Articles tagged "sff"

Three Stars for GIDEON THE NINTH

Swordplay, cut-throat politics, and lesbian necromancers–oh my! Tamsyn Muir’s debut GIDEON THE NINTH now has THREE starred reviews!

“From the mad science joys of necromantic theory to the deliciously ever-evolving tension between Gideon and Harrow, this adventurous novel not only embraces its strangeness but wrings delight from it. The result is an addictive, genre-bending book that will wow readers with its vibrant energy, endearing cast, and emotional gut-punch of a finale.“–Publishers Weekly, starred review

At once sarcastic, sincere, heart-wrenching, and honest pulpy enjoyment, filled with dark magic, swordplay, and lesbian necromancers, Muir’s debut is a fantastic sf/fantasy blend. Readers will discuss this journey for a long time and be clamoring for the next installment.”–Library Journal, starred review

“This debut novel, the first of a projected trilogy, blends science fiction, fantasy, gothic chiller, and classic house-party mystery… Suspenseful and snarky, with surprising emotional depths.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

LOCK IN lands on the August 2014 LibraryReads list!

FANTASTIC NEWS! LOCK IN by John Scalzi is #4 on the August 2014 LibraryReads list!

In Hugo Award-winning author Scalzi’s latest sci-fi novel, a meningitis-like virus known as “Haden’s syndrome” has swept the globe, leaving nearly 5 million people “locked in”—fully awake and aware, but unable to move or respond to stimulus. Locked-in Haden’s survivors can interact with the real world via humanoid robots known as “threeps,” and a select group of Haden survivors can function as “Integrators,” allowing their bodies to be controlled by others. In this new world, rookie FBI agent and Haden’s poster boy Chris Shane and veteran agent Leslie Vann must investigate a Haden-related murder that may have much larger implications in this new society.

It’s received three outstanding starred reviews:

“Hugo-winner Scalzi successfully shifts away from space opera with this smart, thoughtful near-future thriller resonant with the themes of freedom, ethics, and corporate greed. Scalzi’s characters possess tangible motivations and inhabit a thoroughly believable world, and the growing partnership between Shane and Vann is a pleasure to watch unfold. This powerful novel will intrigue and entertain both fans and newcomers.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“[T]he novel—which contains plenty of action, great character development, vivid and believable worldbuilding and a thought-provoking examination of disability culture and politics—is definitely worth the ride. This SF thriller provides yet more evidence that Scalzi is a master at creating appealing commercial fiction.” Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Tightly plotted, highly imaginative… Another brilliant novel from a writer who has quickly become one of the genre’s most successful and intriguing practitioners.”
Booklist, starred review

So many of you loved it, too!

LOCK IN-Dan Brooks tweet

LOCK IN-Janet Lockhart tweet

LOCK IN-Jane Jorgenson tweet

See the complete list at LibraryReads.org.

readmoreremove

Starred Reviews for Existence

Did Prometheus get your patrons back in the mood for some seriously pulse-pounding alien stories? I figured as much! And if they're looking for an epic alien adventure that's new to the shelves, pass them EXISTENCE by Hugo and Nebula Award-winner David Brin. 

Gerald Livingston is your typical orbital garbage collector. For a hundred years, people have been abandoning things in space and it's his job to clean it up. When Gerald finds an alien communication device orbiting Earth with the message, "JOIN US," he and the rest of mankind are thrown into a maelstrom of fear, hope, violence, joy, and insatiable curiosity.

"Brin’s thoughtful, multilayered story explores a first contact scenario where every twist reveals greater peril. His longtime fans will especially appreciate that this story could be read as a prequel to 1983’s STARTIDE RISING, while those not familiar with his work will find it an impressive introduction to one of SF’s major talents." -Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Featuring memorable characters and masterly storytelling, Brin’s latest novel provides food for thought and entertainment. Fans of Vernor Vinge and Arthur C. Clarke, as well as Brin’s own sizable fan base, will enjoy this multidimensional story." -Library Journal (starred review)

"Brin's EXISTENCE is bursting with ideas, including near-future tech, first contact with aliens, and the exploration of what it means to be human. It's the sort of novel that runs the risk of being overstuffed — but EXISTENCE pulls it off." -io9

Also GeekWire.com did an interview with David Brin about the state of Science Fiction, new media forms, nonfiction, and EXISTENCE here!

readmoreremove

css.php