Articles tagged "Patrick Dacey"

Happy #BookBday (6/27/17 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to two new family-based novels with starred reviews!

THE SUPREMES SING THE HAPPY HEARTACHE BLUES by Edward Kelsey Moore
From the author of the bestselling THE SUPREMES AT EARL’S ALL-YOU-CAN-EAT, an exuberant and poignant new novel of passions, family, and forgiveness. “Moore’s bluesy, breezy novel takes readers through life’s highs and lows and in-between times when no one knows what is coming next; its air of folksy optimism should appeal to fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Fredrik Backman.” — Library Journal, starred review

“Delightful… His characters, both living and dead, come together to make a wonderful whole.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE OUTER CAPE by Patrick Dacey
A piercing and compassionate debut novel about how the new generations atone for the sins of the old in small-town America. “Beautifully written, with strong, deeply memorable characters, this is a powerful story of possibility and promise.” — Booklist, starred review

Happy Belated #BookBday (2/17/16 Edition)

We’re a day late to wish these new releases a happy #BookBday, but it’s only to keep the party going:

HIDE by Matthew Griffin
A March 2016 Indie Next pick and an ABA Indies Introduce Winter/Spring 2016 selection! Griffin’s forceful debut novel examines the lives of two men who meet and fall in love in North Carolina shortly after the end of World War II. “A bittersweet portrait of love in the shadows.” — Booklist, starred review

WE’VE ALREADY GONE THIS FAR by Patrick Dacey
An ABA Indies Introduce Winter/Spring 2016 selection! “In this debut collection, Dacey offers 13 interlocking stories documenting the lives, loves, and trials of the citizens of Wequaquet, Massachusetts. Readers will find this set of mournful, biting, and resonant tales united not only by geography but also by Dacey’s deep humanity towards his flawed characters.” — Booklist

WHAT LIES BETWEEN US by Nayomi Munaweera
A BuzzFeed Books 2016 Pick! From the award-winning author of ISLAND OF A THOUSAND MIRRORS comes the confession of a woman, driven by the demons of her past to commit a single and possibly unforgivable crime. “Writing with the same tantalizing prose that captured readers in her debut novel, Munaweera explores the relationship of mothers and daughters, tradition, honor, and sacrifice, with beautiful and devastating results.” — Booklist, starred review

Winter/Spring 2016 Indies Introduce Titles

The American Booksellers Association recently announced their Winter/Spring 2016 Indies Introduce selections. Chosen by panels of booksellers from across the U.S., the list honors the top upcoming debuts publishing between January and June 2016, including these Macmillan titles:

HIDE by Matthew Griffin
On sale: February 16, 2016

readmoreremove

css.php