Thriller Thursday (6/18/15 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (6/18/15 Edition)

Where else would you find detectives, reporters, and a serial killer, but in our latest #ThrillerThursday roundup?! THE PRECIPICE by Paul Doiron A June 2015 LibraryReads pick! In the riveting new novel from Edgar finalist Doiron, Mike Bowditch joins a desperate search for two missing hikers as Maine wildlife officials deal with a frightening rash […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (3/5/15 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (3/5/15 Edition)

Stuck at home on a snow day (or wishing you were)? Macmillan’s got the mysteries to give you more chills than that foot of powder outside! THE EDGE OF DREAMS by Rhys Bowen A near-fatal train accident leaves Molly Murphy sleuthing from the sidelines while her police captain husband has been receiving cryptic notes after […]

Read More…

Queens Library Mystery Book Buzz 2014

Queens Library Mystery Book Buzz 2014

Today Anne presented all the latest and greatest Mystery titles at the Queens Library “Mystery in the Stacks” Book Buzz. We don’t want anyone to feel left out, so here are the books she talked about: LibraryReads MALICE by Keigo Higashino MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL by Ashley Weaver THE LONG WAY HOME by Louise Penny […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (8/14/14 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (8/14/14 Edition)

Murder, murder everywhere! Well, maybe just in this week’s #ThrillerThursday picks: THE FROZEN DEAD by Bernard Minier This suspenseful and “compelling” (Booklist, starred & boxed review) murder mystery set in a high-security asylum for the criminally insane and the snowy mountains of the French Pyrénées has two starred reviews and is one of Talia’s favorite […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (7/24/14 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (7/24/14 Edition)

History, mystery, and dogs, oh my! Read on for today’s #ThrillerThursday picks: ATONEMENT OF BLOOD by Peter Tremayne “Fidelma of Cashel, princess, former religieuse, and advocate of the law courts, returns in her twenty-fourth mystery steeped in the religion, law, and culture of seventh-century Ireland. Tremayne and his impeccable cast of characters continue to provide […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (7/10/14 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (7/10/14 Edition)

There’s nothing like reading a great thriller in the heat of summer to send chills down your spine. Check out these books for immediate heat relief: THE DEAD WILL TELL by Linda Castillo Recommended by People Magazine! In Castillo’s latest electrifying Kate Burkholder mystery guaranteed to “keep suspense fans glued to their books and ereaders” (Library […]

Read More…

Thriller Tuesday (whaa?!) & Mystery Award nominations

Thriller Tuesday (whaa?!) & Mystery Award nominations

We know it’s not Thursday, but we didn’t want you to miss out on all this great mystery news while we’re away in Las Vegas setting up for ALA Annual. But first, awards news! The 2014 Shamus Award finalists and Macavity Award nominations have been announced and we have several outstanding Minotaur books in the […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (6/5/14 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (6/5/14 Edition)

In today's #ThrillerThursday roundup, we've got a fallen detective, a couple of good private eyes, and a map-obsessed misfit clerk:

A DARK AND TWISTED TIDE by Sharon Bolton
In the latest Lacey Flint mystery, the detective—now part of the marine police—finds a shrouded body in the river. And that's just the first one... “Bolton...delights in a kind of gothic horror, weaving suspenseful tales featuring complex, often tormented characters. Just as readers think they know the killer's identity, there is another shocking twist in this...gripping tale by a master of the genre.” — Library Journal

THE DEVIL MAY CARE by David Housewright
In Housewright's “exceptional” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) latest Rushmore McKenzie novel, the search for a suddenly missing man entangles the unlicensed P.I. with one of the most powerful—and ruthless—local families. “Housewright not only delivers steadily growing suspense, but also provides a canny tour of the high and low life in and around the Twin Cities, including an unforgettable tour of the posh Lake Minnetonka. Housewright may be the best Minnesota Noir writer going.” — Booklist, starred review

BLACK CURRENT by Karen Keskinen
While investigating a local murder in an aquarium, P.I. Jaymie Zarlin stumbles onto new clues about her own brother's death three years ago. “Keskinen juggles multiple plotlines skillfully and develops secondary characters (notably Jaymie’s selfappointed personal assistant, Gabi Gutierrez) in this second entry in an appealing series.” — Booklist

THE CITY UNDER THE SKIN by Geoff Nicholson
The appearance of a group of mysterious women, their backs crudely and extensively tattooed with maps, draws together a cartography-obsessed misfit clerk from an antique map store, a petty criminal, and a ruthless but vulnerable killer and his disgruntled accomplice. “With its fast-paced, dryly witty dialogue; looming, darkened cityscapes; wonderfully offbeat characters, including an enforcer with childcare problems; and metaphoric riffs on disorientation, this is a hugely entertaining crime novel.” — Booklist, starred review

What's tingling your spine this #ThrillerThursday? Share your reads with us @MacmillanLib. [...]

Read More...

Thriller Thursday (3/20/14 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (3/20/14 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday, friends! Here's a look at the latest books keeping us up past bedtime:

THE CAIRO AFFAIR by Olen Steinhauer
Steinhauer's geopolitical tale about a murdered diplomat, his unfaithful wife, her Egyptian intelligence ex-lover, and a CIA analyst recently earned a rave New York Times review from Janet Maslin: “Elaborate, sophisticated…a long, twisty road full of cleverly placed potholes and unexpected turns. Mr. Steinhauer draws his spies as flesh-and-blood characters in whom his readers invest both attention and emotion.”

DECODED by Mai Jia
“Told by a shadowy narrator who draws on interview transcripts and declassified documents, the book ranges in style from mythic fairy tale to spy story to epistemological speculation. Within this fantastic framework unfolds the saga of Rong Jinzhen, a youngster of illegitimate origin and odd upbringing whose phenomenal success in his non-chosen field leads to international counterespionage.” — The Wall Street Journal 
BONUS: read the interview with Mai Jia in the New York Times Sinosphere blog

DON'T LOOK FOR ME by Loren D. Estleman
In the 24th(!) book in the Amos Walker series, the "barely housebroken" P.I. finds himself caught between the mafia and the porn industry. "A direct descendant of Sam Spade and Philip Marlowe, Walker fires up a cig, has a sip of Scotch, and ponders how the case of a disappeared wife can get this complicated. A very good entry in a solid series." — Booklist  

THE TRIDENT DECEPTION by Rick Campbell
"Campbell utilizes his background as a retired navy commander and his familiarity with submarines to craft a terrific thriller debut. Campbell does an amazing job, balancing character interaction with high-octane action, all the while keeping the technical jargon to a level understandable by nonmilitary readers. This is the best novel about a submarine since Tom Clancy’s classic THE HUNT FOR RED OCTOBER." — Booklist, starred review

What's tingling your spine this #ThrillerThursday? Share your reads with us @MacmillanLib
[...]

Read More...

Thriller Thursday (3/6/14 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (3/6/14 Edition)

Today we've got a super-sized #ThrillerThursday with mysteries to satisfy every reader, from cozies to psychological suspense and more! 

PRECIOUS THING by Colette McBeth
A March 2014 Library Reads pick! "Debut author McBeth’s GONE GIRL-style psychological thriller will be a widespread hit for fans of dark drama with questionable narrators, including S. J. Watson’s BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP (2011), Sabine Durrant’s UNDER YOUR SKIN (2013), and Karen Perry’s THE INNOCENT SLEEP (2013)." Booklist, starred review

THE BLACK-EYED BLONDE by Benjamin Black
Black's "pitch-perfect recreation" of Raymond Chandler's incomparable private eye Philip Marlowe goes "beyond mere thoughtful homage" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) when a seductive young heiress asks Marlowe to find her former lover. "Great fun for Chandlerians." — Booklist 

CITY OF DARKNESS AND LIGHT by Rhys Bowen
In the 13th entry of Bowen's New York Times bestselling historical series, Molly Murphy and her infant son are in Paris where she unexpectedly gets entangled in the murder of an Impressionist artist. "Molly is a smart, feisty heroine who admirably defends her investigation to a very skeptical Sûreté. Though placed a decade or so earlier, this breezy historical mystery will appeal to fans of Carola Dunn’s Daisy Dalrymple and Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs." — Booklist  

THE PLAYER by Brad Parks
In the latest book in Parks' award-winning series, Carter Ross investigates a suspicious disease, but it takes him down a path that leads directly into the arms of the local mob boss. "Parks, a gifted storyteller (with shades of Mark Twain, or maybe Dave Barry), shows his mastery of the comic absurd behind serious journalism in his fifth outing." — Library Journal, starred review  

WRECKED by Tricia Fields
"Fields’ third Josie Gray outing is emotionally taut, building to a breathtaking climax and portraying, in the process, the danger inherent in a Texas border town and presenting Josie, previously wary of commitment, with new challenges. More fine southwestern crime fiction by an author who clearly loves the locale." Booklist, starred review  

PROVIDENCE RAG by Bruce DeSilva
“Edgar-winner DeSilva melds moral dilemmas with a suspenseful plot in his third novel featuring Providence, R.I.–based reporter Liam Mulligan, his best yet.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Mulligan’s character, played off the vicissitudes of his job, is skillfully layered and engaging. DeSilva, who worked for decades at the AP, won an Edgar for Best First Novel for ROGUE ISLAND (2010). He knows of what he writes.” Booklist, starred review

[...]

Read More...

css.php