Articles tagged "I SEE LIFE THROUGH ROSÉ COLORED GLASSES: True Stories and Confessions"

July 2018 Nonfiction

Check out our great new nonfiction titles available this month—then make sure they get checked out at your library!

CITY OF DEVILS: The Two Men Who Ruled the Underworld of Old Shanghai by Paul French
Two starred reviews! “Drugs, gambling, vice, and banditry power China’s seaport mecca in this rollicking true crime saga. French’s two-fisted prose—‘When Boobee hops on a bar stool, lights an opium-tipped cigarette, and crosses her long legs, the sound of a dozen tensed-up male necks swinging round is like… a gunshot’—makes this deep noir history unforgettable.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE POISONED CITY: Flint’s Water and the American Urban Tragedy by Anna Clark
Two starred reviews! “In this complex, exquisitely detailed account, freelance journalist and Detroit Free Press contributor Clark draws on interviews, emails, and other materials to describe the ensuing [Flint, Michigan, water] catastrophe… A potent cautionary tale of urban neglect and indifference. Infuriated readers will be heartened by the determined efforts of protesters and investigative reporters.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE COST OF LIVING: A Working Autobiography by Deborah Levy
A searching examination of all the dimensions of love, marriage, mourning, and kinship from two-time Booker Prize finalist Deborah Levy. “This timely look at how women are viewed (and often dismissed) by society will resonate with many readers, but particularly with those who have felt marginalized or undervalued.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

I SEE LIFE THROUGH ROSÉ COLORED GLASSES: True Stories and Confessions by Lisa Scottoline & Francesca Serritella
Also available in audio
“Novelist Scottoline and daughter Serritella team up for the eighth in a series of entertaining mother-daughter humor books, combining entries in their ‘Chick Wit’ column for the Philadelphia Inquirer and new material. This summer beach read—which is indeed ‘like a glass of rosé, between two covers’—is sure to cheer readers spanning the generations but will be of particular appeal to mothers and daughters.” — Publishers Weekly

Happy #BookBday (7/10/18 Edition)

Literary fiction, romance, and humor—this #BookBday has it all!

IF YOU SEE ME, DON’T SAY HI by Neel Patel
A July 2018 Indie Next pick! A bravura debut story collection in the vein of Aziz Ansari and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, about love, family, success, and the experience of being brown in America today. “A melancholic pleasure with a sense of humor.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

SUICIDE CLUB by Rachel Heng
One of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts! In this exceptional, page-turning debut, set in near future New York City—where the pursuit of immortality is all-consuming—Lea must choose between her estranged father and her chance to live forever. “Fans of modern speculative fiction and readers who love stories that warn us to be careful what we wish for will be enthralled by Heng’s highly imaginative debut, which deftly asks, ‘What does it really mean to be alive?’” — Library Journal, starred review

I SEE LIFE THROUGH ROSÉ COLORED GLASSES: True Stories and Confessions by Lisa Scottoline & Francesca Serritella
Also available in audio
“Novelist Scottoline and daughter Serritella team up for the eighth in a series of entertaining mother-daughter humor books, combining entries in their ‘Chick Wit’ column for the Philadelphia Inquirer and new material. This summer beach read—which is indeed ‘like a glass of rosé, between two covers’—is sure to cheer readers spanning the generations but will be of particular appeal to mothers and daughters.” — Publishers Weekly

THE SUBWAY GIRLS by Susie Orman Schnall
From the author of THE BALANCE PROJECT comes a dual-timeline narrative featuring a 1949 Miss Subways contestant and a modern-day advertising executive whose careers and lives intersect. “Schnall nicely shows that women have always wanted to balance family and a career, and that it’s never been easy.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: July 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the July 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due May 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage
Also available in audio
THREE starred reviews and Zoje is on the cover of Library Journal’s mystery issue!WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN meets GONE GIRL meets THE OMEN. Interested? That might be the best way to describe Zoje Stage’s highly anticipated debut novel, BABY TEETH…a twisty, delirious read that will constantly question your sympathies for the two characters as their bond continues to crumble.” — Entertainment Weekly

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

STAY HIDDEN by Paul Doiron
Also available in audio
A supposed hunting accident becomes a dangerously complicated murder investigation in this intricately-plotted new thriller featuring Maine Game Warden Mike Bowditch. “The plot is complex, and the action intense, made all the more so by forbidding terrain. The extraordinary sense of place makes this Doiron’s strongest novel yet.” — Booklist, starred review

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Stay Hidden.”*

A GATHERING OF SECRETS by Linda Castillo
Also available in audio
“In this next in the popular Amish mystery series featuring Chief of Police Kate Burkholder, a stately old barn burns to ash with 18-year-old Daniel Gingerich inside. It’s no accident, and Kate soon learns that Daniel wasn’t the sweet, self-effacing guy he appeared to be, with plenty of people having reason to want him dead. Major promotion.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

I SEE LIFE THROUGH ROSÉ COLORED GLASSES: True Stories and Confessions by Lisa Scottoline & Francesca Serritella
Also available in audio
“Novelist Scottoline and daughter Serritella team up for the eighth in a series of entertaining mother-daughter humor books, combining entries in their ‘Chick Wit’ column for the Philadelphia Inquirer and new material. This summer beach read—which is indeed ‘like a glass of rosé, between two covers’—is sure to cheer readers spanning the generations but will be of particular appeal to mothers and daughters.” — Publishers Weekly

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Rose Colored Glasses.”*

CITY OF DEVILS: The Two Men Who Ruled the Underworld of Old Shanghai by Paul French
Two starred reviews! “Drugs, gambling, vice, and banditry power China’s seaport mecca in this rollicking true crime saga. French’s two-fisted prose—‘When Boobee hops on a bar stool, lights an opium-tipped cigarette, and crosses her long legs, the sound of a dozen tensed-up male necks swinging round is like… a gunshot’—makes this deep noir history unforgettable.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

css.php