Nonfiction Round-Up (9/23/20)

This nonfiction round-up takes a look at race in America with a gripping account of a deadly night in Dallas and an exploration of violence afflicting Black communities. STANDOFF: Race, Policing, and a Deadly Assault That Gripped a Nation by Jamie Thompson 3 starred reviews! “An absorbing account of a 2016 ambush that left five […]

Read More…

New E-galleys (9/14/20)

Hello e-galley readers! Check out some of the exciting e-galleys that were recently added to Edelweiss for your downloading pleasure: ONE LAST STOP by Casey McQuistonISBN 9781250244499, on sale 6/1/21 Cynical twenty-three-year old August doesn’t believe in much. She doesn’t believe in psychics, or easily forged friendships, or finding the kind of love they make […]

Read More…

Poems, Short Stories, and Essays Round-Up (9/3/20)

Today’s spotlight is on bite-sized literary goodness: intimate essays on race, short stories that blend mythic and modern, and poems exploring the female experience. JUST US: An American Conversation by Claudia Rankine 4 starred reviews and an Indie Next pick! “Rankine once again opens a literary window into the Black experience, for those willing to […]

Read More…

Drop-In Alert: Michael Eric Dyson’s LONG TIME COMING

The New York Times bestselling author of TEARS WE CANNOT STOP returns this Fall with a passionate call to America to finally reckon with race and start the journey to redemption in LONG TIME COMING: Reckoning with Race in America. The night of May 25, 2020 changed America. George Floyd, a 43-year-old Black man, was […]

Read More…

Happy #PubDay (2/18/20)

A haunting debut on race, class, obsession, and the bond between two sisters who were never given the chance to know one another + what transpires when unspeakable realities, long hidden from view, can no longer be denied from a Man Booker Prize-winning author = this #pubday party! SAINT X by Alexis Schaitkin An Indie […]

Read More…

A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD is a March LibraryReads Pick!

You voted, they counted, and A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Anne Fowler is officially a LibraryReads pick for March 2020! A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Anne FowlerISBN: 9781250237279; On sale March 10, 2020 A March Indie Next Pick + 2 starred reviews! “Traversing topics of love, race, and class, this emotionally complex novel speaks to—and […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (12/04/19)

Nonfiction Round-Up (12/04/19)

The first behind-the-scenes look at the most enigmatic FLOTUS in history, the true story of the Greely Expedition, a timely memoir on race and familial reconciliation, and a study on twentieth-century dictators–find it all in this nonfiction round-up. FREE, MELANIA: The Unauthorized Biography by Kate Bennett An insider’s look at Melania Trump, beginning with her […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (8/7/19)

Nonfiction Round-Up (8/7/19)

Surviving marital struggles and discovering a secret heritage–all in today’s nonfiction round-up! THE LONG ACCOMPLISHMENT: A Memoir of Hope and Struggle in Matrimony by Rick Moody “Moody’s sheer delight with language and his clever turns of phrase hint at a sense of wonder and hope, while his Knausgaardian introspection leaves him contemplating the intersection of […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD

Maximum Shelf: A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Therese Anne Fowler’s exploration of class, race, and heartrending star-crossed love, A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD. For fans of Celeste Ng and Jodi Picoult comes a stunning page-turner about two very different families living side by side in an idyllic neighborhood–and the summer that changes their lives forever. In Oak Knoll, a […]

Read More…

A Meteor Shower of Stars for Macmillan!

A Meteor Shower of Stars for Macmillan!

These forthcoming titles all received multiple starred reviews! Fiction NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo “With an aura of both enchantment and authenticity, Bardugo’s compulsively readable novel leaves a portal ajar for equally dazzling sequels.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review “This atmospheric contemporary novel steeped in the spirit of a mystical New Haven is part mystery, part story […]

Read More…

css.php