Articles tagged "Minotaur Books/MWA First Crime Novel Award"

Thriller Thursday (12/7/17 Edition)

There’s a chill in the air… and a chill down your spine!

THE VANISHING SEASON by Joanna Schaffhausen
A December 2017 Indie Next pick! In the 2016 Minotaur Books/Mystery Writers of America First Crime Novel Award winner, Ellery Hathaway is the only one who knows the real reason a person goes missing around her birthday each year in her small Massachussets town. “Powerful… [T]he complex plot and affecting characters—especially gritty survivor Ellie and her basset hound, Bump—make for some nail-bitingly tense thrills.” — Publishers Weekly

NIGHTBLIND by Ragnar Jonasson
In Jónasson’s “excellent second thriller featuring Ari Thór Arason,”* the peace of a close-knit community in an idyllically quiet fishing village in Northern Iceland is shattered by the murder of a policeman—shot at point-blank range in the dead of night in a deserted house. “Jónasson plants clues fairly before a devastatingly unexpected reveal, without sublimating characterization to plot.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (9/15/16 Edition)

Historical mysteries, a spy thriller, and a tropical debut get our #ThrillerThursday stamp of approval:

THE SECRETS OF WISHTIDE by Kate Saunders
A September 2016 LibraryReads pick with two starred reviews! “Combining the strengths of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and M. C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin, Laetitia Rodd towers over both of these genteel sleuths in wit, tact, and ingenuity. The book is a sheer delight, with its deliciously intricate puzzle and well-drawn characters whom readers are sure to continue to enjoy in volumes to come.”
Booklist, starred review

BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
From the author of APPLE TREE YARD comes a masterful espionage thriller “in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré.” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review). “Doughty takes a page from John le Carré, crafting a riveting, psychological, morally ambiguous tale. Harper’s backstory is richly detailed, and his budding relationship with Rita is convincing. Finally, the role of mercenaries in world affairs adds a new perspective to the spy novel genre.” — Library Journal, starred review

SUN, SAND, MURDER by John Keyse-Walker
Winner of the Minotaur Books/MWA First Crime Novel Award! Teddy Creque’s life turns upside down when a tourist is murdered on his peaceful, remote tropical island, Anegada. “Spectacular as a Caribbean sunset, Keyse-Walker’s debut is a well-paced puzzler no one should miss.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

css.php