Articles tagged "movie news"

Thriller Thursday (1/11/18 Edition)

It may be cold outside, but these five thrillers are guaranteed to warm you up!

THE WIFE BETWEEN US by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen
A January 2018 LibraryReads and Indie Next pick with two starred reviews and big movie news! A novel of suspense that explores the complexities of marriage and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love. “Readers who were enthralled by B.A. Paris’s BEHIND CLOSED DOORS and Gillian Flynn’s GONE GIRL will love the skewed psychology and shifting perspectives of this domestic thriller.” — Library Journal, starred review

GRIST MILL ROAD by Christopher J. Yates
A January 2018 Indie Next pick with THREE starred reviews! The author of BLACK CHALK, an NPR Best Book of the Year optioned for film by Ron Howard, returns with a thriller about Patrick, Matthew, and Hannah, who are bound together in a love triangle held tighter by one seemingly senseless but decidedly criminal act that has devastating results 26 years later. “Mesmerizing and impossible to put down, this novel demands full attention, full empathy, and full responsibility; in return it offers poignant insight into human fragility and resilience.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

JUST BETWEEN US by Rebecca Drake
Four suburban mothers and friends conspire to cover up a deadly crime in this heart-stopping novel of suspense in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and Lisa Unger. “This tale of deceit begins with our favorite premise [and] winds its roller-coaster plot around our tendency to see exactly what we are looking for—while our little lies take on dangerous lives of their own.” — Oprah.com

STRANGERS by Ursula Archer & Arno Strobel
A shocking thriller that explores what happens when mysterious foul play causes a woman not to recognize or remember her fiancé, but forces the couple to trust each other and fight the odds. “Nuanced characters, a complex plot, and a skillfully woven alternating narrative drive the story toward a denouement that shocks….” — Publishers Weekly

DARKNESS SING ME A SONG by David Housewright
The Edgar Award-winning Holland Taylor series returns with a case of murder resulting from tragic, twisted drama in an extremely wealthy family. “The knots are many and messy, and Holland shows he has the wit and character to untangle them.” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

THE WIFE BETWEEN US and BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY are January 2018 LibraryReads Picks!

FANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has two books on the January 2018 LibraryReads list!

Debuting at #2 is THE WIFE BETWEEN US by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen
A January 2018 Indie Next pick with two starred reviews and big movie news! A novel of suspense that explores the complexities of marriage and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love. “Readers who were enthralled by B.A. Paris’s BEHIND CLOSED DOORS and Gillian Flynn’s GONE GIRL will love the skewed psychology and shifting perspectives of this domestic thriller.” — Library Journal, starred review

Available from St. Martin’s Press and Macmillan Audio on January 9.

The #7 pick is BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY by Seanan McGuire
The third contemporary fantasy in the Wayward Children series, following LibraryReads picks EVERY HEART A DOORWAY and DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES is a January 2018 Indie Next pick! When Rini lands with a literal splash in the pond behind Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children, the last thing she expects to find is that her mother, Sumi, died years before Rini was even conceived. “McGuire suggests entire universes in a few spare sentences, and the delightfully diverse cast of characters is similarly conjured. We’re told some doors open only once, but readers will beg McGuire to keep the door open to these worlds in perpetuity. Phenomenal.” — Booklist, starred review

Available from Tor.com Publishing on January 9. readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: January 2018 Indie Next List

Three Macmillan titles made the January 2018 Indie Next list!

THE WIFE BETWEEN US by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen
Two starred reviews and big movie news for this novel of suspense that explores the complexities of marriage and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love. “Readers who were enthralled by B.A. Paris’s BEHIND CLOSED DOORS and Gillian Flynn’s GONE GIRL will love the skewed psychology and shifting perspectives of this domestic thriller.” — Library Journal, starred review

GRIST MILL ROAD by Christopher J. Yates
THREE starred reviews! The author of BLACK CHALK, an NPR Best Book of the Year optioned for film by Ron Howard, returns with a thriller about Patrick, Matthew, and Hannah, who are bound together in a love triangle held tighter by one seemingly senseless but decidedly criminal act that has devastating results 26 years later. “Mesmerizing and impossible to put down, this novel demands full attention, full empathy, and full responsibility; in return it offers poignant insight into human fragility and resilience.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

Stars & Movie News for THE WIFE BETWEEN US

Husband dumps troublesome first wife then gets a new wife who adores him. The first wife is bitterly obsessed with the other woman. Sound familiar? That might look like what happens here, but maybe it’s not…

Book-editor-turned-debut-novelist Greer Hendricks and bestselling author Sarah Pekkanen team up to deliver one of Winter 2018’s most gripping thrillers, THE WIFE BETWEEN US.

A novel of suspense that explores the complexities of marriage and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love, THE WIFE BETWEEN US has two starred reviews and the producer of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN snapped up the movie rights for a big screen adaptation.

“Readers who were enthralled by B.A. Paris’s BEHIND CLOSED DOORS and Gillian Flynn’s GONE GIRL will love the skewed psychology and shifting perspectives of this domestic thriller.” — Library Journal, starred review

“[A] jaw-dropping psychological thriller. This is not another eye-rolling story about the jealous ex-wife stalking her replacement, as readers will discover as Vanessa’s motivations are revealed. Unforgettable twists lead to shocking revelations all the way through the epilogue.” — Publishers Weekly, boxed & starred review

readmoreremove

css.php