Articles tagged "Nicola Griffith"

May 2018 Bestsellers & Recent Releases

Here’s our updated Edelweiss collection of this month’s bestsellers and recently released titles, perfect for collection development! Here are some of the top titles for May 2018:

Bestsellers:
THE HIGH TIDE CLUB by Mary Kay Andrews
MISS SUBWAYS by David Duchovny
HOW I RESIST: Activism and Hope for a New Generation, edited by Maureen Johnson

Recent Releases:
CHOSEN COUNTRY: A Rebellion in the West by James Pogue
CHOOSE WONDER OVER WORRY by Amber Rae
ROBIN by Dave Itzkoff
SO LUCKY by Nicola Griffith

May Indie Next Picks:
HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center
MOTHERHOOD by Sheila Heti
MY EX-LIFE by Stephen McCauley readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (5/15/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to two new novels starring women who overcome adversity:

HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center
A May 2018 Indie Next pick with two starred reviews! Margaret Jacobson has a bright future ahead of her, with a fiancé and a promising career, until an accident on what should be one of the happiest days of her life takes it all away. “A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

SO LUCKY by Nicola Griffith
The “affecting autobiographical novel”* of a confident woman forced to confront an unnerving new reality when in the space of a single week her wife leaves her and she is diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. “Anyone who’s ever struggled with medical adversity will be inspired.” — *Publishers Weekly

Our 2015 YALSA & RUSA Award Winners!

Congrats to all of the fine Macmillan authors who won awards or were selected for YALSA and RUSA’s various reading lists this year!

2015 Alex Awards

The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18.

LOCK IN by John Scalzi
WOLF IN WHITE VAN by John Darnielle

See all of the 2015 Alex Award winners here!

YALSA’s 2015 Best Fiction for Young Adults

COMPLICIT by Stephanie Kuehn
SWAY by Kat Spears

See the full list of Best Fiction for Young Adults here.

YALSA’s 2015 Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults

Book to Movie: Ripped From the Pages
ENDER’S GAME by Orson Scott Card

See the full list of Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults here.

YALSA’s 2015 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers

HUMANS OF NEW YORK by Brandon Stanton

See the full list of Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers here.

YALSA’s 2015 Great Graphic Novels for Teens

THE GIGANTIC BEARD THAT WAS EVIL by Stephen Collins

See the full list of Great Graphic Novels for Teens here.

Black Caucus of the American Library Association 2015 Honor Book for Fiction

‘TIL THE WELL RUNS DRY by Lauren Francis-Sharma

See the full list of BCALA Literary Awards here.
readmoreremove

Free Fall Reads from Picador!

PicadorF14BookClubSamplerOur friends at Picador have put together a FREE book club sampler of their Fall 2014 titles just for you!

Enjoy excerpts from
Alice McDermott (SOMEONE)
Anita Diamant (THE RED TENT)
Toby Barlow (BABAYAGA)
Amy Grace Loyd (THE AFFAIRS OF OTHERS)
Nicola Griffith (HILD)
Lisa Gornick (TINDERBOX)
Mary Kay Zurevleff (MAN ALIVE!)
Ronald Frame (HAVISHAM)
Emma Chapman (HOW TO BE A GOOD WIFE)

Click here to read the free sampler on Scribd, or download a copy

(click the “Buy it Now” button & select the vendor of your choice)

Happy Reading!

Booklist Book Clubs Abuzz webinar

Yesterday Talia “the troublemaker” Sherer highlighted her favorite titles during Booklist‘s Book Clubs Abuzz webinar. If you were lucky enough to listen in you chuckled at her jokes and cringed at her awful songs. If you missed out, don’t worry—we’ve got Talia’s top picks and a link to the archived webinar below.

Fiction: For Women, About Women
HOW TO TELL TOLEDO FROM THE NIGHT SKY by Lydia Netzer
FIREFLY LANE by Kristin Hannah (Talia called it “Beaches for the 21st century.”)
THE STORIES WE TELL by Patti Callahan Henry
LOOKAWAY, LOOKAWAY by Wilton Barnhardt

Historical Fiction
DARK AEMILIA by Sally O’Reilly (“Hilary Mantel crossed with A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES.”)
BRING UP THE BODIES by Hilary Mantel
HILD by Nicola Griffith
HAVISHAM by Ronald Frame

Bestsellers
COME HOME by Lisa Scottoline
A TRICK OF THE LIGHT by Louise Penny (If you’ve never read Louise Penny, Talia offered to send you a complimentary copy of STILL LIFE! E-mail her now. For existing Penny fans, the Great Gamache re-read continues with A TRICK OF THE LIGHT right now…)

YA-OK & Teen
COMPLICIT by Stephanie Kuehn (“THREE STARRED REVIEWS!!!”)
CHARM & STRANGE by Stephanie Kuehn
A GIRL CALLED FEARLESS by Catherine Linka
ANNIHILATION by Jeff VanderMeer (“Another THREE STARRED REVIEWS for this creepy puppy!” Read more about the Southern Reach trilogy.)

Bonus Recommendations – these aren’t in the slides, but Talia looooooves them
BEING MORTAL by Atul Gawande (“His writing is smart and accessible. Plus, he’s cute.”)
THE GOOD SOLDIERS by David Finkel (“Absolutely haunting… one of the best books I’ve ever read about war.”)
MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL by Ashley Weaver (“A charming debut mystery from a fellow librarian!”)

Make sure to check out Reading Group Gold for book news, contest information, early copies of upcoming books, and reading guides for select titles.

Click here to watch the webinar, or get the slides to the full presentation, which includes information about getting whitelisted on Edelweiss and participating in LibraryReads

2013 Nebula Award Nominees!

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America revealed their finalists for the 2013 Nebula Awards and we're pleased to have HILD by Nicola Griffith up for Best Novel

See the full list of finalists on Tor.com

Nebula Awards logo

The winners will be announced in May during the Nebula Awards Weekend in San Jose, California.

Congratulations to all of the honored authors! readmoreremove

Books From Days of Yore

Hear ye, hear ye! Feast your eyes upon these books set in days long ago:
HILD by Nicola Griffith
Award-winning author Griffith's story of a girl named Hild who becomes St. Hilda’s of Whitby is "A book that deserves a place alongside T.H. White, to say nothing of Ellis Peters." — Kirkus Reviews. "Griffith expertly blends an exploration of seventh-century court life and a detailed character study of Hild as she balances a need for acceptance, love, and friendship and a desire to escape the strict gender roles of her time. In short, Griffith triumphs with this intelligent, beautifully written, and meticulously researched novel." — Booklist, starred review
In the fourth installment in the Robin Hood series, King Richard I, the Lionheart, is engaged in a bloody war to drive the French out of Normandy. Aided in his struggle are the outlaw Robin Hood, and Sir Alan Dale, his loyal friend who is also attempting to discover the identity the man who ordered his father's death ten years earlier. "This book is a bloodcurdling tale of medieval greed, cruelty and honor. A fast-paced and exciting story unsuitable for the squeamish." — Kirkus Reviews, starred review
HAVISHAM by Ronald Frame
Frame's prelude to Charles Dickens's classic GREAT EXPECTATIONS imagines the life of Catherine Havisham before she was cursed to a solitary life, roaming the halls of the mansion in the tatters of the dress she was never able to wear at her wedding. Everyone is simply mad for it—read more (and watch the book trailer) here.
Fare thee well, friends! readmoreremove
css.php