Articles tagged "SO LUCKY"

Our 2019 YALSA & RUSA Award Winners!

Congratulations to all of the amazing Macmillan authors who won awards or were selected for YALSA and RUSA’s various reading lists this year!

2019 Reading List (The Reading List is an annual best-of list comprised of eight different fiction genres for adult readers selected by RUSA’s Reading List Council.)

Adrenaline Short List
JAR OF HEARTS by Jennifer Hillier
Fantasy Short List
THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert
Historical Fiction Short List
A WELL BEHAVED WOMAN: A Novel of the Vanderbilts by Therese Anne Fowler
Mystery Short List
CRIMSON LAKE by Candice Fox
Science Fiction Winner
THE CALCULATING STARS: A Lady Astronaut Novel by Mary Robinette Kowal
Women’s Fiction Shortlist
HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center
MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson

2019 Over the Rainbow List (Honors adult books with significant LGBTQ content)

HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES: Stories by Carmen Maria Machado
SO LUCKY by Nicola Griffith

2019 Rainbow Book List (Honors books with significant gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, or queer/questioning content, and which are aimed at youth, birth through age 18.)

HOW I RESIST: Activism and Hope for a New Generation by Maureen Johnson

Alex Awards (the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences)

THE BLACK GOD’S DRUMS by P. Djèlí Clarkm

Odyssey Award (This annual award is given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults)

SADIE written by Courtney Summers, narrated by Rebecca Soler, Fred Berman, Dan Bittner, Gabra Zackman, & more, and produced by Macmillan Audio from Wednesday Books

May 2018 Bestsellers & Recent Releases

Here’s our updated Edelweiss collection of this month’s bestsellers and recently released titles, perfect for collection development! Here are some of the top titles for May 2018:

Bestsellers:
THE HIGH TIDE CLUB by Mary Kay Andrews
MISS SUBWAYS by David Duchovny
HOW I RESIST: Activism and Hope for a New Generation, edited by Maureen Johnson

Recent Releases:
CHOSEN COUNTRY: A Rebellion in the West by James Pogue
CHOOSE WONDER OVER WORRY by Amber Rae
ROBIN by Dave Itzkoff
SO LUCKY by Nicola Griffith

May Indie Next Picks:
HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center
MOTHERHOOD by Sheila Heti
MY EX-LIFE by Stephen McCauley readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (5/15/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to two new novels starring women who overcome adversity:

HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center
A May 2018 Indie Next pick with two starred reviews! Margaret Jacobson has a bright future ahead of her, with a fiancé and a promising career, until an accident on what should be one of the happiest days of her life takes it all away. “A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

SO LUCKY by Nicola Griffith
The “affecting autobiographical novel”* of a confident woman forced to confront an unnerving new reality when in the space of a single week her wife leaves her and she is diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. “Anyone who’s ever struggled with medical adversity will be inspired.” — *Publishers Weekly

css.php