Day’s YA: Black YA Authors

This edition of Day’s YA highlights YA and YA-OK books by Black authors Note: This list is not exhaustive, but is meant to be a jumping off point. Please support these (and all) Black authors in any way you can, now and always. YA: ALL BOYS AREN’T BLUE by George M Johnson BLACK GIRL UNLIMITED […]

Read More…

Red-Hot Fall 2019 Drop-In Alert: JAY-Z: Made in America by Michael Eric Dyson

Red-Hot Fall 2019 Drop-In Alert: JAY-Z: Made in America by Michael Eric Dyson

From the New York Times bestselling author of TEARS WE CANNOT STOP and WHAT TRUTH SOUNDS LIKE comes JAY-Z: Made in America, a powerful examination of JAY-Z as a cultural icon, published for his 50th birthday. JAY-Z is America at its scrappy, brash, irreverent, soulful, ingenious best: as transcendent a cultural icon as Frank Sinatra, […]

Read More…

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books: A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color […]

Read More…

css.php