Articles tagged "starred reviews"

Three Stars for THE VERY BEST OF THE BEST

THE VERY BEST OF THE BEST: 35 Years of The Year’s Best Science Fiction by Gardner Dozois is the ultimate in science fiction anthologies from a world authority on the genre, and it’s just received its third starred review!

“This anthology is another illuminating look into some of the best current sf from the last decade and more, offering a glorious range of characters, plots, and themes as well as forgotten fiction from sf’s favorite authors.”–Library Journal, starred review

“The 38 stories in this culling of the last 15 annual anthologies edited by the late Dozois testify to the breathtaking scope of science fiction and the diversity and talent of its writers.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“This anthology is highly recommended for anyone interested in all of the rich and varied possibilities sf as a genre has to offer.”–Booklist, starred review

Nonfiction Round-Up (1/16/19)

Aging doesn’t have to be scary! Today’s Nonfiction Round-Up is here to help guide your patrons through the process:

DOWNHILL FROM HERE: Retirement Insecurity in the Age of Inequality by Katherine S. Newman
A sharp examination of the looming financial catastrophe of retirement in America. “Strongly recommended for policymakers, business and nonprofit leaders, and general readers concerned (and who isn’t?) about their retirement.”–Library Journal, starred review

WOMEN ROWING NORTH: Navigating Life’s Currents and Flourishing As We Age by Mary Pipher
Two starred reviews!
From the New York Times bestselling author of REVIVING OPHELIA, a guide to wisdom, authenticity, and bliss for women as they age. “While a must-read for its target audience of women moving into old age, Pipher’s engaging book is an ought-to-read for their daughters and sons as well, as it sets forth the universal message that ‘happiness is a choice and a set of skills.'”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Three Stars for WOMEN TALKING

Everyone’s talking about WOMEN TALKING! Miriam Toews’ incredible story of eight women in a remote Mennonite colony has received THREE starred reviews!

[A] sharp blade of a novel…. Toews’ eviscerating fictionalization of this incendiary reality focuses not on the violence but, rather, on the keen, subversive intelligence of the Mennonite women, their philosophical casts of mind, clashing personalities, and deep concerns about family and faith.”Booklist, starred review

“[A]n inspiring and unforgettable novel.”Publishers Weekly, starred review

“An exquisite critique of patriarchal culture…. Stunningly original and altogether arresting.”Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Killing It! February 2019 LibraryReads List Edition

FANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has FIVE February 2019 LibraryReads picks, including the highly coveted #1 spot, and a Hall of Famer!

In the #1 spot:
THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides
A February 2019 Indie Next List Pick!
After shooting her husband in the face, Alicia Berenson takes a vow of silence. Theo Faber is a criminal psychotherapist who has waited a long time for the opportunity to work with Alicia. His determination to get her to talk and unravel the mystery of why she shot her husband takes him down a twisting path into his own motivations—a search for the truth that threatens to consume him…. “This edgy, intricately plotted psychological thriller establishes Michaelides as a major player in the field.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books:

A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill
A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration.

QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter by Veronica Chambers
“With such a dynamic ensemble of opinions and reflections, the collection will be sweet reading not just for Beyoncé’s superfans, but also for activists, feminists, and budding vocalists. An uplifting and resounding ovation.”Kirkus Reviews 

“Entertaining and illuminating, this essay collection will please readers no matter their Beyoncé fan status level.”Publishers Weekly

DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion
by Tanisha C. Ford
From sneakers to leather jackets, a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet.

GO HIGH: The Unstoppable Presence and Poise of Michelle Obama
by M. Sweeney
A photographic celebration of the former first lady’s elegance and strength.

readmoreremove

Short Story Feature + Stars for RAG and INSTRUCTIONS FOR A FUNERAL

Today we celebrate the bite-size wonder of short stories with a feature on four incredible collections.

MOTHERS: Stories by Chris Power
Peopled by men and women who find themselves at crossroads or dead ends, these stories evoke the magic and despair of the essential human longing for purpose. “Power’s wide-ranging debut is confident, complex, bizarre, poignant, and elegantly crafted—a very strong collection.”–Kirkus Reviews

BONUS! If you enjoy listening to music while reading, check out Chris Power’s custom MOTHERS playlist.

WE LOVE ANDERSON COOPER: Short Stories by R.L. Maizes
Available July 23, 2019
A charmingly funny but deeply human short story collection about outsiders from a Pushcart Prize-nominee.

BONUS! Head over to Edelweiss for the e-galley.

And we’re not the only ones loving on short stories. These forthcoming collections have received multiple starred reviews!

RAG: Stories by Maryse Meijer
Available February 12, 2019
“In Meijer’s outstanding and disturbing second collection (after HEARTBREAKER), her fragmented writing style produces an intense and distilled view of isolated moments—or, conversely, makes the outrageous or aberrant seem ordinary.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

SUPER MEGA Stars On Stars On Stars On Stars (1/11/19)

Forecast calls for a meteor shower! Make room on your shelves for our many STARS.

Fiction:

THE NOWHERE CHILD by Christian White
“White’s tightly woven debut thriller has already won the Victorian Premier Literary Award in Australia; its arrival Stateside comes highly recommended.”–Library Journal, starred review

“The impatient may be tempted to skip ahead, but they shouldn’t. Thriller fans will want to savor every crumb of evidence and catch every clue. White is definitely a writer to watch.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

TRUST EXERCISE by Susan Choi
[T]he writing (exquisite) and the observations (cuttingly accurate) make Choi’s latest both wrenching and one-of-a-kind. Never sentimental; always thrillingly alive.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Fiercely intelligent, impeccably written, and observed with searing insight, this novel is destined to be a classic.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

#ThrillerThursday (1/10/19)

Apocalyptic thrillers + female sheriffs + Minneapolis PIs = one exciting #ThrillerThursday!

THE COMING STORM: A Thriller by Mark Alpert
“Using his background in science, Alpert has crafted a tale that begins with the U.S. government ignoring the effects of climate change and then abandoning human rights in a misguided attempt to control the resulting chaos. A frightening apocalypse thriller…”–Booklist

RECEPTOR by Alan Glynn
“Readers who enjoyed Edgar finalist Glynn’s LIMITLESS will welcome this intriguing sequel.”–Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

Nonfiction Round-Up (1/9/19)

Life-saving dogs, easy recipes, historical conspiracies, influential queens, labor uprisings, and the roots of the American criminal justice system–check out today’s nonfiction picks!

HERO DOGS: How a Pack of Rescues, Rejects, and Strays Became America’s Greatest Disaster-Search Partners by Wilma Melville with Paul Lobo
The incredible memoir of how Wilma Melville turned a band of shelter dogs into one of America’s foremost disaster-response assets in catastrophes from 9/11 to Katrina. “It makes for a harrowing, often heartbreaking, yet inspirational tale as Melville eloquently explores the small victories and wrenching losses of the dogs’ much-needed work.”–Publishers Weekly

5 INGREDIENTS: Quick & Easy Food by Jamie Oliver
Maximum flavor with minimum fuss, lots of nutritious options, and loads of epic inspiration from one of the bestselling cookbook authors of all time.

readmoreremove

#PubDay (1/8/19)

It’s #pubday for a thrilling sci-fi series, a coming-of-age story couched in myth and history, and a how-to for dating in the modern age!

GHOST WALLL by Sarah Moss
2 starred reviews!
January 2019 Indie Next Pick
A taut, gripping tale of a young woman and an Iron Age reenactment trip that unearths frightening behavior. “This novella-length story is thought provoking on multiple levels, with insights into primitive and modern societies, and coming of age in the face of family violence.”–Library Journal, starred review

HOW TO DATE MEN WHEN YOU HATE MEN by Blythe Roberson
2 starred reviews!
A comedy philosophy book aimed at interrogating what it means to date men within the trappings of modern society. “The title of Roberson’s first book sounds like a dating manual; it is so much better than that. Instead of useful advice, she offers a survival manual for cis straight women living in a patriarchal society that undervalues their work but who still want to smooch hot guys.”–Booklist, starred review

THROUGH FIERY TRIALS: Safehold (Volume 10) by David Weber
The tenth volume in the New York Times bestselling Safehold series finds Safehold facing an uncertain future.

css.php