Articles tagged "WHERE DREAMS DESCEND"

See You @ ALA Midwinter 2020 (Macmillan Library booth #1240)

Liberty Bells, cheesesteaks, and…great books! Come by our booth #1240 during ALA Midwinter this January for giveaways, authors, and more!

Saturday January 25

AMA with Macmillan CEO John Sargent
8:30am-10:00am
Pennsylvania Convention Center, Room 108-B
Macmillan CEO John Sargent will discuss and answer questions about the company’s eBook policy during this informal session. Light refreshments will be served.

Janella Angeles in-booth signing (WHERE DREAMS DESCEND)
10:00am-11:00am
Macmillan Library booth #1240

Best Fiction for Young Adults Teen Luncheon with Janella Angeles (WHERE DREAMS DESCEND)
11:00am-1:00pm
Pennsylvania Convention Center, Room 115-C

United for Libraries Spotlight on Adult Literature
2:00pm-4:00pm
Macmillan Library booth #1240

Kim Liggett in-booth signing (THE GRACE YEAR)
2:00pm-2:50pm
Macmillan Library booth #1240

Write Her Story: (Re)Shaping Feminist Narratives in YA Literature with Kim Liggett (THE GRACE YEAR)
3:00pm-3:50pm
Pop Top Stage, behind booth 1833
Panelists will explore how YA writers today are re-shaping and re-telling feminist narratives for modern teen audiences. Samira Ahmed discusses her upcoming MAD, BAD & DANGEROUS TO KNOW, starring a present-day teen who unravels the astonishing story of a 19th century Muslim woman. She’s joined in conversation with Kim Liggett, (THE GRACE YEAR) and debut author Abigail Hing Wen (LOVEBOAT, TAIPEI).

Sunday, January 26

“Vote Fiction, Fearless, and Female” panel
9:00am-9:50am
Pop Top Stage, behind booth 1833
2020 is the 100th anniversary of women’s right to vote, and we’re celebrating being fearless, female, and writing fiction with our dear editors and authors–featuring Jenna Johnson, Executive Editor, Farrar, Straus & Giroux, author Raven Leilani (LUSTER), Daphne Durham, Executive Editor, MCD/Farrar, Straus & Giroux, and author Sara Sligar (TAKE ME APART), Caroline Bleeke, Senior Editor, Flatiron Books, and author Charlotte McConaghy (MIGRATIONS).

Books, Books, Books, I LOVE BOOKS Book Buzz
9:15am-10:00am
Book Buzz Theatre, behind booth 830

*Events as of 12/11/19. Check back regularly for updates.

Books for Teens 2020: Something Old, Something New

Welcome to 2020, the year of retellings!

From Macbeth to You’ve Got Mail and everywhere in between, we’ve got retellings galore! And that’s not all! Check out all of our 2020 books for teens below for your fill of adventure, revenge, and romance.

Follow us on Twitter (@MacmillanLib) for all book-related news, on Instagram (@Macmillan_Lib) for pretty pictures of books, and read Emily’s candid “Day’s YA” reviews of upcoming and backlist YA titles.

Winter 2020:

THE NIGHT COUNTRY: A Hazel Wood Novel by Melissa Albert
9781250246073
Available January 7, 2020 from Flatiron Books
Ages 13 to 18

The highly anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestselling tour de force THE HAZEL WOOD! In THE NIGHT COUNTRY, Alice Proserpine dives back into a menacing, mesmerizing world of dark fairy tales and hidden doors.

“It’s a magnificent creation, laden with wonder and fear impossible to turn away from, that will satisfy fans and grow with readers over time. Literal goose bumps.” —Booklist, starred review

“A must-read for fans of portal fantasies, mysteries, and readers who prefer their magic with bloody sharp edges.” —School Library Journal, starred review

“This follow-up to the astonishing THE HAZEL WOOD displays the same lush prose, dizzying imagination, and macabre sensibilities (along with the grisly body count) . . . A necessary read for Hinterland fans—and who isn’t?”
Kirkus Reviews

JANE ANONYMOUS by Laurie Faria Stolarz
9781250303707
Available January 7, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 13 to 18

Jane was held captive in a room with only a bed, a refrigerator, and an adjoining bathroom for seven months. Now she’s back home and the only thing that makes her feel better is writing about her experience. But will uncovering the truth of what happened break her forever?

“A story about lingering trauma, loss, and the journey toward healing, this gripping crime novel could be a documentary from the Investigation Discovery channel. A must-read.” —School Library Journal

“Stolarz ups the psychological ante . . . the depth of psychological intrigue is absorbing, and the twist on Stockholm syndrome, disturbing . . . this novel is a testament to how the mind can reshape reality in order to survive.”
Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“This engrossing confessional is both heartbreaking and hopeful.” —Booklist

TWEET CUTE by Emma Lord
9781250237323
Available January 21, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18

From debut author Emma Lord comes a re-imagining of You’ve Got Mail in this heartfelt and hilarious celebration of snarky tweets, first kisses, and an epic social-media battle between straight-A student Pepper and her biggest annoyance, Jack.

“This plugged-in romance will likely be seen as a precursor to the way teen love stories will be told for years to come.” —Booklist

“Readers will fall in love with the main characters, rooting for them to have their meet-cute.” —School Library Journal

“Lord accurately depicts various sides of today’s online culture. Amid all the digital hoopla is an engaging story about family loyalty and pursuing one’s own passions . . . A just-right combination of sweet and cheesy.” —Kirkus Reviews

DIAMOND CITY by Francesca Flores
9781250220448
Available January 28, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18

Is courage born or is it bred? In this action-packed young adult fantasy, a teen assassin must overcome poverty, violence, and loss because “good things don’t happen to girls who come from nothing . . . unless they risk everything.”

“Full of action sequences that will compel readers to keep turning pages, this book is ideal for those who enjoy fast-paced stories.” —School Library Journal

“An entertaining and action-driven tale of assassins and magic.”
Kirkus Reviews

CRACKED UP TO BE by Courtney Summers
9781250256973
Available February 4, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 13 to 18

The award-winning debut that started it all—now with a gorgeously updated cover (that happens to coordinate perfectly with SADIE) and a new foreword from the New York Times bestselling author herself!

FOUL IS FAIR by Hannah Capin
9781250239549
Available February 18, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 14 to 18

FOUL IS FAIR is a bloody, thrilling, fantasy retelling of Macbeth in which four girls seek revenge on the boys who have wronged them. Golden boys beware: something wicked this way comes.

“Rhythmic, propulsive prose drives this bloody retelling of Macbeth at a relentless pace all the way to its violent end . . . Intense, implausible, and impossible to put down.” —Kirkus Reviews

THE DYSASTERS: The Graphic Novel: Volume 1 by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast
9781250268778
Available February 25, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18

In their first graphic novel adaptation, #1 New York Times bestsellers P.C. and Kristin Cast bring us the world of THE DYSASTERS—genetically manipulated teenagers must control their abilities as they learn of their past, how they came to be, who’s following them, and what tomorrow will bring.

ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED by Sophie Gonzales
9781250315892
Available March 3, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 13 to 18

SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA meets Clueless in this boy-meets-boy spin on Grease. Ollie and Will were meant to only be a summer fling, but when they end up attending the same school, will their fling become something more?

“Summer lovin’ gets a Southern twist in this addicting coming-of-age gay romance . . . Poignant, piquant, and not to be missed.” —Kirkus Reviews

ANNA K.: A Love Story by Jenny Lee
9781250236432
Available March 3, 2020 from Flatiron Books YA
Ages 14 to 18

A deliciously inventive re-imagining of Leo Tolstoy’s timeless love story, ANNA KARENINA​, set in the elite enclaves of Manhattan and Greenwich—perfect for fans of CRAZY RICH ASIANS and Gossip Girl.

“A slow-burn epic tale of love in modern-day Manhattan high society.”
Kirkus Reviews

TIN HEART by Shivaun Plozza will be available in trade paperback on March 20, 2020.

readmoreremove
css.php