Articles tagged "major motion picture"

For Your Consideration: June 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the June 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due April 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

BRING ME BACK by B.A. Paris
Also available in audio
The new thriller from the LibraryReads author of BEHIND CLOSED DOORS. “Paris once again proves her suspense chops with this can’t-put-down psychological thriller.” — Library Journal, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

HOW HARD CAN IT BE? by Allison Pearson
Also available in audio
THREE starred reviews! Hilarious and poignant, the new adventures of Kate Reddy, the beleaguered heroine of Allison Pearson’s groundbreaking New York Times bestseller I DON’T KNOW HOW SHE DOES IT. “Tackling sexism, growing older, and understanding one’s needs when catering to those of so many others, Pearson writes realism with all the fun of escapism.” — Booklist, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

WITCHMARK by C.L. Polk
Two starred reviews! A “stellar” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) fantasy debut that combines intrigue, magic, betrayal, and romance in an original world with a historical WWI tone. “Many disparate elements are expertly woven together to make this debut a crackler, with layers like a nesting doll and just as delightful to discover.” — Booklist, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

JAR OF HEARTS by Jennifer Hillier
Also available in audio
What if you went to jail for something terrible your boyfriend did to your best friend? Then 5 years later, you’re free but your life is in ruins, and your boyfriend is back at it (killing, that is), and maybe he’s coming for you? “…this psychological thriller is unlike any other. Enthralled readers will be rooting for Geo in the end.” — Library Journal, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

KUDOS by Rachel Cusk
One of Publishers Weekly’s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction picks with three starred reviews! The critically acclaimed author of OUTLINE and TRANSIT, completes her “stunning” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) trilogy with a finale that examines the relationship between pain and honor, and investigates the moral nature of success as a precept of both art and living. “Brilliantly accomplished and uncompromisingly dark.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

BLACK KLANSMAN: Race, Hate, and the Undercover Investigation of a Lifetime by Ron Stallworth
Also available in audio
The extraordinary true story of the African American police officer who goes undercover to investigate the KKK, the basis for the forthcoming major motion picture written and directed by Spike Lee, and produced by Oscar winner Jordan Peele.

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss
readmoreremove

New Nonfiction – May 2017

Essays, books about books, and a librarian’s memoir are just some of the new nonfiction books available this week:

THE END OF EDDY by Édouard Louis
Two starred reviews! The most talked-about European novel since MY STRUGGLE—a sexually frank, brutally honest coming-of-age story that captures the violence and desperation of life in a French factory town. “Translated into 20 languages and a huge hit in France, author Louis’ unsparingly autobiographical novel is the story of a gay boy’s attempts to come to terms with himself. …a seamless, universal portrait of the experience of growing up gay and gradually coming to accept oneself.” — Booklist, starred review

MY LIFE WITH BOB: Flawed Heroine Keeps Book of Books, Plot Ensues by Pamela Paul
Two starred reviews! The editor of The New York Times Book Review reveals her personal reading journal named BOB (a.k.a. her “Book of Books”) and the books that have shaped her life. “Titles about reading and books abound, but this memoir stands in a class by itself. Bibliophiles will treasure, but the addictive storytelling and high-quality writing will vastly increase its audience. Highly recommended.” — Library Journal, starred review

ONE DAY WE’LL ALL BE DEAD AND NONE OF THIS WILL MATTER by Scaachi Koul
One of Buzzfeed’s “Most Exciting Books Coming In 2017!” For readers of Mindy Kaling, Luvvie Ajayi, and Rupi Kaur comes a debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants, addressing sexism, cultural stereotypes and the universal miseries of life by rising star Scaachi Koul. “Simultaneously uproarious and affecting….” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

HOW TO BUILD A TIME MACHINE by Darren Manley
A librarian’s heartfelt memoir about growing up with much older parents and coming to appreciate the bonds that cross generations. readmoreremove

Friday Reads: M​ovie ​T​ie​-I​​​n​ Edition

Lots of Macmillan books are making their way from page to screen this fall:

THE REVENANT by Michael Punke
This tale of retribution on the American Frontier when a fur trapper is mauled by a bear and left for dead stars Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hardy, and was directed by Alejandro Gonzalez Iñárritu who won an Oscar for last year’s Birdman. Big Oscar buzz on this one, coming to a theater near you on Christmas Day.

THE 33: The Untold Stories of 33 Men Buried in a Chilean Mine, and the Miracle That Set Them Free by Héctor Tobar
Antonio Banderas leads the other 32 Chilean miners trying to survive after the 2010 collapse in the film based on Tobar’s bestselling, award-winning book, DEEP DOWN DARK.

readmoreremove

css.php