Articles tagged "Nabokov"

Friday Reads: Memorial Day All Stars

Memorial Day weekend is here! Kick off your summer reading with our super-starred #FridayReads picks:

STAY HIDDEN by Paul Doiron
Also available in audio
“The plot is complex, and the action intense, made all the more so by forbidding terrain. The extraordinary sense of place makes this Doiron’s strongest novel yet.” — Booklist, starred review

“The shooting of investigative journalist Ariel Evans on Maine’s Maquoit Island drives Doiron’s outstanding ninth novel featuring game warden Mike Bowditch. Doiron balances nuanced characterizations and intelligent plotting perfectly.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

RUST & STARDUST by T. Greenwood
“This fictionalization of the 1948 kidnapping said to have inspired Nabokov’s LOLITA lures readers in with a disturbing hook: the dangers of innocence. This is a beautifully written, unnerving tragedy woven from equal measures of hope and menace.” — Booklist, starred review

“Readers who relish novels based on true events will be both riveted and disturbed by this retelling of one of America’s most famous abduction cases.” Library Journal, starred review

UPSTATE by James Wood
New Yorker book critic Wood contemplates deep questions while painting an indelible portrait of a family coming to grips, clarifying complex, recognizable problems as he moves his characters forward in ways that seem real and satisfying. Pitch perfect and highly recommended.” — Library Journal, starred review

“[A] masterful, inquisitive, funny, and provocative novel… But it is a father’s love for his daughters that propels Wood’s beautifully distilled, archly revelatory tale bright with wise insights and thoughtful tenderness.” Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: August 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the August 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due June 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

FEARED by Lisa Scottoline
Also available in audio
In the next book in the mega-best-selling Rosato & DiNunzio thriller series, the all-female law firm is hit with a sex discrimination suit. “Colorful characters, breezy writing, and a sharp wit keep the tone light, while the ever-increasing stakes propel the story toward a convenient but otherwise gratifying denouement.” — Publishers Weekly

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Feared.”*

TOUCAN KEEP A SECRET by Donna Andrews
In the 23rd entry in the award-winning Meg Langslow series, she goes to check on a toucan the reverend is fostering, but finds the bird missing and an elderly parishioner murdered in a columbarium among the ashes of overturned urns. “This long-running cozy series shows no signs of losing its freshness.” — Publishers Weekly

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE MIDDLEMAN by Olen Steinhauer
Also available in audio
Two starred reviews! “Steinhauer has written an unnerving and timely thriller with incredible pivots. From a perspective on activist/terrorist civilian organizations to an examination of Big Brother conspiracy plots, there’s something here for everyone to grip—with white knuckles.” — Library Journal, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE OTHER WOMAN by Sandie Jones
Also available in audio
Emily chose Adam, but she didn’t choose his mother Pammie. There’s nothing a mother wouldn’t do for her son, and now Emily is about to find out just how far Pammie will go to get what she wants: Emily gone forever. “…wildly entertaining, with a smashing twist.” — Kirkus Reviews

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (5/10/18 Edition)

A LibraryReads pick, a cozy, and a sniper thriller are our #ThrillerThursday reads:

OUR KIND OF CRUELTY by Araminta Hall
Also available in audio
A May 2018 LibraryReads pick! Verity + Mike sitting in a tree C.R.A.V.I.N.G. First comes (a twisted kind of) love, then comes marriage (to another man), then comes murder? “Hall brings the unreliable narrator to new heights in this disturbing narrative…. For fans of Nabokov’s LOLITA, Highsmith’s Ripley tales, or Christine Mangan’s recently published first novel, TANGERINE.” — Booklist

CHARMED BONES by Carolyn Haines
In Haines’s “enchanting”* 18th Sarah Booth Delaney mystery, three sisters want to open a Wiccan school in Zinnia, MS, on a manor house rented from local artist Trevor Musgrove. When Trevor dies under suspicious circumstances, the sisters become suspects, and Sarah really gets involved. “Fans of humorous paranormal cozies will be rewarded.” — Publishers Weekly

REAPER: GHOST TARGET by Nicholas Irving & A.J. Tata
Also available in audio
The explosive new thriller series written by the New York Times bestselling author of THE REAPER and star of Fox’s AMERICAN GRIT. “This debut of a new black-ops series boasts two coauthors who know the field. Irving’s stature in the black-ops world will ensnare readers who follow Brad Taylor and Vince Flynn.” — Booklist

Share your reads with us @MacmillanLib this #ThrillerThursday.

OUR KIND OF CRUELTY is a May 2018 LibraryReads Pick!

FANTASTIC NEWS! Araminta Hall’s OUR KIND OF CRUELTY is the #7 pick on the May 2018 LibraryReads list!

Verity + Mike sitting in a tree C.R.A.V.I.N.G. First comes (a twisted kind of) love, then comes marriage (to another man), then comes murder? “Hall brings the unreliable narrator to new heights in this disturbing narrative…. For fans of Nabokov’s LOLITA, Highsmith’s Ripley tales, or Christine Mangan’s recently published first novel, TANGERINE.” — Booklist

 

Click to listen to an excerpt of the audiobook

Available from MCD/FSG and Macmillan Audio on May 8.

See the complete May 2018 list at LibraryReads.org.

PW’s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction Picks

Publishers Weekly‘s Spring 2018 literary fiction picks include 8 titles from Macmillan:
Top 10

THE GREAT ALONE by Kristin Hannah
Hannah’s novel, starred by PW, follows the Allbright family, who barely make ends meet, as they move from 1974 Seattle to the untamed wilderness of Kaneq, Alaska, to claim a parcel of land left to the father by a slain Army buddy.

KUDOS by Rachel Cusk
Following OUTLINE and TRANSIT, this novel completes Cusk’s trilogy: a woman writer visits a Europe in flux, where questions of personal and political identity rise to the surface.

THE PARKING LOT ATTENDANT by Nafkote Tamirat
Tamirat’s debut is a coming-of-age story about a girl in Boston’s tightly knit Ethiopian community who falls under the influence of a charismatic hustler. The novel received a starred PW review. readmoreremove

css.php