Thriller Thursday (4/27/17 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (4/27/17 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to new, mysteries, thrillers & true crime! A SINGLE SPY by William Christie Two starred reviews! During WWII, young Russian spy with divided loyalties, under deep cover in Nazi Germany, uncovers an assassination plot that could change the course of history. “With detailed historical events, compelling characters, and plenty of heart-grabbing moments, this […]

Read More…

New Nonfiction – April 2017

New Nonfiction – April 2017

Biographies, histories, manifestos and more! Take a look at the new nonfiction books perfect for your patrons this April: FEAR CITY: New York’s Fiscal Crisis and the Rise of Austerity Politics by Kim Phillips-Fein Two starred reviews! “Phillips-Fein, professor of history at NYU’s Gallatin School of Individualized Study, makes municipal bonds exciting in this painstakingly […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (3/30/17 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (3/30/17 Edition)

Crime & cat cozies, oh my! Read on for our #ThrillerThursday picks: CONVICTION by Julia Dahl Three starred reviews! In Dahl’s third powerful novel, Rebekah Roberts investigates a murder that occurred in Brooklyn after the Crown Heights riots of 1991, for which the wrong man may have been convicted. “CONVICTION is a cleverly named compelling […]

Read More…

Read, Reflect & Discuss

Read, Reflect & Discuss

“After a contentious campaign season filled with divisive rhetoric, we are now hearing from our members and in the news media about incidents of bigotry and harassment within our communities. During times like these, our nation’s 120,000 public, academic, school, and special libraries are invaluable allies inspiring understanding and community healing. Libraries provide a safe […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (11/10/16 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (11/10/16 Edition)

We’re seeing stars for today’s #ThrillerThursday picks! UNDER THE MIDNIGHT SUN by Keigo Higashino Two starred reviews! From acclaimed international bestseller and LibraryReads author Higashino comes a compelling story of a twenty-year-old murder, two teenagers linked by the crime, and a detective’s obsession to finally uncover the truth. “Edgar-nominated Higashino revisits the dangerous codependence of […]

Read More…

For Your Consideration: November 2016 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: November 2016 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the November 2016* LibraryReads list! *Nominations are due September 20! Click here for the full list of 2016 deadlines. TO CAPTURE WHAT WE CANNOT KEEP by Beatrice Colin Set against the construction of the Eiffel Tower, this novel charts the relationship between a young widow and an […]

Read More…

Library Penance

Library Penance

Caution: serving a community sentence in a library for a minor crime may lead to a career as a mystery writer! It happened to Lance Hawvermale. He shares his experience below and explains how libraries continue to inspire him today: I once served mandatory community service in a library. As a crime writer, I need a […]

Read More…

PW’s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2016

PW’s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2016

Drawn from the 14,000+ titles in Publishers Weekly‘s Fall Announcements issue (available in full here), these Macmillan titles are PW‘s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2016: Fiction HERE I AM by Jonathan Safran Foer Unfolding over four tumultuous weeks in present-day Washington, D.C., Foer’s first novel in 11 years is the story of a fracturing family […]

Read More…

B&N Fall 2014 Discover Picks

B&N Fall 2014 Discover Picks

Barnes & Noble recently announced their Fall 2014 selections for the Discover Great New Writers program and several Macmillan titles made the cut! FIVES AND TWENTY FIVES by Michael Pitre We can’t stop talking about former marine Pitre’s deeply affecting debut novel about three men from a road repair platoon in Iraq and the struggles they […]

Read More…

FATAL ENQUIRY in NYTBR!

FATAL ENQUIRY in NYTBR!

Great news! Tulsa librarian Will Thomas's latest Barker & Llewellyn historical mystery, FATAL ENQUIRY, received a great review in Marilyn Stasio's New York Times Book Review mystery column this past Sunday!

“[A] Classic detective duo…. The best fun in this Big Boys’ Adventure Book is observing [protagonist Cyrus] Barker in action. An autodidact who keeps a French chef in his kitchen and rare penjing trees in his garden, he’s a formidable foe who applies the wits he was born with (and the subversive skills he acquires in Canton) in hand-to-hand combat.” New York Times Book Review (read the full review here)

Additional praise for FATAL ENQUIRY:

“Recommended for historical mysteries enthusiasts, Anglophiles, and Sherlockians. Fans of Alex Grecian, Anthony Horowitz, and Charles Todd should take special note.” Library Journal, starred review

“Readers will relish the appealing characters, clever twists, and colorful vision of late 19th-century London.” — Publishers Weekly

“Well-crafted and immersive, this a great addition to the to-be-read stacks of Thomas’ fans, as well as those of Alex Grecian and Anne Perry’s.” — Booklist

Don't miss Will Thomas at ALA Annual

[...]

Read More...

css.php