Articles tagged "Marcia Willett"

Happy #PubDay (12/4/18)

A Man Booker Prize winner, Nora Roberts, family, satire, and war–we’re celebrating #pubday!

MILKMAN by Anna Burns
Winner of the 2018 Man Booker Prize
Feature profile in the New York Times
Three starred reviews
A middle sister in an unnamed city juggles everyday life as a young woman and the danger of living in a totalitarian society. “A deeply stirring, unforgettable novel that feels like a once-in-a-generation event.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

OF BLOOD AND BONE: Chronicles of The One, Book 2 by Nora Roberts 
December 2018 Indie Next Pick
Nora Roberts, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the epic YEAR ONE returns with a new tale of terror and magic in a brand new world. “The follow up to YEAR ONE takes a jump into the future, grabbing readers with epic world- and character-building.”–Library Journal readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (8/7/18 Edition)

We’ve got a BIG #BookBday today (so, extra cake, right??):

MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson
An August 2018 LibraryReads & Indie Next pick and one of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts! For readers of THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY, an epistolary debut novel about a farmer’s wife who begins writing letters to a museum curator and, as he writes back, gradually allows herself to find happiness and love again. “This is the kind of book you clutch to your heart when you finish and sigh with contentment.” — Kelly Moore, Adult Services Librarian, Carrollton Public Library, TX

RUST & STARDUST by T. Greenwood
An August 2018 LibraryReads pick with two starred reviews! Based on the experiences of real-life kidnapping victim Sally Horner and her captor, this heart-pounding novel by award-winning author T. Greenwood at last gives a voice to Sally herself. “This fictionalization of the 1948 kidnapping said to have inspired Nabokov’s LOLITA lures readers in with a disturbing hook: the dangers of innocence. This is a beautifully written, unnerving tragedy woven from equal measures of hope and menace.” — Booklist, starred review

THE THIRD HOTEL by Laura van den Berg
An August 2018 Indie Next pick! A magical, disconcerting novel set in Havana about a woman reckoning with the death of her husband. “Toying with horror tropes and conventions, and displaying shades of authors such as Julio Cortázar, van den Berg turns Clare’s journey into a dreamlike exploration of grief. This is a potent novel about life, death, and the afterlife.” — Publishers Weekly

ARAB OF THE FUTURE 3: The Circumcision Years: A Childhood in the Middle East, 1985-1987 by Riad Sattouf
Two starred reviews! “An excellent addition to a series that for years to come is sure to engage readers of history as seen through a child’s eyes. ” — Library Journal, starred review

SMOTHERED by Autumn Chiklis
Also available in trade paperback
A humorous debut novel about what happens when entering the “real world” means moving back in with your mother, inspired by actress and celebrity Autumn Chiklis’ real life. “Hilarious… Perfect for recent grads, mother–daughter duos, and those looking for a fun read this summer. All the heart eye emojis!” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Happy Belated #BookBday (8/13/14 Edition)

We purposely waited a day to wish these two beautiful books a happy #BookBday just to keep the party going!

SMALL BLESSINGS by Martha Woodroof
Readers who loved MAJOR PETTIGREW’S LAST STAND will adore this inspiring debut of a small-town college professor, a remarkable new woman at a bookshop, and the ten-year old son he never knew he had. “A warm, caring and thoroughly entertaining debut.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE SEA GARDEN by Marcia Willett
“Willett constructs a tangled web of past loves, lies and infidelities and then slowly straightens the threads, revealing how past events impact family members three generations later. A satisfying multigenerational novel tying long-ago friends, family and secret lovers to the present.” — Kirkus Reviews

css.php