Articles tagged "starred reviews"

It’s #PubDay! (5/21/19)

Fantasy, coming-of-age, and a PW Best Book of the Summer–pick your poison!

AN ILLUSION OF THIEVES by Cate Glass

“A combination of political intrigue, deceit, and forbidden talents imbues this adventurous series-starter that ends with hints of another caper to come with a Mission Impossible vibe.”–Booklist, starred review

THE SCENT KEEPER by Erica Bauermeister

Watch Nancy Pearl interview the author!

“A young girl with a unique talent for identifying scents embarks on a journey of self-discovery when she’s ripped from her intensely isolated childhood home… An artfully crafted coming-of-age story that will take the reader on an exquisite olfactory adventure.”–Kirkus Reviews

readmoreremove

Stars on stars on stars on stars on stars on stars (5/17/19)

Stars on stars on stars on stars for your #FridayReads!

THE HISTORY OF LIVING FOREVER by Jake Wolff

“The epic sweep and sly humor in the midst of enormous anguish will remind readers of Michael Chabon’s work as they relish this heady exploration of grief, alchemy, and love.“–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Wolff’s wild, hilarious, and moving adventure is rooted in reason and the tough truths of life: how easy it is to hurt the ones we love; that forgetting is easier than forgiving; and that life (with an elixir or not) is never long enough.”–Booklist, starred review

GRACE WILL LEAD US HOME: The Charleston Church Massacre and the Hard, Inspiring Journey to Forgiveness by Jennifer Berry Hawes

“With empathy and kindness, Hawes bears witness to one of the most horrific incidents in recent American history.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Sarah Gailey’s MAGIC FOR LIARS is a June 2019 LibraryReads Pick!

The votes are counted and the list is out, and we’re happy to announce that Sarah Gailey’s MAGIC FOR LIARS is a June 2019 LibraryReads pick!

MAGIC FOR LIARS by Sarah Gailey

A June Indie Next Pick + 2 starred reviews!

“There’s something for almost all readers here: family drama, romance, high-school gossip, fantasy-world building. Above all, Gailey shows us that humans are humans, even when they are magic, and they are still flawed, damaged, and oh so interesting.”–Booklist, starred review

“Gailey’s debut is an energetic modern fantasy that plays rough with relationships and personal beliefs, from youth to adulthood. Ivy’s emotional investigation will strike a chord in anyone who has ever felt like they don’t belong. Highly recommended for all collections.”–Library Journal, starred review

Author Spotlight: Erika Swyler (5/2/19)

Erika Swyler is ruling the book world right now with her multi-starred, Library Journal & Indie Next Pick, LIGHT FROM OTHER STARS.

Erika Swyler is the author of book club favorite, THE BOOK OF SPECULATION, a national bestseller, a Barnes & Noble Discover, Indie Next, AND LibraryReads pick. Her essays and short fiction have appeared in Catapult, VIDA, The New York Times, and elsewhere. Erika lives on Long Island (a.k.a Strong Island), NY, with her husband and a petulant rabbit. She writes, bakes, is a casual runner, and has very strong feelings about typewriters.

LIGHT FROM OTHER STARS (on shelves 5/7) is about fathers and daughters, women and the forces that hold them back, and the cost of meaningful work. It questions how our lives have changed, what progress looks like, and what it really means to sacrifice for the greater good.

readmoreremove

Starred Review Round-Up (5/1/19)

I’m seeing stars! Starred reviews, that is. Keep an eye out for these titles that all received multiple starred reviews!

MAGIC FOR LIARS by Sarah Gailey

There’s something for almost all readers here: family drama, romance, high-school gossip, fantasy-world building. Above all, Gailey shows us that humans are humans, even when they are magic, and they are still flawed, damaged, and oh so interesting.”–Booklist, starred review

“Gailey’s debut is an energetic modern fantasy that plays rough with relationships and personal beliefs, from youth to adulthood. Ivy’s emotional investigation will strike a chord in anyone who has ever felt like they don’t belong. Highly recommended for all collections.“–Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove

Starred Review Round-Up (4/26/19)

Calling all collection development librarians! These books all received multiple starred reviews!

THE RIGHT SORT OF MAN by Allison Montclair

“The Right Sort Marriage Bureau’s debut is exactly the right sort to have readers hoping for a second date.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Both leads are complex, well-developed characters, whose penchant for humorous byplay never comes at the expense of the plot, which resolves itself in a clever fair play reveal. Fans of Maisie Dobbs and Bess Crawford will be delighted.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

NATIVE COUNTRY OF THE HEART: A Memoir by Cherríe Moraga

“A sympathetic portrait of Mexican-American feminism (both in mother and daughter) delivered in a poignant, beautifully written way.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Moraga’s captivating and perceptive memoir successfully conveys her belief that ‘we are as much of a place as we are of a people.'”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Three Stars for MY PARENTS: AN INTRODUCTION / THIS DOES NOT BELONG TO YOU

Aleksandar Hemon’s two-book-in-one MY PARENTS: AN INTRODUCTION / THIS DOES NOT BELONG TO YOU has received THREE starred reviews!

“Two very different memoirs within the same cover address memory, identity, history, and mortality from different perspectives… An incisive combination of literature that addresses the function of literature and memories that explore the meaning of memory.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Sometimes lively and sensual, sometimes bleakly ruminative, Hemon’s recollections unite his dazzling prose style with a captivating personal narrative.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“The dynamics between Hemon’s tribute to his parents…and his episodic coming-of-age memoir enhance the impact of each as his perspective widens, narrows, and widens again, allowing him to trace the ripple effects of traumatic loss and displacement. Here, too, are bracing candor, gruff tenderness, righteous anger, and political astuteness, all conveyed with Hemon’s signature intensity, mordant wit, and creative bite.”–Booklist, starred review

Starred Review Round-Up

A historical mystery, a magical re-imagining, and an exploration of domestic violence all received 2 starred reviews!

DEATH OF A NEW AMERICAN by Mariah Fredericks (author of Library Journal Best Book of the Year and Edgar Award nominee, A DEATH OF NO IMPORTANCE)

“With an astute amateur sleuth whose evaluation of the roles and positions of women is a crucial element, and a topical story line that emphasizes the immigrant experience and women’s lives, this title comes highly recommended“–Library Journal, starred review, Pick of the Month

Fredericks has a sharp eye for the complexities of human nature and how even good people are capable of committing terrible deeds to protect the ones they love. This is a touching portrait of early-20th-century New York in all its glory and ugliness.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Three Stars for MIDDLEGAME

Seanan McGuire set the bar for fantasy with her Wayward Children series, and now her forthcoming standalone MIDDLEGAME has received its third starred review!

“McGuire sets a high bar for alchemy-based stories in this new stand-alone, twisting themes of time and space as seen through the eyes of children. Note that some painful scenes feature self-harm and violence. Overall this singular work keeps readers thinking long after the final page.”–Library Journal, starred review

“Shifts and alterations in timelines demand close attention from readers, but McGuire’s rigorous plotting pulls everything together by the end. This is a fascinating novel by an author of consummate skill.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Satisfying on all levels of the reading experience: thrilling, emotionally resonant, and cerebral. Escape to Witch Mountain for grown-ups.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

BONUS: Legendary Television and Syfy are bringing Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children to TV beginning with EVERY HEART A DOORWAY!

Three Stars for LANNY and Movie News!

Max Porter’s entrancing new novel just received it’s third starred review and Rachel Weisz is set to STAR in and produce the feature adaptation!

“This imaginative novel starts off dreamily, picks up speed, and races to a propulsive conclusion. A guaranteed edge-of-your-seat read.”–Library Journal, starred review

“In his bold second novel, Porter (GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS) combines pastoral, satire, and fable in the entrancing tale of a boy who vanishes from an idyllic British village in the present day…. This is a dark and thrilling excavation into a community’s legend-packed soil.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Elegantly mysterious: a story worthy of an M.R. James or even a Henry James and a welcome return by an author eminently worth reading.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

css.php