Articles tagged "Scott Turow"

Thriller Thursday (3/30/17 Edition)

Crime & cat cozies, oh my! Read on for our #ThrillerThursday picks:

CONVICTION by Julia Dahl
Three starred reviews! In Dahl’s third powerful novel, Rebekah Roberts investigates a murder that occurred in Brooklyn after the Crown Heights riots of 1991, for which the wrong man may have been convicted. “CONVICTION is a cleverly named compelling chronicle…[about] the very meaning of power and poverty, justice, family, and, best of all, hope. Timely and perfect for twenty- and thirtysomething fans of Megan Abbott and Lisa Lutz.” — Booklist, starred review

ALMOST MISSED YOU by Jessica Strawser
A Library Journal “Great First Acts—Debut Novels” pick! A powerful debut that knits parental abduction with devastating secrets unraveling among friends and spouses. “Fans of smart women’s fiction mixed with a fast-paced plot should not miss this startling first novel from the editorial director of Writer’s Digest Magazine.” — Library Journal

THE OUTSIDER by Anthony Franze
A young law clerk finds himself caught in the cross-hairs of a serial killer in this fast-paced thriller set in the high-pressure world of the Supreme Court. “Descriptions of the law and how the Supreme Court operates are engaging, and Franze knows how to showcase the ins and outs of that world without diving into too much legalese…. It’s like a mix of John Grisham and Scott Turow alongside the inner workings of the court system. Toss it all together and the end result is this winning novel.” — Associated Press

FOLLOW ME DOWN by Sherri Smith
In Smith’s debut thriller, Mia Haas is drawn back to the North Dakota town where she grew up when she learns that her twin brother is missing—and that he’s suspected of murdering the high school student he was allegedly having an affair with. “…this fast-moving domestic thriller will satisfy readers of contemporary suspense.” — Booklist

THE NO. 2 FELINE DETECTIVE AGENCY: A Hettie Bagshot Mystery by Mandy Morton
Prepare to be besotted with this first book in a new series that turns the traditional British cozy on its head and features feline crime-solvers. “For lovers of cat cozies, the world that Morton has created will be irresistible.” — Publishers Weekly

What are you reading this #ThrillerThursday? Share your picks with us @MacmillanLib.

Thriller Thursday (3/24/16 Edition)

Fresh meat! We’ve got two new mysteries for you this #ThrillerThursday, but first go RSVP for next month’s “Mysteries to Die For” Booklist webinar.

THE ADVOCATE’S DAUGHTER by Anthony Franze
On the eve of his nomination to the U.S. Supreme Court, Sean Serrat’s daughter is found murdered in the court’s library. Now Sean must uncover secrets within his own family as well as the lies of some of the most powerful people in the country to find her killer. “This fast-paced thriller will appeal to fans of Brad Meltzer, Joseph Finder, and Scott Turow.” — Booklist

TERROR IN TAFFETA by Marla Cooper
Smart, spirited heroine/wedding planner Kelsey McKenna must solve a murder when a bridesmaid-zilla drops dead during the ceremony at a destination wedding. “This cozy debut introduces a competent new amateur sleuth whose profession is sure to provide myriad problems along with a cast of quirky characters and plenty of motives and red herrings that keep you guessing.” — Kirkus Reviews

BONUS: Read the PW interview with Kelley Armstrong about creating an off-the-grid murder investigation for her new book, CITY OF THE LOST.

 

Happy #BookBday

Tuesday might not seem like a day worth celebrating, but an author will tell you otherwise. Once a year (or every other year, or a decade, or a month if you're James Patterson), there's one Tuesday that's more exciting than any other:

The book birthday! 

Today we wish a happy #BookBday to:

NECESSARY LIES by Diane Chamberlain

Bestselling author Chamberlain delivers a breakout book, mining the appalling, little-known history of North Carolina’s Eugenics Sterilization Program, in effect from 1929 to 1975. Called "Absorbing and haunting" (Booklist), and "Socially conscious melodrama at its best” (Kirkus Reviews), NECESSARY LIES is great for "Book groups and fans of Jodi Picoult....” (Library Journal, starred review) and a SIBA Fall 2013 Okra Pick
This debut novel from Finch creates a beguiling, disturbing world about a mysterious man who enters an internationally renowned refuge for writers in exile. In a starred review, Kirkus called it "Satiric, tough and very funny" and Gary Shteyngart, author of Super Sad True Love Story says, “Once I got into The House of Journalists I couldn’t leave! In fact, I think I’m still there. Someone please call the fire department. This prose is flammable!”
BITTER RIVER by Julia Keller
Pulitzer Prize-winning author Julia Keller counts Michael Connelly, Dennis Lehane, Scott Turow, Karin Slaughter, Laura Lippman, and C.J. Box among her fans (talk about great company!). BITTER RIVER is a September Indie Next selection and Michael Connelly said, “BITTER RIVER has an elegiac force to it that is powerful and gripping. I just turned the last page on this one and I want more.”
Kitty Birthday

Scott Turow on the Value of Free Access to Knowledge

Author and Authors Guild president Scott Turow is not sitting quietly by as libraries lose funding. Earlier this week, Turow published an article in the Huffington Post acknowledging that state and municipal governments continue to struggle with diminished budgets, but lamenting, "public libraries nationwide have been one of the biggest and least deserved losers in the process."

The article focuses on what Turow sees to be the major virtues of public libraries today:

"For Americans facing job losses, working to gain new skills and seeking assistance in an increasingly digital world, U.S. public libraries are first responders."

"For thousands and thousands of American kids, libraries are the only safe place they can find to study, a haven free from the dangers of street or the numbing temptations of television."

"Most important of all," he writes, "a library within a community stands as a testimonial to its values, its belief in universal access to literature and knowledge."

Read the full article here!

css.php