Articles tagged "Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts"

Happy #BookBday (8/28/18 Edition)

What a lovely day for a #BookBday!

HOUSEGIRL by Michael Donkor
One of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts! Three adolescents—two Ghanaian “housegirls” and the daughter of wealthy immigrants—must come to terms with themselves and the secrets they have kept from each other in this powerful debut novel. “Donkor’s dense descriptions of life in Ghana and London capture the dazzling disorientation of a young village girl on her own. Compelling female characters abound; it’s surprising to discover a young male writer who so successfully inhabits a female point of view.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE DISORDERED MIND: What Unusual Brains Tell Us About Ourselves by Eric R. Kandel
One of Publishers Weekly’s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2018! A Nobel Prize–winning neuroscientist’s probing investigation of what brain disorders can tell us about human nature. “Kandel’s clear and straightforward writing makes this informative scientific exploration accessible and compelling to both medical practitioners, researchers, and general readers interested in how the mysteries of human nature arise from the physical matter of the brain.” — Library Journal

THE SHADOW PRESIDENT: The Truth About Mike Pence by Michael D’Antonio & Peter Eisner
In this landmark biography of our current Vice President, Pulitzer Prize-winner Michael D’Antonio and Emmy-nominated journalist Peter Eisner reveal that Mike Pence is the most important and powerful Christian Right politician America has ever seen. Driven as much by theology as personal ambition, Pence is now positioned to seize the big prize – the presidency – and use it to fashion a nation more pleasing to his god and corporate sponsors. “Producing a biography of a living, controversial politician is always difficult. D’Antonio and Eisner have succeeded in this well-documented, damning book.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (8/23/18 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to a LibraryReads debut, two series favorites, and a naval adventure!

THE OTHER WOMAN by Sandie Jones
Also available in audio
An August 2018 LibraryReads pick and one of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts! Emily chose Adam, but she didn’t choose his mother Pammie. There’s nothing a mother wouldn’t do for her son, and now Emily is about to find out just how far Pammie will go to get what she wants: Emily gone forever. “Pammie is every young woman’s worst nightmare: a mean mother-in-law (on steroids) in this addictive debut thriller. Readers’ pulses will race as they anticipate how she might strike next and be completely knocked off balance by the shocking ending. ” — Library Journal, starred review

BONE ON BONE by Julia Keller
THREE starred reviews! In the next powerful mystery from Julia Keller, West Virginia prosecuting attorney Bell Elkins continues to unravel her town’s ties to crime and drug abuse. “Keller can spin a mystery plot with the best of them, but it’s her full-bodied characters and the regard they have for one another that really sets her crime fiction apart: a bride’s back-of-the-hand caress of her new husband’s cheek, and his response, is a moment that will linger in memory long after the crime is solved.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (8/14/18 Edition)

Surviving the apocalypse, harnessing lightning, and scaling mountains—you can do it all simply by reading these brand-new books!

SEVERANCE by Ling Ma
A September 2018 Indie Next pick and one of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts with two starred reviews! An offbeat office novel turns apocalyptic satire as a young woman transforms from orphan to worker bee to survivor. “A biting indictment of late-stage capitalism and a chilling vision of what comes after… Ma also offers lovely meditations on memory and the immigrant experience. Smart, funny, humane, and superbly well-written.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

BALL LIGHTNING by Cixin Liu, translated by Joel Martinsen
A Booklist Top 10 SF/Fantasy book of 2018! This standalone military SF adventure from the internationally bestselling and award-winning author of THE THREE-BODY PROBLEM explores what happens when the beauty of scientific inquiry runs up against a push to harness new discoveries with no consideration of their possible consequences. “Highly recommended for fans of Liu and any general readers looking for an exciting and breathtaking new sf read.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (8/7/18 Edition)

We’ve got a BIG #BookBday today (so, extra cake, right??):

MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson
An August 2018 LibraryReads & Indie Next pick and one of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts! For readers of THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY, an epistolary debut novel about a farmer’s wife who begins writing letters to a museum curator and, as he writes back, gradually allows herself to find happiness and love again. “This is the kind of book you clutch to your heart when you finish and sigh with contentment.” — Kelly Moore, Adult Services Librarian, Carrollton Public Library, TX

RUST & STARDUST by T. Greenwood
An August 2018 LibraryReads pick with two starred reviews! Based on the experiences of real-life kidnapping victim Sally Horner and her captor, this heart-pounding novel by award-winning author T. Greenwood at last gives a voice to Sally herself. “This fictionalization of the 1948 kidnapping said to have inspired Nabokov’s LOLITA lures readers in with a disturbing hook: the dangers of innocence. This is a beautifully written, unnerving tragedy woven from equal measures of hope and menace.” — Booklist, starred review

THE THIRD HOTEL by Laura van den Berg
An August 2018 Indie Next pick! A magical, disconcerting novel set in Havana about a woman reckoning with the death of her husband. “Toying with horror tropes and conventions, and displaying shades of authors such as Julio Cortázar, van den Berg turns Clare’s journey into a dreamlike exploration of grief. This is a potent novel about life, death, and the afterlife.” — Publishers Weekly

ARAB OF THE FUTURE 3: The Circumcision Years: A Childhood in the Middle East, 1985-1987 by Riad Sattouf
Two starred reviews! “An excellent addition to a series that for years to come is sure to engage readers of history as seen through a child’s eyes. ” — Library Journal, starred review

SMOTHERED by Autumn Chiklis
Also available in trade paperback
A humorous debut novel about what happens when entering the “real world” means moving back in with your mother, inspired by actress and celebrity Autumn Chiklis’ real life. “Hilarious… Perfect for recent grads, mother–daughter duos, and those looking for a fun read this summer. All the heart eye emojis!” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (7/10/18 Edition)

Literary fiction, romance, and humor—this #BookBday has it all!

IF YOU SEE ME, DON’T SAY HI by Neel Patel
A July 2018 Indie Next pick! A bravura debut story collection in the vein of Aziz Ansari and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, about love, family, success, and the experience of being brown in America today. “A melancholic pleasure with a sense of humor.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

SUICIDE CLUB by Rachel Heng
One of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts! In this exceptional, page-turning debut, set in near future New York City—where the pursuit of immortality is all-consuming—Lea must choose between her estranged father and her chance to live forever. “Fans of modern speculative fiction and readers who love stories that warn us to be careful what we wish for will be enthralled by Heng’s highly imaginative debut, which deftly asks, ‘What does it really mean to be alive?’” — Library Journal, starred review

I SEE LIFE THROUGH ROSÉ COLORED GLASSES: True Stories and Confessions by Lisa Scottoline & Francesca Serritella
Also available in audio
“Novelist Scottoline and daughter Serritella team up for the eighth in a series of entertaining mother-daughter humor books, combining entries in their ‘Chick Wit’ column for the Philadelphia Inquirer and new material. This summer beach read—which is indeed ‘like a glass of rosé, between two covers’—is sure to cheer readers spanning the generations but will be of particular appeal to mothers and daughters.” — Publishers Weekly

THE SUBWAY GIRLS by Susie Orman Schnall
From the author of THE BALANCE PROJECT comes a dual-timeline narrative featuring a 1949 Miss Subways contestant and a modern-day advertising executive whose careers and lives intersect. “Schnall nicely shows that women have always wanted to balance family and a career, and that it’s never been easy.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

css.php