Articles tagged "TGIF"

Friday Reads: Fantasy

TGIF! We made it to the end of another wintery week and we’re looking forward to hunkering down all weekend with one of these #FridayReads fantasies:

A CONJURING OF LIGHT by V.E. Schwab
A Library Journal Editors Fall 2016 pick! The battle between four magical Londons comes to a head in this stunning finale to the New York Times bestselling Shades of Magic trilogy by rising star (and LibraryReads author!) V. E. Schwab. “…the hordes are waiting.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

AMBERLOUGH by Lara Elena Donnelly
John le Carré meets Cabaret in this debut spy thriller as a gay double-agent schemes to protect his smuggler lover during the rise of a fascist government coup. “Donnelly blends romance and tragedy, evoking gilded-age glamour and the thrill of a spy adventure, in this impressive debut.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

Friday Reads (1/31/14 Edition)

TGIF friends! Hopefully those of you who attended ALA Midwinter made it home safely and are nominating books like crazy for LibraryReads (the deadline for the March list is today so hurry!).

Already done? Then why not share your Friday Reads with us!

Talia and Anne are treating themselves like royalty with pedicures and these historical novels:

GIRL ON THE GOLDEN COIN by Marci Jefferson
This solid debut novel about the beautiful and captivating Royalist exile Frances Stuart, who must walk a fine line between pleasing kings and protecting her family's secret is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory. "Jefferson's intoxicating first novel superbly draws readers into the mischief and maneuverings, loyalties and treacheries, and lust and hostility of powerful 17th century kings and scheming court sycophants." – Publishers Weekly, starred review  

SEDITION by Katharine Grant
British author Grant turns away from YA for a decidedly adult first novel set in late eighteenth-century London. In this "...witty, dark, and sophisticated tale" (Publishers Weekly, starred review), four nouveau rich fathers make their five marriageable daughters learn to play the piano in an effort to attract men and marry well. However, the girls' lascivious (and French) piano teacher has an education beyond music in his plans... "[A] fun, lascivious gambol through the lives of women and men with decidedly carnal appetites... Suggest to fans of Sarah Dunant and Sarah Waters." – Booklist  

What are you reading this Friday? Share your #FridayReads with us @MacmillanLib

readmoreremove

css.php