Articles tagged "School Library Journal’s Day of Dialog"

Teen Talk Tuesday (2/21/17 Edition)

It’s time for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya, starting now/4pm EST)! Before you tell us about your must-read YA books, we’ve got some news & resources for you:

Stephanie Garber’s CARAVAL is the #1 pick on the Spring 2017 Kids’ Indie Next List! Also on the list? A CROWN OF WISHES by Roshani Chokshi. School Library Journal also gave a sneak peek at their must-read titles for Spring 2017, including three of our books.

There’s still time to sign up for the following events:
Booklist‘s Spring 2017 YA Announcements webinar on Tuesday, February 28
AAP Children’s & YA Tri-State Book Buzz 
on Wednesday, March 1 in NYC
School Library Journal‘s Day of Dialog on Wednesday, May 31 in NYC
If you can’t attend any of those events, it’s OK—we’ll post the titles we discussed on the blog after they happen.

WINTERSONG by S. Jae-Jones
Ages 12 to 18
Set at the turn of the 19th century, this richly imagined debut coming-of-age story spins a spellbinding tale perfect for fans of Labyrinth and THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST as a young woman searches for her sister who was kidnapped by the Goblin King. “There are plenty of nods to Labyrinth, but atmospherically, this first novel is most similar to another debut: Robin McKinley’s BEAUTY. …this is an exquisitely and lyrically crafted tale of longing, sibling loyalty, and the importance of women in a time when women were so often overlooked. Eerie, unsettling, and, above all, full of music.” — Booklist, starred review

NEIL GAIMAN’S MR. HERO COMPLETE COMICS VOL. 2 by James Vance, illustrated by Ted Slampyak
Also available in trade paperback. The Mr. Hero saga concludes as Jennifer Hale finally uncovers the mysterious past of the Newmatic Man! readmoreremove

Teen Talk Thursday (5/19/16 Edition)

Sorry we missed y’all at #ewgcya earlier this week, but we loved seeing some of you at School Library Journal‘s Day of Dialog.
We’re especially happy that some of our favorite YA titles of the year are available this month for you to put in the hot little hands of your patrons!

IF I WAS YOUR GIRL by Meredith Russo
IT’S FINALLY HERE! Two starred reviews for Meredith Russo’s hugely important transgender romance. “Russo has written a story that many trans teens—and adults—have been wanting: a sweet, believable romance that stokes the fires of hope without devolving into saccharine perfection or horrific tragedy. Above all, this is a necessary, universal story about feeling different and enduring prejudices, and it’s full of love, hope, engaging writing, and truth.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

SUMMER DAYS & SUMMER NIGHTS: Twelve Love Stories, edited by Stephanie Perkins
***FOUR STARRED REVIEWS!!!*** ‘Scuse us while we swoon over these twelve romantic summer stories by bestselling young adult authors, including Francesca Lia Block, Libba Bray, Cassandra Clare, and Veronica Roth! “These big-name authors deliver a collection that scorches as surely as any day in the sun.” — Booklist, starred review

THE ONLY THING WORSE THAN ME IS YOU by Lily Anderson
Stephanie Perkins meets 10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT YOU in this fresh, romantic debut young adult novel loosely based on Much Ado About Nothing. “Readers familiar with Shakespeare will enjoy Anderson’s riffs on the original’s plot points as Trixie and Ben get their nerdily-ever-after ending.” — Publishers Weekly

INVISION by Sherrilyn Kenyon (Chronicles of Nick #7)
It’s not easy being the heir of a demon overlord, but Nick Gautier is determined to thwart his destiny and get into a good college. Instead he has to battle the demons within that are far deadlier and more treacherous than any he’s battled before—oh, and his arch nemesis who’s back and determined to reclaim his place as the harbinger for Armageddon.

INSTINCT by Sherrilyn Kenyon (Chronicles of Nick #6) is now available as a shiny, new trade paperback!
readmoreremove

Stars for THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN & AMERICAN GIRLS

First we heard about the starred reviews for IF I WAS YOUR GIRL by Meredith Russo, and now reviewers are chiming in with even more love for Roshani Chokshi’s THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN and Allison Umminger’s AMERICAN GIRLS!

Praise for THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN:

“A setting drawn from ancient India, romance with feminist sensibilities, and a unique magic system reminiscent of Laini Taylor’s DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE make this a novel sure to appeal to fans of Renée Ahdieh’s THE WRATH AND THE DAWN. A stunning debut filled with lush writing, smart characters, and a mysterious plot that provides as many twists as it does swoons.”
School Library Journal, starred review

Chokshi’s prose is captivating, and the pages come alive through lush descriptions of Night Bazaar teeming with Otherworldly delights, gardens made of glass, and realms where the lines between life and death are blurred. Maya is a strong heroine, and while there is romance, an emphasis on familial love adds another level of richness to a folkloric fantasy about sacrifice, self-discovery, and making your own destiny.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

A Buzzfeed 16 YA Books You’ll Want To Read This Spring pick!

Roshani will be at School Library Journal‘s Day of DialogRSVP now to meet her!

Praise for AMERICAN GIRLS (***THREE*** STARS!): readmoreremove

css.php