Articles tagged "starred reviews"

We’re Seeing Stars!

Holy starred reviews, Batman! Check out these forthcoming titles that earned two starred reviews!

THE GUEST BOOK by Sarah Blake

“This novel sets out to be more than a juicy family saga—it aims to depict the moral evolution of a part of American society. Its convincing characters and muscular narrative succeed on both counts.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Blake deftly interrogates the many shades of prejudice and ‘the ordinary, everyday wickedness of turning away.’ Blake’s brilliant and ravishing novel promises to hit big”–Booklist, starred review

LOTHARINGIA: A Personal History of Europe’s Lost Country by Simon Winder

“Winder highlights the contrasts between readers’ modern perspectives and those of the Lotharingians and their peers with a deft combination of personal observation, historical anecdotes, and humorously straightforward summaries of complex military, dynastic, and ideological conflicts. This work is highly recommended for fans of European and world history.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Macmillan Dominates with FOUR April LibraryReads Picks!

Exciting new, folks! The votes are in, and you lovely librarians chose FOUR Macmillan titles for the April 2019 LibraryReads list!

THE GIRL HE USED TO KNOW by Tracey Garvis Graves

An April 2019 Indie Next Pick!
“Careful to balance the emotional and intellectual power between Annika and Jonathan, Graves creates a believable love affair in which Annika is not infantilized but rather fully realized as simply different. And her differences become her strengths when catastrophe strikes, compelling Annika to take the lead for the first time in her life. A heartwarming, neurodiverse love story.”–Kirkus Reviews

THE MOTHER-IN-LAW by Sally Hepworth

Author of LibraryReads pick THE THINGS WE KEEP
“A masterful depiction of how much is said in the silences, accompanied by increasing unease over what happened to Diana, make this a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Two Starred Reviews for LANNY and CAPE MAY

A Henry James read-alike and a spicy debut both received two starred reviews!

LANNY by Max Porter

Movie adaptation starring Rachel Weisz coming soon!

“In his bold second novel, Porter (GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS) combines pastoral, satire, and fable in the entrancing tale of a boy who vanishes from an idyllic British village in the present day…. This is a dark and thrilling excavation into a community’s legend-packed soil.“–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Elegantly mysterious: a story worthy of an M.R. James or even a Henry James and a welcome return by an author eminently worth reading.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

CAPE MAY by Chip Cheek

“This young couple’s September honeymoon in Cape May got so boring they almost went home early. If only…. The 1950s setting, the pellucid prose, and the propulsive plot make this very steamy debut novel about morality and desire feel like a classic.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Yes, betrayals are at the core of what happens at Cape May, but beyond that, this remarkable debut novel offers a sobering reminder of how the possibilities of life, when first encountered, often carry their own riptide.”–Booklist, starred review

Sneak Peek: April 2019 Indie Next List

The April 2019 Indie Next List includes FIVE Macmillan titles!

WOMEN TALKING by Miriam Toews

Three starred reviews!
“[A] sharp blade of a novel…. Toews’ eviscerating fictionalization of this incendiary reality focuses not on the violence but, rather, on the keen, subversive intelligence of the Mennonite women, their philosophical casts of mind, clashing personalities, and deep concerns about family and faith.”–Booklist, starred review

“[A]n inspiring and unforgettable novel.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“An exquisite critique of patriarchal culture…. Stunningly original and altogether arresting.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

#PubDay (3/5/19)

A short story collection, a city missing its resident superhero, a March Indie Next pick, and a stunning exploration of the human condition…welcome to #pubday!

INSTRUCTIONS FOR A FUNERAL: Stories by David Means
Three starred reviews!
“With his debut novel, HYSTOPIA (2016), Means proved he is a gifted long-form storyteller. But his follow-up, his fifth story collection since 1991, affirms his position as one the best story writers of his generation.”–Booklist, starred review

“Means spins intricate, highly textured yarns with great artistry, care, and an acute, empathetic eye. Treasures abound.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“In this magnificent book, we find the stories of every one of us: absent and present, dislocated and connected, at the mercy of our history, our narratives.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Three Stars for RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE

Everyone is falling in love with debut M/M rom-com RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston! Just check out these THREE starred reviews:

“The much-loved royal romance genre gets a fun and refreshing update in McQuiston’s debut…. A clever, romantic, sexy love story.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“The impossible relationship between Alex and Henry is portrayed with quick wit and clever plotting. The drama, which involves political rivals, possible betrayals, and even a meeting with the queen, is both irresistible and delicious. Readers will be eager to see more from McQuiston after this extremely promising start.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“In between sweet and steamy love scenes, RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE allows readers to imagine a world where coming out involves no self-loathing; where fan fiction and activist Twitter do actual good; and a diverse, liberal White House wins elections. This Blue Wave fantasy could be the feel-good book of the summer.”
Booklist, starred review

Also don’t miss Booklist’s exclusive interview with the author.

Three Stars for LIGHT FROM OTHER STARS

The stars are shining on LIGHT FROM OTHER STARS by the author of the June 2015 LibraryReads pick THE BOOK OF SPECULATION, Erika Swyler! This poignant, fantastical novel just received its third starred review!

Swyler’s beautiful story, told in eloquent prose, induces shivers of wonder. This meditation on time, loss, and the depth of human connection is both melancholy and astonishing.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Grand in scope and graceful in execution, Swyler’s latest is at once a wistfully nostalgic coming-of-age tale and a profound work of horror-tinged science fiction.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Brings to mind the quintessential pioneering writer who used science to explore the human condition, Mary Shelley.”–Booklist, starred review

Stars and More Stars for Forthcoming Titles

Save room on your shelves for these forthcoming titles with multiple starred reviews!

GRIEVOUS by H. S. Cross
“Cross is a good writer who draws on a Kipling-esque nostalgia in her entertainingly peculiar picture of the public school as crucible for young male Brits.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“[T]he novel is beautifully written, a tour de force of psychological insight into its richly realized characters, and an extraordinary exercise in mood, tone, and characterization. It is not to be missed.”–Booklist, starred review

RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston
Check out Booklist’s exclusive interview with the author!
“The impossible relationship between Alex and Henry is portrayed with quick wit and clever plotting. The drama, which involves political rivals, possible betrayals, and even a meeting with the queen, is both irresistible and delicious. Readers will be eager to see more from McQuiston after this extremely promising start.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Nonfiction Round-Up (2/20/19)

From American imperialism and the WWII Home Front, to an essay collection and a Russian cross-country adventure–check out today’s nonfiction picks:

THE DARKEST YEAR: The American Home Front 1941-1942 by William K. Klingaman
Two starred reviews!
“This thoroughly researched and accessible text will prove elucidating to anyone curious about social history, World War II, or the rhetoric of a country in crisis.”–Library Journal, starred review

“Klingaman uses media, literature, journals, and letters to illustrate the year, and the resulting history is riveting.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Starred Review Round-Up (2/12/19)

2 stars each for an empowering badass debut, a psychedelic coming-of-age memoir, and a Chinese sci-fi translation.

SAVE ME FROM DANGEROUS MEN by S. A. Lelchuk
“This intelligent, action-packed thriller will resonate with readers as it touches on such themes as domestic violence, the widening gap between rich and poor, and the intrusive potential of advanced technologies like artificial intelligence. A credible plot and solid prose are pluses, but the book’s real appeal stems from its powerful, distinctive protagonist.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Nikki’s fight scenes are satisfying, clever, and exciting…. Bookworms will love the references to classic novels, and Lelchuk winks at Nikki’s similarities to a certain well-known literary vigilante; a bookshop regular even calls her Lisbeth. A timely and totally badass debut.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

css.php