Happy #PubDay (2/18/20)

A haunting debut on race, class, obsession, and the bond between two sisters who were never given the chance to know one another + what transpires when unspeakable realities, long hidden from view, can no longer be denied from a Man Booker Prize-winning author = this #pubday party! SAINT X by Alexis Schaitkin An Indie […]

Read More…

A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD is a March LibraryReads Pick!

You voted, they counted, and A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Anne Fowler is officially a LibraryReads pick for March 2020! A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Anne FowlerISBN: 9781250237279; On sale March 10, 2020 A March Indie Next Pick + 2 starred reviews! “Traversing topics of love, race, and class, this emotionally complex novel speaks to—and […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (12/04/19)

Nonfiction Round-Up (12/04/19)

The first behind-the-scenes look at the most enigmatic FLOTUS in history, the true story of the Greely Expedition, a timely memoir on race and familial reconciliation, and a study on twentieth-century dictators–find it all in this nonfiction round-up. FREE, MELANIA: The Unauthorized Biography by Kate Bennett An insider’s look at Melania Trump, beginning with her […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (8/7/19)

Nonfiction Round-Up (8/7/19)

Surviving marital struggles and discovering a secret heritage–all in today’s nonfiction round-up! THE LONG ACCOMPLISHMENT: A Memoir of Hope and Struggle in Matrimony by Rick Moody “Moody’s sheer delight with language and his clever turns of phrase hint at a sense of wonder and hope, while his Knausgaardian introspection leaves him contemplating the intersection of […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD

Maximum Shelf: A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Therese Anne Fowler’s exploration of class, race, and heartrending star-crossed love, A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD. For fans of Celeste Ng and Jodi Picoult comes a stunning page-turner about two very different families living side by side in an idyllic neighborhood–and the summer that changes their lives forever. In Oak Knoll, a […]

Read More…

A Meteor Shower of Stars for Macmillan!

A Meteor Shower of Stars for Macmillan!

These forthcoming titles all received multiple starred reviews! Fiction NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo “With an aura of both enchantment and authenticity, Bardugo’s compulsively readable novel leaves a portal ajar for equally dazzling sequels.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review “This atmospheric contemporary novel steeped in the spirit of a mystical New Haven is part mystery, part story […]

Read More…

An Interview with Jennifer Berry Hawes

An Interview with Jennifer Berry Hawes

After the tragic shootings at the Mother Emanuel AME church, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Jennifer Berry Hawes knew this was a story that needed telling. In GRACE WILL LEAD US HOME: The Charleston Church Massacre and the Hard, Inspiring Journey to Forgiveness, she offers a moving portrait of the events and emotions that emerged in the […]

Read More…

BLACKkKLANSMAN Wins an Oscar!

BLACKkKLANSMAN Wins an Oscar!

The movie BlacKkKlansman, adapted from Ron Stallworth’s BLACK KLANSMAN: Race, Hate, and the Undercover Investigation of a Lifetime, won Best Adapted Screenplay at last night’s Oscars ceremony! Congratulations to this incredible story and the directors, writers, actors, and producers who brought it to life on the big screen. […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (2/13/19)

Nonfiction Round-Up (2/13/19)

Race in America, a legendary film, and an outspoken Feminist are the varied topics covered in today’s Nonfiction Round-up. GOOD KIDS, BAD CITY: A Story of Race and Wrongful Conviction in America by Kyle Swenson “Cinematically written, this powerful tragedy of racial injustice and urban dysfunction will make readers question the idea that America can […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (2/6/19)

Nonfiction Round-Up (2/6/19)

Race, Love, the Wild West, and becoming a Badass–dive into this week’s nonfiction round-up! BROWN WHITE BLACK: An American Family at the Intersection of Race, Gender, Sexuality, and Religion by Nishta J. Mehra Two starred reviews! “Mehra’s nuanced and thought-provoking work resonates on multiple levels—from the immigrant experience and race relations to accepting one’s sexuality, […]

Read More…

css.php