Articles tagged "Nabokov"

OUR KIND OF CRUELTY is a May 2018 LibraryReads Pick!

FANTASTIC NEWS! Araminta Hall’s OUR KIND OF CRUELTY is the #7 pick on the May 2018 LibraryReads list!

Verity + Mike sitting in a tree C.R.A.V.I.N.G. First comes (a twisted kind of) love, then comes marriage (to another man), then comes murder? “Hall brings the unreliable narrator to new heights in this disturbing narrative…. For fans of Nabokov’s LOLITA, Highsmith’s Ripley tales, or Christine Mangan’s recently published first novel, TANGERINE.” — Booklist

 

Click to listen to an excerpt of the audiobook

Available from MCD/FSG and Macmillan Audio on May 8.

See the complete May 2018 list at LibraryReads.org.

PW’s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction Picks

Publishers Weekly‘s Spring 2018 literary fiction picks include 8 titles from Macmillan:
Top 10

THE GREAT ALONE by Kristin Hannah
Hannah’s novel, starred by PW, follows the Allbright family, who barely make ends meet, as they move from 1974 Seattle to the untamed wilderness of Kaneq, Alaska, to claim a parcel of land left to the father by a slain Army buddy.

KUDOS by Rachel Cusk
Following OUTLINE and TRANSIT, this novel completes Cusk’s trilogy: a woman writer visits a Europe in flux, where questions of personal and political identity rise to the surface.

THE PARKING LOT ATTENDANT by Nafkote Tamirat
Tamirat’s debut is a coming-of-age story about a girl in Boston’s tightly knit Ethiopian community who falls under the influence of a charismatic hustler. The novel received a starred PW review. readmoreremove

css.php