take a deadly turn and she and her crew must fight the monsters in the depths and those ashore. “Don’t just suggest to horror readers—although Keene does include a few fun insider references for genre fans. This is a perfect beach read for fans of Michael Crichton, Mira Grant, or Preston and Child—if you dare to take this book anywhere near an open body of water.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Inspiring Women of Fiction & Mystery

SS2016 Womens Fiction_Mystery TPB Sell SheetWe love a good story, and our friends at Forge have five of ’em for you coming soon* from some talented ladies:

The Charlotte McNally series from Hank Phillippi Ryan
PRIME TIME
On sale: Feb. 9, 2016
FACE TIME
On sale: April 12, 2016
AIR TIME
On sale: June 14, 2016

MER by Katie Schickel
On sale: June 14, 2016
HOVER by Anne A. Wilson
Available now; trade paperback on sale May 3, 2016 readmoreremove

css.php